We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keeping history alive!!!! ”

National Museum of World War II Aviation
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The museum is open Tuesday, Thursday, Friday (starting 2 Jun 17) and Saturday from 10AM to 4PM. Tours are at 10AM, NOON and 2PM. Visitors can walk around the museum on their own or take a historical tour with a docent. Hourly docent led tours are also available to visit WestPac Restoration where WWII aircraft are actively being restored to flying condition.
Fountain, Colorado
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Keeping history alive!!!! ”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Must see! Very friendly and knowledgeable docent! Great detailed view into the restoration process of WWII airplanes and the stories of WWII! Wonderful way to bring history alive for the kids! Loved it

Helpful?
2 Thank MonikaRoyalty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    54
    10
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful time”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My husband and I have enjoyed visiting this museum. Allow at least 2 hours!! The docents are great!! They make history come alive!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank vickoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Small Museum”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We visited this new museum with 4 adults and 4 children. It was fascinating for all. A real education about World War II and also the importance of airplanes in it. There was an abundance of human interest in the displays. They have many donated memorabilia from local people in the Springs. Our guide/docent, Chris Pierce, was fabulous in his knowledge and enthusiasm. The time flew by.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
150 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“One of Most Informative Museum Tours I've Experienced”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This two hour tour is interesting to amateur historians and casual observers alike. The development of air power and the technological advances of aircraft are explained in the historical context. Superb collection staffed by volunteer experts. Walking, standing and listening involved to enjoy this attraction. Our group of four with very different interest levels all enjoyed this.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Must See...”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Had the opportunity to visit the Museum while we were in Colorado Springs visiting friends and touring Air Force Academy before the Thanksgiving break. Highly recommend taking the 2-hour guides tour. The displays are fantastic and you get an inside look at what it takes the volunteers to restore these amazing artifacts of American history.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of World War II Aviation also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to National Museum of World War II Aviation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing