We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning area with a story to tell.”
Review of Glen Eyrie Castle

Glen Eyrie Castle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled on 750 breathtaking acres with 97 lodging rooms, Glen Eyrie's stunning beauty and rich spiritual heritage create a place where, for a few sacred moments, guests can set aside their troubles and catch their breath. The Glen Eyrie staff ministers by thoughtfully creating experiences which set the stage for all to discover, explore, and be transformed. Whether guests come with a group for a retreat, individually for a program or conference, or for historical teas, tours, or overnight stays, Glen Eyrie serves a sanctuary and safe haven of transformation and inspiration. As the conference and camping ministry of The Navigators, The Glen Eyrie Group is comprised of Glen Eyrie and Eagle Lake Camps. Built upon the unique intersection of natural, historical, and spiritual heritages, the Glen Eyrie Group promises to stay true to our Navigator calling by purposefully and thoughtfully ministering to guests through Christ-centered, excellent service and innovative programming.
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
190 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Stunning area with a story to tell.”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Friends were part of the volunteers that provide up keep around the grounds and the "castle". We got tickets for the tour and were amazed with the history and and the story. Driving around the grounds we saw lots of long horned sheep and then turkey. Also saw the nests of the Golden Eagles.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobanddiane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenEyrie, Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for visiting Glen Eyrie! We're so glad you had the opportunity to take the tour and see the wildlife. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    85
    24
    9
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Never got to see”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Booked the tea and tour for a girl's get together months before our arrival date. Received a call 3 weeks prior to reservation informing me that there was no castle tour for our date, that the girl who took our reservation made an error. ONE week prior to date I get another call about a clerk error, this time telling me that a large party had booked the tea and the gal who took my reservation had neglected to note that. Really? I think it was more likely that they dropped the few reservations they had to accommodate the large private party! Very, very disappointed in being treated as a second rate party. We only had one day in the area, so re-booking another date was not an option.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank lucky1135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenEyrie, Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment you experienced while trying to book a tour and tea. It is truly not our intention to make anyone feel second rate and we can assure you that we value everyone who takes the time to book an event at Glen Eyrie. We do our best to avoid making mistakes when we book reservations, but sometimes mistakes occur if a group wasn't put into the system correctly and something gets overlooked.
We are highly committed to improving the quality of the guest experience and we are truly sorry that your experience was less than ideal. If you're ever in the area again, we would love to have the opportunity to serve you with the quality of service that you deserve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A jewel of a 'home' for you to see!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Step back in time to learn about General Palmer's Glen Eyrie. An hour and a half tour (be SURE to make your advance reservation) starts with a short lecture and brief movie. Our guide was very knowledgeable and open to questions. This 'castle' was General Palmer's private home and is very near the Garden of The Gods. It is owned by The Navigators and the sign on the main road indicates that with their name. We used our GPS to find Glen Eyrie. We learned much of the local history and consider this a real prize to see. (free parking)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pianogardenlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenEyrie, Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for visiting Glen Eyrie! We are so glad that you enjoyed the tour and we would love to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beauty, history and more!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

A great place to visit or stay at. Another special attraction for summer - they are having Creation Tours around the property. This was so interesting and so much fun. I learnt so much about the area, geology and Creation and evolution theories. We were not tried to be forced out of evolution, just given another perspective! You can look around by yourself for a while after the tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank topratedeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenEyrie, Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for visiting Glen Eyrie! We are so glad that you joined us for the Creation Tour and that you found it to be fun and informative. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tea at the Castle”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Had family visiting from England and we went to have tea at the Castle. Very lovely grounds and buildings, but the tea was a huge disappointment. Started outside on a lovely patio, but it started to rain and everyone was getting wet. It was at least 15 minutes before they decided to move us inside where there was not adequate sitting for our group of 7 people. After standing with our drinks and plates for awhile the manager came and pulled out another table for us. The entire service was slow and poor and was not a true English tea. Also, menu not as advertised as no sconces, etc and only 1 cold tea and staff didn't even talk when serving. Costly tea for poor and inadequate service. I have been to other tea services and would never recommend this one.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank sss535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenEyrie, Manager at Glen Eyrie Castle, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding the Summer Tea at Glen Eyrie! Your input is valuable to us and we are truly sorry that your experience was less than ideal.

Please be assured that our staff worked and continues to work very hard to handle last minute event changes due to weather. The process was expedited as much as was possible at the Summer Tea, and we apologize for the necessary delays you experienced. In Colorado, you never can tell if the rain will stop after 5 minutes or continue all afternoon, which is why the call to move inside wasn't made until 15 minutes into the tea. The event was advertised to have community seating – however, we did our best to accommodate our guests’ requests where possible.

Also, the Summer Tea menu is different from our regular tea menus and scones were never intended to be served at the Summer Tea. The scones are listed on the regular tea menu. We apologize for this mix-up and we would love to invite you back for one of our weekday teas, if you would like to try our delicious scones! Thank you again for your input; it helps us improve the quality of service that we offer to all of our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glen Eyrie Castle also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Glen Eyrie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing