We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat”
Review of Uchenna

Uchenna
Ranked #16 of 1,447 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Uchenna is closed on Monday.Open Tuesday-Friday lunch 11:30am to 2:00pm dinner 5:00pm to 08:00pm Saturdays and Sundays 12:00pm to 2:00pm dinner 5:00pm to 08:00pm Honoured to welcome you.Peace and Blessings
Lubbock, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I ate here 2 years ago and said I would return if I was ever in the Colorado Springs area. Well I returned to Colorado Springs and made it a priority to eat at Uchenna. I had the seafood plate with orange tea. The food and service was just as good as I remembered. I will be eating here every time I am in the Colorado Springs area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiger52680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    58
    25
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Don't know a thing about Ethiopian food, but my sister recommended it. Absolutely awesome flavors. And service outstanding. Perfect place for my five- and seven-year old nephews, too. I don't live in Colorado anymore, but, next time I visit, you can bet I'll return to Uchenna.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OMG - If you haven't you really should”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Found Uchenna on the internet and I would say this is one of the best finds I have come across! The flavors that you experience here are amazing. I have had Ethiopian food in D.C., L.A., Chicago, Madison, WI, and Marbella Spain and I would this is the BEST I have had.

To make things even better the owner/chef, Maya, truly exudes what hospitality is. I received better service here than I have at some four star restaurants that I been to.

If you want amazing food at a reasonable price, and personal outstanding service I would recommend that you visit Uchenna.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Momonthego42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZINGNESS”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is hands down the best place I have ever eaten at in Colorado Springs. Truly a hidden gem. Maya and her cooking are both out of this world! She cooks from the heart and it is very apparent. DELICIOUS. I would eat there every day if I could.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Faith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

TripAdvisor rankings come through for us again. There is a reason this restraunt is #1. The food is wonderful an unique. Maya is such a doll. She showed us the ropes of ethiopian food, and gave us a hug before we left. We also got a suprize dessert box with our leftovers. I echo the recommendations to get the tea - awesome. The orange water tea is sweet and light. The rose tea is fragrant and great tasting. Don't be fooled by how small this place is. This place is BIG on taste, value and atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uchenna also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Uchenna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing