We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring break getaway”
Review of Hotel San Ayre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel San Ayre
Ranked #39 of 104 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Took our 4 grandsons and their parents for a little weekend getaway and it was a perfect fit for us. Boys could run around a bit and not bother anyone. Loved cooking our own meals in the cute little kitchens and grilling out back. Owner was super nice! Nice homey feel and great view

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 189 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Hubby and I took our family of 4 grandsons and their parents for a spring break getaway and this was a perfect fit for us. A place for the boys to run around and not be in the typical hotel setting. Loved being able to cook our own meals and have a place to relax without having to fight for a spot to relax in! Owner is super nice! Very homey atmosphere! Great view.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This hotel was amazing. The gentlemen that was helping us was very nice and helped us with concerns. Great views. Clean inside the room and felt safe. Only downside was parking but was
able to deal with since it was the off season. I would recommend parking in the back. The top floor suite had a balcony with chairs great for relaxing after a day of fun. Cab ride to dowtown was only $15 (ish) for 5 people. There are plenty of restaraunts within walking distance. They give you a number to call/text anytime with any concerns/needs/questions. Will definately stay there again if I need a place to stay in the Springs area.

Room Tip: the Suite on the top floor would fit 6 very comfortably with the fold out couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights in August 2012 - we loved the personal touches, outdoor space, vintage tiled bath, and views. Our room was simple but charming and had great light, wood floors and nice linens. The owner is very friendly and had lots of advice about outdoor activities, restaurants, etc. in the area.

The proximity to Manitou Springs (penny arcade!), Pike's Peak, Old Colorado City and Garden of the Gods is fantastic. We also went into downtown Colorado Springs one day to watch a stage of the USA Pro Cycling Challenge.

We rented bikes from CS West Bikes, which I understand is now closed, but I would definitely recommend mountain biking in Garden of the Gods and Red Rock Canyon Open Space which are just a few minutes ride from the hotel. The trails in Red Rock had some of the best views of the entire trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MEMPWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I was in town for two weeks on a bussiness trip and stayed at Hotel San Ayre. Mike, the owner, was very helpful and friendly. He gave us great pointers on where to eat in town, including a great restaurant accross the street. Mike was readily available to answer questions or for requests, but did not hover. Because I asked not to have my room cleaned while i was there, I felt like I had my own private space.
The rooms are cute and eclectic, and althought there were no small bottles of shampoo or in room coffe, like you might find in large chain hotels, I would choose to stay at this hotel over a chain any day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We just had clients stay for 2 weeks at the Hotel San Ayre. The property is very well maintained, the rooms were clean, and the staff was friendly. The property has a boutique feel and the hospitality was impeccable. They anticipated our clients' needs whether it was an extension cord, extra linens, tips on what to do, or even a little laundry. This type of service can only be found from small locally owned and a operated businesses so ditch the big chains and check out Hotel San Ayre, I know we'll be using them again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

After reading many good reviews and seeing the cheap rates, we booked our stay. First the good news. Our room was very clean and the owner(?) was very nice, knowledgeable and friendly. Now, the not-so-great. When we arrived the parking lot was completely empty and the place looked like it might be defunct. Yet the no vacancy sign was lit. Our host told us he had quite a few guests but they were all out at the moment. However, by nightfall no one had appeared. It seemed hinky, but then again there's nothing intrinsically wrong with being the only guests-- no noise from other rooms, right? Well, this was true but there was a lot of noise and light from the busy avenue inches from the front doors. To be fair, they did offer a white noise machine. The room was tiny and dark, with practically no shelving or furniture to set your things on. But again, clean. Bed very hard, pillows too. The "boutique" furnishings were straight from Target. There was a fridge and microwave though. I spent the night wondering if I should pull the sofa in front of the door for safety but all was well and it was just my imagination running wild. The location wasn't pretty but it was central to areas tourists would frequent and it was not a bad neighborhood.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gopherbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#3 of 10 in Manitou Springs
598 reviews
1.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
226 reviews
1.5 mi away
Eagle Motel
Eagle Motel
#7 of 10 in Manitou Springs
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mel-Haven Lodge
Mel-Haven Lodge
#45 of 104 in Colorado Springs
55 reviews
0.9 mi away
Old Town Guesthouse B&B
Old Town Guesthouse B&B
#1 of 17 in Colorado Springs
401 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buffalo Lodge
Buffalo Lodge
#5 of 20 in Colorado Springs
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Ayre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ayre

Address: 3320 W Colorado Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80904
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#20 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
#22 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range: $75 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Ayre 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between historic vacation and shopping districts, the Hotel San Ayre is a contemporary, boutique-inspired lodge located in the heart of Colorado Springs. Our property is outfitted with seven uniquely-styled Guest Rooms, Guest Suites, and two Cottages, all surrounded by breathtaking views and within walking distance of Garden of the Gods, Red Rock Canyon Park, and Old Colorado City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel San Ayre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ayre Hotel
San Ayre Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing