We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT place to visit with teens!”

Olympic Training Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Colorado Springs Olympic Training Center is home to Olympic hopefuls in various sport disciplines. Take the guided walking tour and see the facilities in which athletes train as the aspire to be part of Team USA in the upcoming Olympic Games!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A GREAT place to visit with teens!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We are here every month with our daughter. Every time we come, we make a point to learn something about past and current Olympians! It is a wonderful learning experience for athelets, Americans, and espically for teens! It is such a positive and motivational environment. CERTAINLY worth seeing!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jingalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    614
    355
    125
    26
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“An Interesting Insight”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Very informative visit, and a fascinating insight into the training of Olympic and Paralympic athletes. Campus currently undergoing major renovation and not many facilities being used for training. Still worth a visit though!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertDrifters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammonton, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The video upon entering is inspiring. Brough tears to my eyes. Very cool to see the authentic Olympic memorabilia. We toured the facility and there were atheletes all around the grounds.

Very nice gift shop with official Olympic items.

Not to be missed. A must see if you're into sports.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ang1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Since there are only three training centers in the US, I would encourage a visit here if you're in Colorado Springs. Terrific look at the past and the future, and the athletes are super friendly. I got to see a few demonstrations (fencing, floor and some gymnastics equipment), along with an incredible trampoline exhibition.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“Great Free Attraction in Colorado Springs”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband travels to Colorado Springs several times a year for business and I am lucky to tag along with him every now and then. Since we have been to the area so many times we made a conscious effort to seek out things that we hadn't seen before. We ended up at the Olympic Training Center because a couple of other attractions were closed for the day....this was a very lucky thing! We had planned on just driving by and seeing where the training center was located but found the website stating that they offered free tours of the facility. We decided to stay and take the tour.

The usual order is to view the movie first and then take the walking tour of the facility. We ended up arriving just as the movie was about to end. Instead of having to wait for the next tour, they told us just to do the walking tour first and then catch the movie at the end. This saved lots of time of just waiting for the next tour. The tour was very interesting. We were able to go into the building that housed the gymnastics facility as well as the wrestling facility and weight room. Our guide was interesting and kept our interest by asking trivia questions and giving out olympic pins for correct answers. It got to be quite a competition to be the first person to answer correctly!

After the walking tour...which took about 45 minutes....we went back into the main building and watched the movie....the movie was amazing....great footage and very inspirational to see the athletes (both olympians and para-olympians) competing for their country. After the movie we made a quick stop in the gift shop.

This was one of my favorite things that we saw on this trip to Colorado Springs. If you love the Olympics...you really need to make a stop at the Olympic Training Center!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Melody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olympic Training Center also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Olympic Training Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing