We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inedible Rice” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina

On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina
Ranked #613 of 1,402 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The spirit of sharing Border-Style food lives on today at On The Border.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Inedible Rice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The service was great but we were less than impressed with the food. The rice was awful, just awful. I had the lunch fajitas which were average but the portion was tiny (I know it was lunch, but for over $10 I expect more than half of a piece of chicken). My husband had a chalupa which was good but again a tiny portion.
The best thing we had was the chips and queso. Very underwhelming and expensive experience. We won't be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
320 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Our Terrible Experience Tonight”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I went to On The Border tonight and had an awful experience. We first waited 50 minutes to be seated. Then we waited 45 minutes for our food to come...and it never came! Our waitress came by after 35 minutes and said our food would be right up. Then 15 minutes later the *manager* came to our table and apologized and said that the waitress had failed turn in the order for our food!! The manager turned it in, was very apologetic, and we got our food in 10-15 minutes. He didn't charge us because of all of the to trouble and lousy service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank craigkordic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We always enjoy the food. What makes us come back time after time is the great service we always recive here. All the servers take care of you not just your server.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Forquer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
111 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great endless enchiladas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The endless enchiladas are great I especially love the sour cream sauce that comes on the chicken ones, but the shredded beef are still my favorite. I would not suggest the other location in Southgate because their service is horrible make sure if you are going to an On The Border in the Springs you choose the Barns location the servers are much more experinced and don't leave you waiting 30 mins for a glass of water.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rockymtngirlco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
307 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Food as expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Nothing outstanding but food as expected for On The Border. The chicken salsa fresca, off the "healthier" menu was quite tasty. Service was very slow, especially considering the restaurant was quite empty when we were there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing