We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, A Bit Spotty Service”

Lake Terrace Dining Room
Ranked #43 of 1,447 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Breakfast Monday through Saturday, the Lake Terrace Dining Room is the perfect place to start your morning. The a la carte menu offers something to satisfy every appetite, from traditional European breakfasts, to exciting variations on Eggs Benedict; as well as Southwestern specialties and mouth-watering griddle selections. Located on the Mezzanine level of BROADMOOR Main. Sunday Brunch Offering 150 enticing choices alongside sculpted ice and live piano music. Located on the Mezzanine level of BROADMOOR Main. Attire: RESORT CASUAL Dressy denim and collared shirts are required. Seasonal sport coat or blazer suggested. Please no athletic wear, sport wear, shorts, pool attire or gentlemen’s hats. Breakfast Bermuda length shorts, denim and collared shirts are suggested. Please no athletic wear, pool attire or gentlemen’s hats. Brunch Dressy denim and collared shirts are required. Seasonal sport coat or blazer suggested. Please no athletic wear, sport wear, shorts, pool attire or gentlemen’s hats.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Food, A Bit Spotty Service”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Took too long to get in despite having reservation. Service was OK but staff was apparently "stretched" and we have several servers not well coordinated. When the food arrived (that part was timely) is was good, not exceptional but quite good. We would reconsider this venue on our next visit in favor of all the other wonderful eating establishments on the hotel property.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oldaztravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    42
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oldsmar, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,170 reviews
607 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 448 helpful votes
“A Spectacular Breakfast Buffet”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We had a wonderful breakfast at the Lake View Dining Room during our visit to the BROADMOOR. The breakfast buffet offered a wonderful and broad variety of choices of a hot and cold breakfast items including an omelet station. The fresh fruits were some of the best we have had, all plump, juicy and fresh. The service was also excellent.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mixaconsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Center, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“overpriced but exciting”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

the food was all very good, including the chocolate fountain (on my bucket list) and the prime rib. all varities of food from breakfast to lunch to dinner-type meats. lots of smoked fish and strange cheeses and dessert thingies. the banana foster was a disappointment (i make it better) but most of the other foods were great. it's just the experience of eating here with lots of friendly waitresses and chefs serving food and the piano player and white linens and the scene outside that comes together for a special time. is it over priced? you bettcha! $38 each plus tax and tip. there were a lot of breakfast food items and we all know those aren't that expensive. i won't go again, but am very glad we did it once. we were celebrating two 50th anniversaries, and they brought us a special dessert and decorated plate-which i would have loved to keep, but alas! make this a special experience, be ready for the bill, and just go hungry. the bacon we could not leave alone! best ever we've had. all agreed. and try everything you can't name. that's the fun in it. we are foodies and had things we have never seen before. by the way, we made reservations 4 months in advance-they recommend 3 months. must be popular, huh?

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emptywallet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Need to Address Dress Code”
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Four of us ate at the Broadmoor Sunday Brunch this past weekend for daughter’s 23rd birthday. The food was for nearly exceptional, the service understated but attentive, setting elegant, and the Bloody Mary’s top shelf. There is something for everybody to eat here and I especially like the cold seafood table. The steam table selections were varied and tasty; the carving stations had excellent roast beef and ham. I should have known better than to try the steam table scrambled eggs, they were grainy and over cooked. I didn’t want a full omelet and should have asked the chef to cook up a ladle full of scrambled eggs fresh for me. The desserts are generally excellent, except we found both the carrot cake and Red Velvet cake dry and tasteless.

My major complaint is about the dress code, or lack thereof for the brunch. The Broadmoor website clearly says the dress code is “dressy casual and no athletic apparel.” I am not a prig when it comes to dress codes; I think “dressy casual” today means nice Dockers and polo shirts for men and nice slacks and top for a woman. We saw everything from tennis outfits, jogging shorts, people with backpacks wandering through looking at the food, ball caps on backward to a grown woman with denim cut-off so short that about 2 inches of her a%# hung out. To be honest I am not sure why we bothered to even get dressed up. I should have worn my sweat pants so I could have had more room to gorge on smoked salmon and oysters. Maybe the Broadmoor should make a polite dress suggestion when people make reservations. Despite the setting and food this place is in danger of turning in to an expensive County Buffet.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
9 Thank jim6918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Elegant”
Reviewed November 10, 2010

My boyfriend and I decided to splurge on a nice Sunday brunch, and it was very worth it! Everything is gorgeous, the food is great, and the staff is wonderful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank viickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Terrace Dining Room also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Lake Terrace Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing