We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best French Onion Soup” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LA Baguette - Old Colorado City

LA Baguette - Old Colorado City
Ranked #22 of 1,351 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $9
Cuisines: French, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best French Onion Soup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This place is known for its French onion soup and the reputation is well deserved. The breads are wonderful and the in-house bakery makes it possible to take these treats home.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyExplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    58
    13
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
196 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Yummmmmmmmm!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stopped in on the spur of the moment. Immediately charmed by the pastry counter. Ordered an apple croissant, a cream cheese croissant, a lemon bar, and a baguette loaf. All were wonderful. We were wishing we had come at lunchtime, because the menu had a lot of interesting choices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gypsymamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Table for one, please. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely perfect. In taking a day for myself, I decided to have lunch alone: just me and my book. I searched restaurants in my area and read a few reviews for La Baguette. One reviewer raved about the chicken salad sandwich and that sounded good to me. When ordering, I asked about the soup of the day-- a French corn chowder. The young lady at the register kindly offered to let me sample it before I committed to a full bowl. To me, that's going above and beyond! I ordered the chicken salad sandwich on a croissant with a bowl of the soup and am enjoying both while reading my book at a quaint window table. This establishment is great for a table of one, but I wouldn't mind bringing my family either. Do give them a try!

Helpful?
3 Thank Rlmendieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I was excited to try the French onion soup but it was disappointing to see and to eat. I will never eat here again

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurajensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We drove through Old Colorado City after visiting one of the best off-leash dog parks EVER (Bear Creek). Neither of us wanted a full-fledged, sit-down dinner experience while the dog waited in the car. Stumbled upon La Baguette Cafe --it did the trick. I had their Butternut Squash ravioli with a side spinach salad and my daughter had the tortellini --both served with crusty french bread. Both entries were under $9.00. Totally exceeded my expectations. Service was friendly and efficient. Atmosphere pleasant, clean restroom.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank coyotewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LA Baguette - Old Colorado City also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to LA Baguette - Old Colorado City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing