We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not the best experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of 2 South Wine Bar

2 South Wine Bar
Ranked #135 of 1,402 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cozy Neighborhood Bistro with 60+ wines by the glass. Great award winning food
Colorado
Level Contributor
150 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“not the best experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Let's see. We shall start off with ordering wine, and getting a mediocre pour. When my friend questioned how many ounces it was supposed to be, the gentleman (who was not our waiter but perhaps the owner or a friend), said it was 5 oz and looked at our glasses and immediately told us it was underpoured. Duh!!! He then took our glasses and came back with about 2 more oz in it. We then ordered french fries and the kale chips. The fries were underdone and soggy; the kale chips were not crisp/were not trimmed well, and were very greasy to eat. We tried to get the waitress to give us napkins, but she was too busy talking to one of the dudes at one of the other tables. Finally, my friend went inside to try to get napkins. Eventually, we got them. Then, when the bill came, we saw that our waiter had charged one of us for a full bottle of pinot grigio rather than just a glass. Not sure if the owners were there, but all this time, there was at least one gentleman sitting at an outside table with bottles of wine in front of him and an open laptop on the table, with another gentleman, who was the one who decided that our wine was underpoured, sitting frequently at the table at the laptop. Recommend that whoever owns this place pay more attention to the way it is being run and the service rather than the bottles of wine and the computer. We paid $7 for a glass of "keg" wine. Spend more time and travel down to Manitou Springs and go to Swirl. The owner pays attention to what is going on, the wine is just as good and better priced, and the food is much better. For sure not going to return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank getwhatyoupayfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    7
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“First Visit, Won't be the Last”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

2 South Wine Bar opened late last year in Old Colorado City. My husband and I finally got a chance to stop in after work to give is a try. We arrived shortly after opening (4PM) and were greeted by the owner. The restaurant is located in a renovated Victorian house, so there are several small rooms, plus seating upstairs. We chose to sit in the front room that included the bar. It was quaint with 2 tables. Being a Wednesday afternoon, we were the only ones in the front room, making for a nice place to enjoy each others company and have a conversation. I would put forth, they do still have a few 'kinks' to work our with wine and service (nothing like a previous review), but overall it was an enjoyable experience. Yes, we did have to wait a few minutes while they found another bottle of wine, but the place is small and it is apparent they can't store all the wine in the bar. Service was friendly and gave us plenty of time to enjoy our wine and time between courses. A big positive was the stem ware. The wine is served in Reidels. The wine glasses were hand polished - no old lipstick prints on the glasses (sorry pet peeve of mine, plus it is just gross). The wine list itself has mostly new world wines and most of the selections are a bit obscure. We selected a Washington State Cabernet that was nice. The menu is limited, but the food we had was very good. I started with the Roasted Red Pepper soup which was a nice lighter style soup, not a heavy cream-based soup. My husband started with the house salad with the house balsamic vinaigrette. Ok, what do you say about a house salad? Lettuce was crisp,fresh and chilled. House vinaigrette needed a pinch more seasoning, For our main course, we split the steak frites. It was the perfect dish to split. It came as two 4 oz portions of the steak. The menu said the beef was flank steak but it was beef shoulder. The steak was very tender, had excellent flavor and was cooked a perfect medium-rare. It was topped with some blue cheese crumbles and fried onion straws. The frites were a thicker cut potato and again cooked nicely and severed with a spicy house made ketchup. Overall it was a nice meal and we will return to try other menu items and sample other wines. They have a patio out front, so now that the weather is turning warming, that should be a nice place to sit. Bottomline: I would definitely recommend 2 South Wine bar. Go and enjoy some wines you can't find in other restaurants around town!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LAB019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Wanted to love it, but service & value do matter!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

So this place is definitely trying to be eclectic and fit the overall motif of Old Colorado City. It is in an old Victorian house, so great to walk up to and I love their outdoor sign. However, I was pretty much disappointed from entering the establishment until departure. I'll share a summary of our experience. First, I had made a reservation as at 4PM on a Friday who knows if it will be busy. They don't even open until 4PM and we could sure tell they were still "working" at opening as they sat us. I was meeting two other friends, and after the first person arrived and ordered a glass of wine, they weren't much interested in serving us again until everyone had arrived (even though no other guests were in the establishment). After we had all arrived, eventually someone came over to ask what we wanted which caused the next lengthy issue. One of my friends wanted a second glass of the wine of the same type she had gotten upon arriving (she had been first). Well, it took 15 minutes to find another bottle. This was one of their two standard offerings in the category and again we were supposedly in a wine bar. In fact, during this issue, there was a subtle push for her to just pick another option instead of insisting they find the type she had already selected and enjoyed. Now let's discuss food. We ordered the meat and cheese tray (on the menu it’s called, Charcuterie & Cheese Plate) and the Kale Chips with lemon aioli to snack on while enjoying our wine. The meat and cheese plate has only one meat, bacon and so not at all worth the extra dollars for the meat (not to mention menu indicates meats, not one type). The aioli with the kale chips seems to be just mayonnaise with lemon juice and not at all flavorful. One more thing to share, and really the biggest issue I had with our visit. After we had been there about 2 hours (ordering multiple items during that whole time), the proprietress came over and asked if we were leaving soon, claiming she had multiple reservations waiting that she needed to seat. First, as I already mentioned, we had a reservation, so how inappropriate to ask us to leave when we had a plenty large bill to warrant staying as long as we wanted (especially as we were also seated in the front bar area). However, it gets worse, as we overheard from the proprietor (her husband) as we were leaving, that neither of the two couples waiting had reservations. Also, to be clear, there weren't tons of people waiting, as this establishment is in an old house, and it was cold, the four people waiting were in the foyer, where admittedly there is not a lot of room. There are plenty of other options in Old Colorado City that I will choose instead of going back to this one!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank corbyandjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Old Colorado City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Set in a classic late 19th Century house in an historical district, the atmosphere is very homey and welcoming. It's a comfortable, warm place with a nice bar in the front room and plenty of romantic dining area both up and downstairs. Great selection of wines both domestic and from Europe and South America to suit just about every taste, as well as local brews from Trinity Brewing that always hit the spot. The menu is what you want to see from a wine bar--a one page menu with outstanding hand crafted dishes that keeps it simple, classic, and reliable. Clearly they've taken the advice of seasoned pros who've noted that having 13-15 dishes you do really well makes more sense than trying to have a phonebook sized menu. Try the assortment of dipping sauces for the garlic fries and the tomato bisque soup. There's also a bruschetta that's delicious. Entrees are reasonably priced and vary from week to week from what I can tell. The wife and I have been three or four times now and it's nice that the staff recognizes us--you feel like a valued client here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sassi Italy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 2 South Wine Bar also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to 2 South Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing