We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great German ambiance and food will not disappoint”

Edelweiss Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 1,448 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: For over 40 years this family-owned German Restaurant on the south side of Colorado Springs has served over a million happy customers. The restaurant invites guests to dine in one of its several rooms decorated with artifacts from Europe. With strolling musicians on Friday and Saturday nights, three blazing fireplaces in winter, and an authentic "Biergarten" in summer, you are sure to enter into another world as a guest at Edelweiss.The authentic menu with a variety of Old World German dishes includes Schnitzel, Bratwurst, and Sauerbraten, with newer-age items such as Flammekuchen and Maultaschen. For those not so adventurous palates Edelweiss offers other Continental fare such as Chicken Cordon Bleu, Filet Tournedos, or Fresh Salmon Filet. Imported German Beers and Wines can be ordered to compliment any of the flavorful dishes. The European-trained Swiss Pastry Chef bakes all of the desserts from scratch, so save room for one of the rich Tortes or pastries, or take some to go.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great German ambiance and food will not disappoint”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I have been to the Edelweiss perhaps 12 times for special occasions over the past 30 years. I recently visited after being away for 3 years. What a welcome feeling walking through the restaurant, it felt like coming home. As usual, the Jagerschnitzel was very good, the staff very knowledgeable and friendly. Great German wines and beers always available, and the deserts so tempting that I wished I had more room.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JustEd2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    657
    314
    101
    32
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dodge City
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy!!!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I was sooooo good. I of course ate too much but that's expected. Everyone in my party thought it was great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank joycemarie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Quite Close”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Our party had lunch here on July 19 and enjoyed ourselves very much. This was our second visit to the restaurant, entertaining old friends. We had a very nice Riesling and the traditional German fare. The schnitzel was almost there....about a 7 on a scale of 10. The best (or a 10) is in Lake Lucern, Switzerland at the Old Swiss House, if you want to know our standard.

We will return, as this seems a reliable restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tgates5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We went here twice when we recently went on vacation in Colorado Springs. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal both times! The first time we went the bread was not very fresh and it was hard, but it was much better the second time that we went. We had the Wienerschnitzel and the Jagerschnitzel and both were GREAT. The meat was excellent! My wife also had the German chocolate cake and she said it was one of the best that she's ever had. The decor is quite unique as is the music that they pipe in. I would recommend that you come for lunch, the portions are almost identical as at dinner, but the prices are cheaper. Can't wait to return!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlbug99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant ambiance and good food!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just 2 turns off I-25, and you enter a charming beer garden with lots of flowers and squirrels. Our waiter was so gracious and answered all questions. The meal was delicious (we shared the meat, cheese, pickles and bread platter), as was the beer. Maybe, probably, not what you'd be served in Munich, but I'd go back any time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edelweiss Restaurant also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Edelweiss Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing