We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great shopping and wine.”

Old Colorado City Historic District
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
chicago
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great shopping and wine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We spent 1/2 of a day shopping and eating and would have stayed if not for the rain. Great shops at every price point. Many food choices.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank elle76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    389
    152
    27
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
111 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lots of shops, lots of cafes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Free parking, lots of boutiques, antiques, food, bars, etc. Clean and lovely area for tourists and locals, and great farmers market in summer and fall.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank COGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place to shop local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I live in this area of town so my view is biased but I love supporting local businesses and where else can you do that AND be in an historic district with FREE parking? This little community has great shops, great eats and great people. Plan on walking around and enjoying the many shops.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Duane_the_Pain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great shops and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Old Colorado City is a quaint area to browse shops and sample good food. Quirky populace makes 'people watching' a great pasttime as you enjoy some ice cream or Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory chocolates!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DeeZee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Level Contributor
350 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“quaint stroll”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

"Old City" as it was described to me is just around the corner, so I drove over to check it out. Sunday evening and many things were closed, but I see and feel the quaint charm of it. Nice little shops and restaurants, mom and pop owned - or deceptively. Probably a throw back to the shopping districts of many a small town all over america, this place has probably struggled at times and may have been on life support at others. Now it seemed to thrive although is probably kept alive by the off the beaten path location, and tourist seasons of skiing in winter, mountain escape in summer. Nearby Manitou Springs has its own appeal, so I hear, and was likely headquarters for the newly legalized weed movement which has darkened the states conservative reputation. It probably doesn't feel as nice when clogged and congested, so I'd recommend off peak visits.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank HikingTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Colorado City Historic District also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Old Colorado City Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing