We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what it used to be”
Review of Memorial Park

Memorial Park
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Maybe I'm biased since I live here? Memorial Park is not in the best area of town anymore. However, they have added a skate board park which I suppose skateboarders love. The park is usually just kind of a hangout for young people. There is a small (by my standards) lake in the park but not a favorite local hangout for families with kids. There is a huge ice skating rink there and lots of green areas, as well as a velodrome. (The park is just a few blocks away from the Olympic Training Center.) However, the only time I venture to this park during the year is for 1) 4th of July fireworks and 2) the annual hot-air balloon classic.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    25
    10
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
137 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Lots of Homeless, Can be Dangerous”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Nothing special. Lots of grass and equal amounts of pot smokers and homeless. Not a great show for a wonderful idea...the memorial itself.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ICHermes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dirty”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

There was a lot of bird poop everywhere. Not well kept. Sad, because it has much potential

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Gigi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
143 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Don't miss the balloon launch.”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Memorial is your average big park, but it's a real hoot Labor Day weekend when the hot air balloons launch. It's a better experience than Albuquerque.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank wineau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kogarah, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Prospect Lake and Memorial Park”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We were drawn by the memorial to military service and was surprised to find Prospect Lake with access to the water and lots of open green space. Depending on the time of year and the planned activities in the park determines how busy the park becomes during park hours.

Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memorial Park also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Memorial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing