We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tale of Two Restaurants”

Tucanos Brazillian Grill
Ranked #43 of 1,438 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Brazilian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Tucanos is an experiential dining, family-friendly destination that combines the unique serving style of the traditional Brazilian grilling, referred to as "churrasco" (shoe-HAS-ko) - an exhibition-style meal surrounded by flames and colors, with the flair and festivity of the beaches of Rio de Janeiro. The cuisine features specially seasoned or marinated meats and vegetables (nearly 20 varieties), grilled and then served hot off the skewers at each table until the guest's appetite is fully gratified. Guests will find one-of-a-kind touches at the restaurant abound, including the color-coded, Tucanos Cue. Placing the Tucanos cue green side up lets the entree servers know that guests would like the parade of seasoned meats, vegetables and fresh pineapple brought to the table. Expertly trained meat servers then slice sizzling portions off skewers directly onto diners' plates. Tucanos also offers an abundant and award-winning Salad Festival, featuring more than 70 items.
Greer, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Tale of Two Restaurants”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Okay guess I should preface this as I'm being told the service is better at lunch than dinner, so that was a good thing. The one things I can't get past, OVERCOOKED MEAT. The salad bar was just as described, plentiful and well stocked, some things people just shouldn't put out to be served, such a "fake sushi" ; okay carnivore place serving sushi, I should have known. The servers at lunch were great, sometimes hard to get them to cut a decent size "hunk" of meat, like they were saving it. Let's face it it's a meat buffet on heels. Now when you overcook most of the meat it's really hard for me to get past that. And for you people that eat steak etc, past medium, better off ordering a burger, I have no sympathy for those who eat it that way, none. Chicken hearts cooked to little rubber balls, the sirloin seemed very hard to get a piece that wasn't medium or better, shame...I guess the sausage and filet at dinner might give you a better option, but even at lunch at a place like this you shouldn't have to "beg" for more to be cut, or for it to be rare/medium rare. Still shaking my head at that. If I do return it would be for dinner, hopefully they can get it together. Toss up on this one your call, countless other places to get steak done right.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank madbeacher2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    83
    54
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven for Meat-atarians”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We've been 3 times and waddled out all three times. There must be seven or more different styles of meat that parades past your table in a non ending chorus of gluttony. It's wonderful. The salad bar is a small island with everything you could imagine. Try the brazed pineapple when it comes around. It's addictive.
All the staff bend over backward and seem to enjoy their job and the place is really inexpensive for a nice restaurant.; $50 for two of us without alcohol.
Make reservations and go early, around 6pm seems to beat the rush and the servers make more frequent trips before the place gets packed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lunch was well worth the price”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Warning.... Food-coma will be induced so don't plan on going back to the office. Tucanos was recommended by a couple folks we were visiting and was such a pleasant surprise. The Salad/Food bar was well worth the 14 bucks, the plentiful skewers of meat were an added bonus! You honestly can't go wrong with this place for lunch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kitsho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A year later of many sittings, still very good food and service”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

When a very good restaurant has been around, the managers do turn over and the next manager likes to think they are better than the last manager and start to tamper with profit optimization to improve their bonus potential. After many visits at Tucanos Brazilian Grill, the food quality and consistency has been outstanding. I know how to find the clues within a restaurant by seeing ingredient changes, reduced portions, food options being limited, and some food options being eliminated and replaced with a lower cost item. Tucanos has stayed true to being a high quality restaurant and not letting the "bean counters" wreck the place because they want to optimize profits over quality.
Once again, the service was terrific, and the staff was very attentive. When I left the Tucanos restaurant, I said to my wife, this place is the "benchmark" for other restaurants to follow when it comes to service and quality of food. Many restaurants are seeing food prices increase, so the managers will find lower cost alternatives that may be less healthy and less beneficial to the customer. I would rather pay more for quality than be charged the same price for an unhealthy meal which is becoming common-place in the restaurant business. We are very happy with Tucanos.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you like Meat and Salad this is the Place”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Been eating lunch here now for a few months, pretty much once a week since they opened. One of the best salad bars in the country and selection of meat brought to your table and carved off right there is amazing. HUGE desert selection!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tucanos Brazillian Grill also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Tucanos Brazillian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing