We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra touches and friendly staff make for a welcome stay”
Review of Hotel San Ayre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel San Ayre
Ranked #38 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I was in Colorado Springs for work and loved coming home to San Ayre's sense of home each night. The rooms are each unique and the little extra touches make a big difference; it's also very comfortable. The owner, Mike, is friendly, accommodating and invested in you having a positive experience. It's located right at near the entrance road up to the Garden of the Gods and a short distance from Historic Old Town Co Springs and Manitou Springs. My only suggestion is to make sure you know your check in time -- being a small, locally owned operation, they keep limited front desk hours.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristenPainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Ayre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 187 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

It's got a great retro feel without the retro smell. It's reasonably priced, very clean, and the owners are really nice people. The mountain suite is where we like to stay: It's up top of the hotel, and has two bedrooms, two baths, a kitchen and a living room, as well as a large rooftop patio. The bed is really comfortable. We've stayed here every time we've come to town in the last four years while our daughter has been going to college in Colorado Springs. In all seasons, this place is great. It's different from your typical hotel, and it's a little funky (In a good way), and it's interesting and pretty and comfortable and spacious. It's not far from a Starbucks -- you can walk to that in the morning. And it's between downtown and Manitou Springs.

Room Tip: We like the Mountain Suite, but if you don't need two bedrooms, consider any of the single rooms...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WadooFortCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Took our 4 grandsons and their parents for a little weekend getaway and it was a perfect fit for us. Boys could run around a bit and not bother anyone. Loved cooking our own meals in the cute little kitchens and grilling out back. Owner was super nice! Nice homey feel and great view

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Hubby and I took our family of 4 grandsons and their parents for a spring break getaway and this was a perfect fit for us. A place for the boys to run around and not be in the typical hotel setting. Loved being able to cook our own meals and have a place to relax without having to fight for a spot to relax in! Owner is super nice! Very homey atmosphere! Great view.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This hotel was amazing. The gentlemen that was helping us was very nice and helped us with concerns. Great views. Clean inside the room and felt safe. Only downside was parking but was
able to deal with since it was the off season. I would recommend parking in the back. The top floor suite had a balcony with chairs great for relaxing after a day of fun. Cab ride to dowtown was only $15 (ish) for 5 people. There are plenty of restaraunts within walking distance. They give you a number to call/text anytime with any concerns/needs/questions. Will definately stay there again if I need a place to stay in the Springs area.

Room Tip: the Suite on the top floor would fit 6 very comfortably with the fold out couch.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights in August 2012 - we loved the personal touches, outdoor space, vintage tiled bath, and views. Our room was simple but charming and had great light, wood floors and nice linens. The owner is very friendly and had lots of advice about outdoor activities, restaurants, etc. in the area.

The proximity to Manitou Springs (penny arcade!), Pike's Peak, Old Colorado City and Garden of the Gods is fantastic. We also went into downtown Colorado Springs one day to watch a stage of the USA Pro Cycling Challenge.

We rented bikes from CS West Bikes, which I understand is now closed, but I would definitely recommend mountain biking in Garden of the Gods and Red Rock Canyon Open Space which are just a few minutes ride from the hotel. The trails in Red Rock had some of the best views of the entire trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MEMPWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I was in town for two weeks on a bussiness trip and stayed at Hotel San Ayre. Mike, the owner, was very helpful and friendly. He gave us great pointers on where to eat in town, including a great restaurant accross the street. Mike was readily available to answer questions or for requests, but did not hover. Because I asked not to have my room cleaned while i was there, I felt like I had my own private space.
The rooms are cute and eclectic, and althought there were no small bottles of shampoo or in room coffe, like you might find in large chain hotels, I would choose to stay at this hotel over a chain any day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
575 reviews
1.5 mi away
Eagle Motel
Eagle Motel
#8 of 10 in Manitou Springs
87 reviews
1.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mel-Haven Lodge
Mel-Haven Lodge
#45 of 105 in Colorado Springs
55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buffalo Lodge
Buffalo Lodge
#5 of 20 in Colorado Springs
85 reviews
1.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Villa Motel
Americas Best Value Inn Villa Mo...
#3 of 10 in Manitou Springs
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Ayre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ayre

Address: 3320 W Colorado Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80904
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#20 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
#22 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range: $75 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Ayre 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between historic vacation and shopping districts, the Hotel San Ayre is a contemporary, boutique-inspired lodge located in the heart of Colorado Springs. Our property is outfitted with seven uniquely-styled Guest Rooms, Guest Suites, and two Cottages, all surrounded by breathtaking views and within walking distance of Garden of the Gods, Red Rock Canyon Park, and Old Colorado City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel San Ayre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ayre Hotel
San Ayre Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing