We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awkward for newcomer”
Review of Il Vicino

Il Vicino
Ranked #50 of 1,420 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Awkward for newcomer”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Tourists looking to try somewhere new...
Cons: metered parking - have change ready. You order and pay when you enter and then sit down for full service from there. Menus are on wall before you, but overwhelming.
Pros: food is fresh and prepared quickly. Servers are enthusiastic and friendly.
Overall: wish this was a full service restaurant with someone to seat me and tell me specials and guide me thru ordering. At the beginning there is a place for tip before you ever sit down, but you have no idea what you are tipping for. Clean nice atmosphere with some outdoor seating, but small. Watched others come in and stare at overwhelming menu and leave. Thought the food was ok, but really felt too frustrated with ordering and tipping to enjoy it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank family4MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    87
    33
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
161 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good find”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We ate here our last night in town. The food was good (my husband and I split one of the sandwiches, which are HUGE). The food was good, the wine was good and the staff was friendly. Indoor or outdoor seating. It's a no frills place which is perfect after spending the day outside exploring the beautiful scenery.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cocobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There's a reason it's rated high.”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Great place, great pizza, great service, and great price. I don't have anything bad to say.
I guess the worst part is choosing from so many options.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j1hart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
90 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Our favorite "nothing else doing, where do you want to go" place”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Since it has opened up in the University mall on Nevada, this has been our go-to place when we don't feel like cooking. We split a pizza, get two side salads, and a local beer (they have Bristol taps).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mywebss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Real Find - Best Pizza in The Springs!!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Wonderful pizza, calzone, salads, especially the wood oven pizzas, excellent even by my snobby native Bronx, NY pizza standards. Fast, friendly service. Many menu items for kids. This is a very family friendly place and is always on my list of dinner stops when I am in town.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BruValM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Vicino also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Il Vicino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing