We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Manitou Springs and OCC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast to your Saves list
Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3320 West Colorado Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80904   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 107 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Manitou Springs, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel in Manitou Springs and OCC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We just had clients stay for 2 weeks at the Hotel San Ayre. The property is very well maintained, the rooms were clean, and the staff was friendly. The property has a boutique feel and the hospitality was impeccable. They anticipated our clients' needs whether it was an extension cord, extra linens, tips on what to do, or even a little laundry. This type of service can only be found from small locally owned and a operated businesses so ditch the big chains and check out Hotel San Ayre, I know we'll be using them again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

After reading many good reviews and seeing the cheap rates, we booked our stay. First the good news. Our room was very clean and the owner(?) was very nice, knowledgeable and friendly. Now, the not-so-great. When we arrived the parking lot was completely empty and the place looked like it might be defunct. Yet the no vacancy sign was lit. Our host told us he had quite a few guests but they were all out at the moment. However, by nightfall no one had appeared. It seemed hinky, but then again there's nothing intrinsically wrong with being the only guests-- no noise from other rooms, right? Well, this was true but there was a lot of noise and light from the busy avenue inches from the front doors. To be fair, they did offer a white noise machine. The room was tiny and dark, with practically no shelving or furniture to set your things on. But again, clean. Bed very hard, pillows too. The "boutique" furnishings were straight from Target. There was a fridge and microwave though. I spent the night wondering if I should pull the sofa in front of the door for safety but all was well and it was just my imagination running wild. The location wasn't pretty but it was central to areas tourists would frequent and it was not a bad neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gopherbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were so thrilled to find a room at the last minute on a busy weekend (Indpendence Day holiday) near Manitou Springs, one of our favorite Colorado haunts. That it was in this darling little gem owned by a terrific host was a bonus. At the last minute we had an unexpected additional guest, and Mike (owner) went out of his way to accomodate us and made sure we had everything we needed. I highly recommend Hotel San Ayer! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manning, Iowa
Level Contributor
186 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Location on vacation is always important and the San Ayre fits the bill, literally. Centrally located in a decent surrounding with a main highway a few miles off of I- 25 the hotel lets you drive quickly to all the known stops without heavy traffic hassels. A Safeway is across the street from your door for needs. Rooms for under $100.00 are square and meets the needs of a traveler's bed and not a site in it's self. If you are looking for a "I'm paying pamper me" hotel this isn't it. I would suggest the colony of hotels just off I-25 farther north of the San Ayre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank augustleroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

STAY FAR AWAY from this place! We booked our stay months in advance for the Manitou Springs Wine Festival through booking.com. On the day of our stay the Manager left a voicemail on our home phone (we were already in route to the destination) stating that they would NOT honor our reservation and claimed there was some weather damage to the hotel. They did not offer to rebook us somewhere else and told us that we had to call booking.com ourselves to cancel the reservation and not get charged. I tried to call the office several times for an explanation only to get voicemail. My requests for a return call were ignored. It turns out that the owner and manager had just overbooked. We drove to the property and it is not in good condition. There are much nicer places to stay closer to Manitou Springs which are more competently staffed. The management of this property is not competent. We had reserved the 'Penthouse Suite' which is on the top floor and when we drove past the property there were guests in that room and on the balcony. We were lied to. Good luck if you choose this property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Had one night in the very nice penthouse suite - would be perfect for longer stays, well equipped and comfortable. Good location for exploring Manitou Springs, Pikes Peak, Garden of the Gods etc. Mike was very welcoming and helpful. No pool and self-catering, but this was not a problem for us at all. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed in the cottage for two nights at the end of March, for a spring break getaway. It was tastefully and comfortably furnished, and the layout worked well for us. Our kids (2 and 4 yrs) slept in the front bedroom, which has a queen bed. The room faces a busy street and there is a lot of traffic noise, but there was a whitenoise machine in the room and anyway the traffic soothed our kids to sleep. The room has a door opening onto the front porch, but we were able to drag the bureau over a few inches to ensure our kids didn't slip outside in the night. The kids weren't so keen on sharing a bed, so we put a thermarest on the floor and our son slept there.

We slept in the back bedroom, in a nice king bed. We kept some food in the cottage and ate breakfast in the kitchen. We could have cooked full meals but chose to eat out for lunch and dinner. There is a washer/dryer, bathtub/shower, central heating and plenty of space for the children to play. They had a great firepit set up out back but we didn't use it. there was plenty of parking. Mike was friendly, nice and understanding of our needs. He worked it out so we could check in a little early so our daughter could nap in the cottage.

The hotel is super convenient to several attractions--Garden of the Gods, Manitou Springs (with Cave of the Winds and the Cliff Dwellings), Old Colorado City, and even the Cheyenne Mountain zoo is pretty close. We enjoyed not having to drive for ages to get where we wanted to go. There is a Safeway supermarket right across the street.

Keep in mind that it is an old cottage, not a luxury resort, and you'll be very pleased with your stay. Highly recommended for families.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genevakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
1.7 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#5 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 803 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Mining Exchange, A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange, A Wyndham G...
#2 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 1,492 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
The Academy Hotel Colorado Sprin...
#20 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#4 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 13 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 578 reviews
10.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Springs
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Spri...
#1 of 107 in Colorado Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast

Address: 3320 West Colorado Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80904
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
#22 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between historic vacation and shopping districts, the Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast is a contemporary, boutique-inspired lodge located in the heart of Colorado Springs. Our cannabis-friendly property is outfitted with seven uniquely-styled Mountain Rooms, two Mountain Suites, and two Mountain Cottages, all surrounded by breathtaking views and within walking distance of Garden of the Gods, Red Rock Canyon Park, and Old Colorado City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ayre Hotel
San Ayre Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#