We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little less than expected”

Colorado Springs Pioneers Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little less than expected”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Because there were so many high ratings for this museum I expected more. It is OK and somewhat informative but not in the realm of many really historic museums.
History of area was interesting but nothing really exemplary as write ups made it out to be.
We drove from Denver down primarily to see this museum but were glad we went to see other attractions in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hanklucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    84
    26
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great place to see and learn”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

more than worth a trip to see Colorado Springs history. Been to this place several times and learned new things each trip.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Pole, AK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stop on a rainy day”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spend a very enjoyable 2 hours looking around the Museum. There was not an entrance fee and the staff was friendly and helpful.

We especially enjoyed the collection of Van Briggle Pottery and the other exhibits depicting early Colorado history.

The Museum is located downtown in the restored 1903 El Paso County Courthouse. Parking was easy and close to the museum entrance.

It was raining on the day we visited the Museum and it gave us a enjoyable venue where the weather did not matter.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank swarthout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weeki Wachee, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Plan to spend a day here to see and read all the information!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The exhibits are very interesting and show the growth of Colorado, especially the Colorado Springs area. The medical years walk thru area was of great interest- they have an old time pharmacy complete with packages and vials.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jrcde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Wyoming
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not your boring museum”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is the most fun I have had at a museum in years. Lots of Pioneer information and current displays also. You can spend a couple of hours and enjoy every minute.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jljbroncofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colorado Springs Pioneers Museum also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Colorado Springs Pioneers Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing