We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for kids”

Bear Creek Nature Center
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for kids”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife and I spent two mornings hiking Bear Creek with our 6 and 4 year olds while on vacation in Colorado Springs. The trails were easy enough for the children and had beautiful views. Bear Creek also has a nice Nature Center that the kids enjoyed. Another plus is that it's free!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joehol2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    21
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pueblo, Colorado
1 review
“So wonderful”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Loved the exhibits and one of the greatest places to hike and just enjoy the wonderful sites all around you. Good place to take kids.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hoteldos65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun nature hike”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Inside are some fun, interesting facts. Nice hiking trails, some flat some with small hills. Always see deer, birds, snakes and squirrels. They say bears are in the area, but I haven't seen one yet. Love coming here with my daughter just to get out of the house and explore nature.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Expert_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
598 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Family-friendly and free!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Nature centers are awesome.

BC is in a nice, newer building that emphasizes “family” with its kid-friendly information stations and indoor bee-observation hive. Large windows allow for great bird-watching, and deer regularly come right up to building. There are easy trails that shoot off around the area. The staff is super friendly and they often host great programs and summer camps. Lots of taxidermy displayed throughout to bring the local wildlife indoors, and brochures are scattered around. Nicer bathrooms than I expected on my two visits there this weekend. Sure, they might not have a lot of displays inside, but I think that's to encourage visitors to go outdoors where the REAL nature's at!

There is also a spacious conference room you can reserve for meetings, complete with an overhead screen and tables and chairs. Downsides: the chairs are very uncomfortable plastic, and the room with its beautiful large windows gets either extremely cold or extremely warm, and the high ceiling ECHOES horribly throughout.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank aerofaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“free, nice park and helpful staff”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Nice small center in a park that has several events throughout the year for adults and children. The hours are short, so check the website as they often close pretty early.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank FWjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Creek Nature Center also viewed

 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Bear Creek Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing