We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding View and Location”
other travelers have booked this property
A BEAUTIFUL MOUNTAIN VIEW FROM THE DECK
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A BEAUTIFUL MOUNTAIN VIEW FROM THE DECK
LIVING ROOM IS FURNISHED WITH 2  SETS OF LEATHER FURNITURE SPACIOUS LIVING ROOM HAS 2 SETS OF LEATHER FURNITURE
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
A BEAUTIFUL MOUNTAIN VIEW FROM THE DECK
LIVING ROOM IS FURNISHED WITH 2  SETS OF LEATHER FURNITURE
SPACIOUS LIVING ROOM HAS 2 SETS OF LEATHER FURNITURE
BEAUTIFUL MOUNTAIN VIEW FROM THE FRONT DECK
SECOND BEDROOM; QUEEN SIZE BED ASPEN LOG FURNITURE
A BEAUTIFUL VIEW OF THE MOUNTAINS RIGHT FROM THE DECK
FAMILY SUITE: SLEEPS 2 ADULTS (QUEEN SIZE BED) AND 3 CHILDREN (BUNK BEDS)
MOUNTAIN VIEW FROM THE FRONT DECK
SECOND DECK WITH BBQ GRILL HAS ACCESS TO THE KITCHEN
FIRE PIT IS GREAT FOR ROASTING MARSHMALLOWS...
THE HOUSE IS LOCATED ON A QUIET STREET; BEAUTIFUL AND PEACEFUL SURROUNDINGS
WE HAVE TOYS AND GAMES FOR KIDS IN THE BASEMENT
HE WASHER AND DRYER IN THE BASEMENT
CLEARING IN THE FRONT OF THE HOUSE OFFERS A LOT OF WILDLIFE VIEWING
A BEAUTIFUL PARK ON THE LAKE AND SOME LOCAL RESTAURANTS A SHORT WALK AWAY
LITTLE MOUNTAIN LAKE IS A MILE AWAY
GARDEN OF THE GODS IS A FEW MILES AWAY
INDIAN CLIFF DWELLINGS JUST A FEW MILES AWAY
VISIT HISTORIC OLD COLORADO CITY A FEW MILES AWAY
FLORISSANT FOSSIL BEDS NATIONAL MONUMENT IS 20 MIN AWAY
CAVE OF THE WINDS IS A FEW MILES AWAY
US AIR FORCE ACADEMY IS 25 MI AWAY
PARK IN GREEN MOUNTAIN FALLS JUST A MILE AWAY
SWISS CHALET IS OUR FAVORITE RESTAURANT
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Colorado Springs, El Paso County, Colorado

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DianaL304
Napoleon, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Outstanding View and Location”
Reviewed January 14, 2016 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here over Thanksgiving. Julia was excellent to work with through the whole booking process and prompt in answering our many questions and concerns after booking. She even bought a gate as we were concerned about the one year old falling down the stairs. There is a door at the top of the stairs so the gate wasn't needed. The rooms worked out great for out family as almost everyone had a bedroom, and the couch worked okay for the 4th bed. Kitchen is decently stocked. We ate all of our meals there, and had everything we needed, although a little more dish soap, dishwasher soap, and paper towels would have been nice knowing we were SUPPOSED to be staying 6 nights.
However, when I originally booked the house, I asked about a location that would work well and be safe for travel in November with 2 young children. Driving to the cabin, I was pretty scared about the location I had booked for our family. It is in the mountains and on a winding back road. I didn't sleep well the first night due to my concerns, The snow plow did come through each day at 9 AM though, much to my surprise. It was tricky getting in and out of the parking spaces though and sometimes we had to make several attempts before being able to navigate the small hill to the parking spot as it was very slippery. Also, the basement is very cold. We did all we could to block the cold air at the bottom of the door, but it could definitely use a storm door or weatherstripping to block around the 3 other sides. There is no carpet in the basement living space either, only cement, which wasn't good as it was listed as a family area - and used by my son's family of 4. Also, very dirty under the couches so we had to clean the area before letting the 2 young chilcren use it. The knob to the basement door was also coming loose and there was a nail sticking up about 3/8" from one basement tread. Could have called them to fix it, but think they should have been aware of it when cleaning from previous renter.
I said we were supposed to stay 6 nights. We ended up vacating the property a day early as we were concerned about being able to leave early the morning of our flights because, we had been getting snow and fog every evening and into each morning and didn't want to risk bad roads and fog on the way to Denver airport which is an hour and a half away in good weather.
In all, it is a very nice rental, but either get a four wheel drive vehicle in the winter (we are from Ohio so I am used to snow and ice), or make this a late summer to early fall destination. Oh, and it is easier to get to the property if you take Chipita Park Road past the Elementary School towards Green Mountain Falls then do a left turn on to Fountain Park Road - avoids a lot of turns getting to property.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view out the living room window
Liked least: The basement living room
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2016
The living area is upstairs with 2 sets of leather furniture and big flat screen TV. The basement area is not a living room. The parking is very easy and suitable for 3 cars max. There is no hill. It is a level parking. As always in the winter a 4 wheel drive is recommended in the mountains.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S B
Galesburg, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just right for us!”
Reviewed November 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We found this cabin to be very homey and comfortable. The beds are great and I loved the velvety soft blankets. Having 2 bathrooms was nice so we could do a 'His' and 'Hers'. The kitchen is well-stocked and convenient to use. The "cabiny" touches such as hardwood floors, brick fireplace, antler tables, aspen log furniture, 2 deer heads, etc. give it an outdoors feel.. My husband enjoyed his morning coffee on the deck and we felt really cozy at night in our special home. The view is wonderful as is the location. It is an easy scenic drive to Manitou Springs, Green Mountain Falls, or Woodland Park. Don't miss The Pantry in GMF or The Pancake House in Manitou.
Julia is very nice to communicate with and she answers any questions or concerns promptly. We received the return of our deposit about 1-1/2 week after our check-out date. A great stay in beautiful Colorado, thank you, Julia.
.

Date of stay: September 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 15, 2015
Dear Stephanie,

Thank you for a great review.
You have been wonderful guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertkat...
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cascade mountain homr”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Place was very clean. View was beautiful and there were easy hikes right from the home. Reasonably close to Colorado Springs, unless you are under time constraints for meetings in the Springs (traffic can be bad). Grocery store approximately 5 minutes away. Several nice tourist places very near: Cave of the Winds, Garden of the gods, Manitou Springs, Pikes Peak cog train or drive, cliff dwellings. Limited parking for 2 cars. Not as posh as might be expected for the money, but very clean and very Colorado. Great that it had wifi.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area where it was located and it was clean
Liked least: Distance to World Arena
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2015
Dear Ross,
Thank you so much for your review. I'm so glad that your family liked our Cascade/Rocky Mountain Retreat and peaceful surrounding area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewed March 7, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: February 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2015
Thank you so much. It's such a pleasure to hear that you liked your stay! We do hope you'll come back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Topper196...
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
5 reviews
“Wonderful Mountain Retreat”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Not only was the location of our trip fabulous, so was the location where we stayed. Julia was great to work with and the house is located near so many attractions (Pikes Peak, Cave of the Winds, Garden of the Gods(Must SEE), Indian Dwellings, Dinosaur Resource Center, Olympic Training Center). Also, you are minutes from Manitou Springs (gift shops, shopping, restaurants) to Woodland Park which offer all modern amenities and some excellent restaurants (AJ's pizza!). The house was clean and ready for us to roll right in (especially after driving from Iowa). Our family of 5 traveled with my in-laws (total of 7) and we all had space and were comfortable. We especially loved the early mornings and evenings on the front deck.

Colorado is an awesome destination for the family, everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. We are definitely planning a return trip.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location near to all the wonderful attractions in the Colorado Springs area
Liked least: Yard was a little over grown and not well landscaped or kept up
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2014
Dear David:

Thank you so much for your review.
You are welcome back anytime!
Check out our Pikes Peak Retreat next time. It is also a beautiful property.

Thank you,

Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Reviewed March 25, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Date of stay: March 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2014
Dear Charlotte:

Thank you so much for your review.

Check out our Pikes Peak Retreat next time!

Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Virginia
Reviewed September 22, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Date of stay: June 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.
Thank you so much for leaving the house so clean and in good order.

We would love to have you back anytime.
Check out our Pikes Peak Retreat next time you visit Colorado.
Thanks again,

Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing