We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Steak, perfect late Mother's Day lunch”

The Famous Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
The Famous Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 1,438 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kiowa
Description: Colorado Springs' finest upscale steak house and lounge located in the center of downtown. Dine in an elegant and classic steak house environment. Award winning prime steaks, fresh seafood, premium wines and piano bar provide a provocative mix of atmosphere and entertainment. Featuring 30+ Colorado spirits and wines as well as local craft brews.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Steak, perfect late Mother's Day lunch”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My Husband, son and I went to have a late Mother's Day lunch, and I wanted a good steak. Found this restaurant online, read the reviews and decided this was the place for us. WOW, did it exceed my expectations. My steak was perfectly cooked, juicy, tender, my son had the cheese burger and it was absolutely huge, my husband had the special prime rib, again perfectly cooked. Everything was delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    78
    50
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best in Town”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Colorado Springs is a wonderful small city and this is best restaurant in town. The quality of service was very good; knowledgable and attentive waiters. The food was very good, a bit on the pricey side but the portion size more than offset the extra cost.

We had the osso bucco that was a very generous size on a bed of polenta - all very tasty. The other two of us had the Chicken Oscar; that came with four reasonably size chicken breast with asparagus as a side. We also had baked patatoes as a side; they were quite large and cooked perfectly.

The only downside is the level of noise. There is a piano and bar in the middle of the dining room. It raises the ambient noise level and in turn the conversations get louder. Still very nice for a night out, but not a romantic night out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VetTraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great steak”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

For 40$ it certainly should have been great! Nice martini, great baked potato, and the best deal on the menu - the Famous salad for only four dollars.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“OK Food”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

If you like a noisy restaurant this is for you. High ceilings, ugh. The food is plentiful and well cooked, but expensive. Sides are enough to share. The specials they advertise on occasion are worth the visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ciezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW disapointing”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Had a evening planed with 2 couples and it went side ways from the get go. Two of the four of us had coats and no offer to check the coats even though the rack was behind the hostess. Server was strange from the beginning. Had little to offer on suggestions on their own menu. Don't get me wrong, part of the meal were good. Service was very slow and missed part of the orders. Drink refills were slow or non exist ant. Meals took 45 minutes to come out. With little communication. Then time after time half the food we ordered was burnt because of the rush to get the food out! Manager came over and was very choppy on his response to the situation. The server also married two glasses of wine to gather at the table! Crazy! Fine dinning!? Just keep driving on past this place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Korndawg74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Famous Steak House also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to The Famous Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing