We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”

Edelweiss Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 1,412 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: German, Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: For over 40 years this family-owned German Restaurant on the south side of Colorado Springs has served over a million happy customers. The restaurant invites guests to dine in one of its several rooms decorated with artifacts from Europe. With strolling musicians on Friday and Saturday nights, three blazing fireplaces in winter, and an authentic "Biergarten" in summer, you are sure to enter into another world as a guest at Edelweiss.The authentic menu with a variety of Old World German dishes includes Schnitzel, Bratwurst, and Sauerbraten, with newer-age items such as Flammekuchen and Maultaschen. For those not so adventurous palates Edelweiss offers other Continental fare such as Chicken Cordon Bleu, Filet Tournedos, or Fresh Salmon Filet. Imported German Beers and Wines can be ordered to compliment any of the flavorful dishes. The European-trained Swiss Pastry Chef bakes all of the desserts from scratch, so save room for one of the rich Tortes or pastries, or take some to go.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

When we first drove towards the area where the restaurant was located, we were a little bit uneasy, but when we got there it was a very nice place from the outside already. We were greeted by friendly staff and seated downstairs. Yes, this restaurant has downstairs, upstairs and nice outside seating available. The menu had lots to choose from, including platters with a mix of four different entrees. keeping it short, the atmosphere was great with live musicians playing German music. This made me feel like living in Germany again where I grew up. The food was good. The Rouladen, Spaetzle, and Schnitzel were outstanding! I was a little disappointed in the sauerkraut and red cabbage though. It seemed too thick and gel-like and I just could not eat it. The bratwurst to me was more like a weisswurst with bratwurst seasoning then a normal German bratwurst. I know everyones tastebuds are different, but I still travel to Germany quiet a bit and know the difference. The desserts were on point! Amazing German Chocolate Cake, Applestrudel, and Raspberry Mousse Torte! There were too many desserts to choose from. The prices are very reasonable, and I would definitely go back to eat there again!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank akblueberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    592
    289
    92
    31
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Location for Traditional German Meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Edelweiss is a nice German restaurant in Colorado Springs. We went for a late lunch during the week and had impeccable service, lovely table settings and surroundings. I don't remember exactly what my dish was, but it was good with very nice ambiance in the restaurant.
In addition, a very fun time to be had with family and friends. Lots of authentic German meal offerings and they have a reputation for their bakery items, as well. Surprisingly, my friends went about a week or two later on the weekend and they complained the service was poor and they were not nearly as happy with the restaurant. Sooooooo, I guess it may be hit or miss on the weekend, but I would definitely try it during the week if possible. I look forward to going again and trying some more German food. Recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaelyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Slightly cheesy, close to authentic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

The decor is everything I remember as typical for Bavaria, all concentrated in one restaurant. So it's full of reminders of things from Germany, but put together like a museum or amusement park. So it's more of an American restaurant celebrating Bavaria than a Bavarian restaurant.

That said, the beer selection was appropriate, and the menu had most of the right things. I wanted to try their goulash, but went for their Münchener Platte instead because of the variety. The Rouladen was disappointing, as was the wurst. The rotkohl was the best part. The strudels (I tried both the apple and cherry) were passable, but clearly made with canned pie filling.

There was an accordion player in Lederhosen, which was fun, especially when he played the chicken dance. I was disappointed, though, that he only played it for two rounds.

Service was very good, especially considering there was a large party (100+ people) taking up half the restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank SgtDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

This.place reminds me of an old German chalet. The charm and warm makes the environment enjoyable.

The food was absolutely wonderful. Authentic German food at its finest.

Highly Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank bmatt86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An Awesome German Dining Experience Close To Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

If you ever get a chance to eat here, don't miss out. I used to dine at the Alpine Village in Vegas before it got torn down and have been on a quest to find it's equal, here it is. The food, the ambiance, the BEER are all top notch and prices are outstanding too. This is the real deal for authentic German, Austrian cuisine and my only wish is that I didn't live so far away from it. I can't wait to return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edelweiss Restaurant also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Edelweiss Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing