We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our starters”
Review of Blue Star

Blue Star
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Star is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #66 of 1,437 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cheyenne Blvd.
colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved our starters”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We both enjoyed our appetizers quite well: sweet corn flan and cantaloupe risotto. The risotto was a bit goopy, but it was very tasty.

Our entrees were quite fine, but nothing special.

The atmosphere in the bar seemed better than the "formal" dining room where we ate. I felt like I was in a church basement, probably due to the chairs and the two swinging double-doors into the bar area. More elegant, high back chairs would make a big difference to making the place feel special.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank screamer78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    69
    32
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent food with unusual choices”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We went here with some friends from The Springs. My husband had the scallops and I had a vegetarian mushroom stack. Both of ours was excellent. All four of us had salads that were dressed perfectly and very fresh ingredients. This is a busy restaurant, but they also have a small wine room. The chef should be complimented for their unusual entrees that make it fun to try something different.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kwanyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great martinis, but hummus plate needs improvement”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Met a friend for drinks yesterday afternoon. We ordered a hummus plate, which included a very small amount of hummus (which was very good) and several small rolls which were hard and not easy to break apart to eat with the hummus. The waiter told us the bread is made at the nearby Ivywild Bakery, and is delivered in the morning. They used to have very fresh bread to accompany the hummus plate, but this was really not acceptable. Their martinis continue to be among the best in town.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Casual Dining”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our B&B host recommended this place - we arrived, it's in a cute neighborhood. The food was awesome: beef tips, amazing mashed potatoes and priced well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good Drinks and Appetizers”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My first instinct when reading the menu at Blue Star was to order several appetizers, mostly because the appetizers looked so much more interesting than the entrees. After ordering and eating a melon salad appetizer and the half chicken entrée, I was sorry not to have followed that instinct. The half chicken entrée was good, but the presentation was not especially appetizing. After having tasted some of the other appetizers I had been tempted to order, I concluded that this is a good place to come for good drinks and appetizers. Skip the over-priced and less interesting entrees and you’ll end up happy to have tasted a greater variety of dishes and with a smaller bill.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WnnaBTrvlWrtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Star also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Blue Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing