We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Academy Hotel

The Academy Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colorado Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Academy Hotel
Save
You added The Academy Hotel to your Saves list
8110 N. Academy Blvd., ,, Colorado Springs, CO 80920   |  
Hotel amenities
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I was in Colorado Springs for business so my wife decided to come along. The Academy Hotel was close to were I needed to be and after looking at the reviews it was a no brainier. The room was as expected, very clean and roomy. The bed was very comfortable, slept like a baby. Some hotels have beds that are so hard it makes my back ache but not here. And loads of pillows! The breakfast buffet was awesome! Omelets made to order, unlimited coffee, french toast, waffles, cereal etc. The staff was very friendly. The pool area was well kept the only issue we had was the hot tub was out of order. I highly recommend The Academy Hotel when visiting Colorado Springs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Firefighter1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Our family stays at the Academy Hotel every spring when we come to Colorado Springs for vacation. We love the atmosphere of warmth and friendliness. The rooms are comfortable,very clean and we had a view of Pikes Peak out our window. Love waking up to that each morning! The kids love the pool and sitting by the large cozy fireplace. And of course we all love their amazing free buffet breakfast which has just about any breakfast choice you can imagine. We also eat in their dining area which is conveniently right in the hotel. Their food is really good and very reasonably priced. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Colorado Spring area. You are going to be surprised how much you enjoyed this place and how reasonable it is.

Room Tip: There are rooms with a great view of Pikes Peak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Texasfamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The service at this hotel is as good as I have received at some 5 star hotels. From the receptionists to the housekeepers and everyone in between was friendly and helpful. The free breakfast is better than I have had at any other free breakfast, it included mto omlettes, waffles, burritos, etc. The pool area is nice and it is heated. The kids loved this. The rooms were clean but the hotel is old so there were things like stained ceiling tiles and some burns on the sink but everything was very clean. Overall I would stay again bc of the service and this time I would check to see if they had any updated rooms instead of hte older ones.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darindcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Our 12 year old granddaughter found this hotel on the internet to replace one that we had already booked. When we then read reviews about The Academy, we decided to go with her find instead and were SO glad that we did. The hotel itself is so lovely and was so affordable that we are considering taking our grandchildren there again this year. They especially loved the pool, which is located in the huge lobby of the hotel. Breakfast buffet (included in the room rate) was one of the best that we have ever had, with a class A chef to cook eggs to your liking. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and very clean. Staff are customer-service oriented, making you feel that they are glad to have you at their facility. There are so many family-type activities in the area. I could go on and on......the Academy is simply magnificant!

Room Tip: If you need adjoining rooms, ask about the Executive rooms on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NWWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

While on the way from the Denver airport to the Colorado Springs area my friend remembered passing by this hotel months earlier. As luck would have it there was availability for the night. The cozy fireplace was ablaze which set the atmosphere. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfast buffet which was included in the nightly rate was WONDERFUL! This is not your typical buffet...the chef was on hand to make omelets and the buffet was extensive. If you are in area do yourself a favor an put this hotel on your list. It is in close proximity to the Garden of the Gods and Pike's Peak.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alicia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
0.0 mi away
The Academy Hotel Colorado Springs
The Academy Hotel Colorado Sprin...
#20 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 1,701 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Colorado Springs
Hilton Garden Inn Colorado Sprin...
#21 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza Inn
Plaza Inn
#52 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#4 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn...
#11 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Air Force Academy
Days Inn Air Force Academy
#17 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Academy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy Hotel

Address: 8110 N. Academy Blvd., ,, Colorado Springs, CO 80920
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 200

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing