We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for novice riders”

Academy Riding Stables
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for novice riders”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My two daughters (13 & 10 years) and I went on an hour ride and thoroughly recommend it. None of us had rode horses before and the staff were helpful and their advice clear. They asked where I'd like the children to ride in our group and answered my nervous teenager's question reassuringly. The horses (and riding hats) made us feel safe but at the same time we had a taste of being cowgirls (as my ten year old put it) in a truly memorable place. It was well worth the money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1964kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    75
    20
    10
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Professional, worth the effort.”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

rode through Garden of the Gods and that was a great way to see the place for the first time. It also was more interesting for the kids as opposed to just driving through, which we still did and climbed around on the rocks. Go early to the stable there's a form to fill out, the horses are friendly animals each with a personality, highly recommended. Tip the guide but skip the $10 photos, unless you really think you will display it somewhere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois, United States
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Way to See Garden of the Gods”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Friends recommended that we do the 2-hour trail ride at ACS to get the best views of Garden of the Gods, and they were right! The ride took us up and through the rock formations for spectacular views of the park. The staff was very nice and very helpful, the horses were reliable, and we had a great time. Definitely better than driving through the park!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“great ride”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We went on an hour ride with them, and it was great. None of us had any previous riding experience. Everybody was excited, including our teens.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank michael e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Like driving a Porsche in car pool.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice sights in Garden of Gods but the slowest, most boring, single file, nose-to-tail, trail ride we ever experienced. These horses never even got to a "slow walk" pace. And the wranglers barked out orders to increase the gaps, keep horses in line, etc. Save your money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffsterlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Academy Riding Stables also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Academy Riding Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing