We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy room and friendly staff”
Review of Hotel San Ayre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel San Ayre
Ranked #38 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfy room and friendly staff”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I was in town for two weeks on a bussiness trip and stayed at Hotel San Ayre. Mike, the owner, was very helpful and friendly. He gave us great pointers on where to eat in town, including a great restaurant accross the street. Mike was readily available to answer questions or for requests, but did not hover. Because I asked not to have my room cleaned while i was there, I felt like I had my own private space.
The rooms are cute and eclectic, and althought there were no small bottles of shampoo or in room coffe, like you might find in large chain hotels, I would choose to stay at this hotel over a chain any day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    40
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
56
79
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manitou Springs, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We just had clients stay for 2 weeks at the Hotel San Ayre. The property is very well maintained, the rooms were clean, and the staff was friendly. The property has a boutique feel and the hospitality was impeccable. They anticipated our clients' needs whether it was an extension cord, extra linens, tips on what to do, or even a little laundry. This type of service can only be found from small locally owned and a operated businesses so ditch the big chains and check out Hotel San Ayre, I know we'll be using them again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

After reading many good reviews and seeing the cheap rates, we booked our stay. First the good news. Our room was very clean and the owner(?) was very nice, knowledgeable and friendly. Now, the not-so-great. When we arrived the parking lot was completely empty and the place looked like it might be defunct. Yet the no vacancy sign was lit. Our host told us he had quite a few guests but they were all out at the moment. However, by nightfall no one had appeared. It seemed hinky, but then again there's nothing intrinsically wrong with being the only guests-- no noise from other rooms, right? Well, this was true but there was a lot of noise and light from the busy avenue inches from the front doors. To be fair, they did offer a white noise machine. The room was tiny and dark, with practically no shelving or furniture to set your things on. But again, clean. Bed very hard, pillows too. The "boutique" furnishings were straight from Target. There was a fridge and microwave though. I spent the night wondering if I should pull the sofa in front of the door for safety but all was well and it was just my imagination running wild. The location wasn't pretty but it was central to areas tourists would frequent and it was not a bad neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gopherbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were so thrilled to find a room at the last minute on a busy weekend (Indpendence Day holiday) near Manitou Springs, one of our favorite Colorado haunts. That it was in this darling little gem owned by a terrific host was a bonus. At the last minute we had an unexpected additional guest, and Mike (owner) went out of his way to accomodate us and made sure we had everything we needed. I highly recommend Hotel San Ayer! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manning, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Location on vacation is always important and the San Ayre fits the bill, literally. Centrally located in a decent surrounding with a main highway a few miles off of I- 25 the hotel lets you drive quickly to all the known stops without heavy traffic hassels. A Safeway is across the street from your door for needs. Rooms for under $100.00 are square and meets the needs of a traveler's bed and not a site in it's self. If you are looking for a "I'm paying pamper me" hotel this isn't it. I would suggest the colony of hotels just off I-25 farther north of the San Ayre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank augustleroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

STAY FAR AWAY from this place! We booked our stay months in advance for the Manitou Springs Wine Festival through booking.com. On the day of our stay the Manager left a voicemail on our home phone (we were already in route to the destination) stating that they would NOT honor our reservation and claimed there was some weather damage to the hotel. They did not offer to rebook us somewhere else and told us that we had to call booking.com ourselves to cancel the reservation and not get charged. I tried to call the office several times for an explanation only to get voicemail. My requests for a return call were ignored. It turns out that the owner and manager had just overbooked. We drove to the property and it is not in good condition. There are much nicer places to stay closer to Manitou Springs which are more competently staffed. The management of this property is not competent. We had reserved the 'Penthouse Suite' which is on the top floor and when we drove past the property there were guests in that room and on the balcony. We were lied to. Good luck if you choose this property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Had one night in the very nice penthouse suite - would be perfect for longer stays, well equipped and comfortable. Good location for exploring Manitou Springs, Pikes Peak, Garden of the Gods etc. Mike was very welcoming and helpful. No pool and self-catering, but this was not a problem for us at all. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
528 reviews
1.5 mi away
Eagle Motel
Eagle Motel
#7 of 10 in Manitou Springs
86 reviews
1.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Villa Motel
Americas Best Value Inn Villa Mo...
#3 of 10 in Manitou Springs
499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mel-Haven Lodge
Mel-Haven Lodge
#43 of 105 in Colorado Springs
53 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Manitou Springs
Comfort Inn Manitou Springs
#4 of 10 in Manitou Springs
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Ayre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ayre

Property: Hotel San Ayre
Address: 3320 W Colorado Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80904
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Colorado Springs
#20 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
#22 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Ayre 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between historic vacation and shopping districts, the Hotel San Ayre is a contemporary, boutique-inspired lodge located in the heart of Colorado Springs. Our property is outfitted with seven uniquely-styled Guest Rooms, Guest Suites, and two Cottages, all surrounded by breathtaking views and within walking distance of Garden of the Gods, Red Rock Canyon Park, and Old Colorado City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel San Ayre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ayre Hotel
San Ayre Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing