We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Tour!”

Olympic Training Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Colorado Springs Olympic Training Center is home to Olympic hopefuls in various sport disciplines. Take the guided walking tour and see the facilities in which athletes train as the aspire to be part of Team USA in the upcoming Olympic Games!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Interesting Tour!”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I would have given this tour 3 stars, but my teenage son loved it so I raised it up to 4! He actually said it was his favorite stop in Colorado Springs. Free!! Complex is where various indoor summer Olympic athletes train. Tour starts with an interesting video in the main visitor center. Tour highlights include the indoor gyms, pool, and weight rooms athletes use for training. Our tour guide was nice. Interesting to see.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank wish2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    331
    121
    25
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful, free tour. Not to miss if visiting Colorado Springs.”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This tour was relatively short, interesting, in a beautiful location and, the best part, free. The campus is beautiful. Our tour guide was knowledgeable. The presentation kept my child interested. There is a nice shop if you need to bring back souvenirs.This tour was a highlight of our vacation week.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank jenn0042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent tour, but it depends on your tour guide.”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

If you ever watched a summer Olympics then you will enjoy this facility. While many of the sports and athletes housed here are not necessarily the glamorous sports stars like Michael Phelps and Shawn Johnson, they are the real deal. Your experience here really depends on who your tour guide is and how big the group is. I took this tour on two consecutive days with different kids of mine. The first day was with a very large group around lunch time and with a nice elderly lady who spoke so softly we couldn't tell if she saying anything interesting and hardly any athletes working out. And because we had a large group we didn't get to see of the facilities that were space limiting.

The next day we went with the first tour at 9:00 a.m.. We had a small group and took the tour with an aspiring fencing athlete who was generous with his time and story. He took us to several locations that we did not see the previous day and he gave us his own personal take on what it is like to try and be the best in the world and dedicate 6-8 years of your life on one singular goal, to make an Olympic team. We also saw numerous athletes working out and training including the reigning 55kg freestyle 2008 gold medalist Henry Cejudo, cool!

My recommendation is to get there early, and/or make sure the tour time you want to go on has an athlete giving the tour and not a nice elderly lady. And besides it is a FREE tour!!!!!!!!!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Texspike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

This tour was a great experience for our family, with two young sons. It started with a short film about US Olympics. Then we toured some of the facilities. For the most part of the tour we were behind glass or looking through a window. Unfortunately there weren't many athletes on the facility during our tour. Their presence would have made the tour even better. We had a great tour guide. He was very very knowledgeable and offered interesting information about the athletes and their training routines. I would have loved to tour the cafeteria (as seen on The Biggest Loser) and their living quarters, but both these area were off limits. There are some great area inside and outside of the facility to get some really good photos, so take advantage of that.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank ATXGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Iowa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Free Tour”
Reviewed June 29, 2011

My husband and I toured the Olympic Training facility. It's a pretty short tour and begins with a video about the olympic and paraolympic teams. You then walk around facilities and hear some details about the life of a prospective athlete and the life they live while on campus. It wasn't super exciting, but again really cool to see how Olympic athletes live and train. It's definitely worth a visit since it's free!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank rsolsem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olympic Training Center also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Olympic Training Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing