We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific view!”

Will Rogers Memorial Shrine of the Sun
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrific view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Well worth the short, but winding, drive up the hill from the Zoo.
Don't forget the camera and some water. The gentleman working that day was very informative.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    72
    19
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun to visit, beautiful, but unfair admission price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was a nice attraction for our second visit to Colorado Springs. It is a beautiful attraction, especially on the inside. Lots of history and interesting to learn about. The view is breathtaking of the town below. The drive up is a little nerve wracking and we suggest a better barrier between going off the side of the mountain than the really old, rickety fencing. Its best to look forward at the road on the way up and not over the side. We felt a little taken advantage of because you must pay full admission price to the Cheyenne Mountain Zoo to get to this attraction. I knew this and took advantage of the discount you can receive if you bring unwanted, used cell phones to turn in. Still the admission was $30 for two people for this attraction.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CKOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great stop after visiting the zoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

With your zoo admission you get to drive through the zoo which is the only road to the memorial. Just show your receipt and they will let you through. If you are not into a giant shrine then go for the view, its great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank evets_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chciago
Level Contributor
431 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“What a view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is on the same road that encompasses the Cheyenne Mt. Zoo. If you pay for the zoo, then the shrine is free. I had no intentions of going up to it as I am not an avid Will Rogers enthusiast. Foreign people may be not be interested in the back story, BUT go just for the view! It is magnificent and one of the best in the Rockies area. It totally overlooks the Colorado Springs area. It's not a big area and consists of lookouts at both the base of the tower and the top if you are willing to climb. The tower is encased, so that you aren't in the open air, but each level has a lookout. It goes up about 5 levels with history and photos along the way. The main focus of these is Will Rogers and the friendships he had with those that built this place. While I was there which was midday, no one else was visiting, but there were some workers maintaining the area. I was very impressed and I would say that this was an absolute must for visitors, regardless if interested in Will Rogers or not. Seems more like it would have been an memorial to him, but when you are looking out at the landscape, it really is spiritual, so shrine it is!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boystowtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Central IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The views are amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

After spending 1/2 day at the zoo we went up to the shrine. So glad we did as it is absolutely gorgeous. The song lyrics, "I can see for miles and miles" is so true of this place. The tower itself is pretty but quite a few steps for those with knee problems. Still well worth taking 45 minutes or so to drive up, look around and drive back down. Didn't care for the entrance and exit going through the zoo as scared of someone jotting out in front of me. Speed limit is 10 mph though for safety.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Riddler_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Will Rogers Memorial Shrine of the Sun also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Will Rogers Memorial Shrine of the Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing