We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service and the best Gyros in town, great value”
Review of Briar Mart

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Briar Mart
Ranked #853 of 1,432 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service and the best Gyros in town, great value”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We get food from here at least once a week. Shaun, the owner is courteous and the Gyros are the best I have ever eaten. The chicken is tender and very tasty, although the wait for that is 15 minutes, it is worth it as it is cooked from fresh... There fries are more like English Chips and to die for.... I would thoroughly recommend this place for a take out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jackiew9547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bewildered”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The three takeaways from this review are:
1. Briar Mart has good Mediterranean food for a reasonable price
2. Don't use groupons at Briar Mart
3. Don't let your wife or girlfriend be the one to talk to the owner if something is wrong with your order if you aren't ready for her to be screamed at by a large man

After multiple delicious trips to Briar Mart over a three year period , I was very much caught off guard by our experience today. We were using the second groupon we had bought and ordered two beef kabob plates. When they were ready, salad was served instead of rice. My wife told the man(I'm pretty sure he is the owner) at the cash register that we had ordered rice instead of salads. Out of nowhere, he starts screaming at her that she is wrong. I approached the situation and he starts pointing at my wife yelling about her and pointing his finger at her with the attitude one would expect more from a person yelling at a dog. He says she is always orders salad with her family (I'm her only family in the state and we always get rice). My only response is that we won't be coming back. He screams that we only spent two dollars(due to the groupon) so he is glad we aren't returning.

In hindsight, I am still completely bewildered as to the way we were treated in this store today. Maybe the owner was having a bad day/week/year and the incorrect order was the thing that broke the camels back. Maybe he confused my wife with another customer. Either way, I have never seen someone treated as rudely in a restaurant in my life as I experienced today at Briar Mart.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank P I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Greek food in a Mini Store? Oh Yeah!”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Who would of thought.....a little Greek fast food inside of a mini store. Just happened to be driving by and what a treat! The Grubinator dined on the special and almost couldn't finish it.Excellent Greek cuisine at great prices and large portions to boot! Stop by.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Quality_Hunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food with fantastic service!”
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Briar Mart is a small market that serves some of the best Greek/Middle Eastern food in Colorado Springs. The service is great and everyone is so friendly! The gyros and sandwiches are absolutely delicious!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank runjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
Reviewed May 18, 2010

I've been going here for over 10 years and the food is always perfect. The staff is always friendly and the owners will remember you after only a few return visits. I haven't had to actually order my food for some time now, and to be known by name just makes it even better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Coloradomrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Briar Mart also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Briar Mart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing