We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Cheyenne Mountain Zoo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cheyenne Mountain Zoo is America's ONLY mountain zoo. Large alpine habitats are home to over 950 different animals and approximately 180 species. All of your favorites are here - monkeys, hippos, tigers, elephants and bears (oh my!). Hand-feed their large reticulated giraffe herd, and experience animals up-close, like never before.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Riley, Kansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Wonderful family day! 5 Grandkids all loved it. Plan for all day as so many activities inside zoo take a lot of time if you do them all.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 740NancyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,492
    651
    131
    36
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The giraffes were the highlight”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

While we started with the giraffes and loved them, things went down from there. Many animals weren't even in their cages, and the tiny cages allotted to the primates seemed downright cruel. I would skip this one.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank coleen114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, MA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Never seen a zoo with a view like this!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Wasn't sure our 14yr old and 12 yr old would enjoy another zoo visit but we were visited the area and it looked nice from the brochures. We drove up and were immediately surprised by the layout.
Its located on the side of a mountain. My daughter (12) loves giraffes and to our surprise you can feed them!! It was amazing and I think we stood around the area for over 30mins and bought $20 worth of food. A new giraffe only 10days old was on display...so cute. You think you've seen one zoo you've seen them all....no this had big, beautiful inclosures, close viewing to all the animals and the view overlooking the area....BEAUTIFUL! If you are visiting the area.....make this a must see!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wookie418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslett
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice zoo”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a free morning and spent it at this zoo. I'm glad we did. They have nice exhibits, a fun station for feeding giraffes, and a spectacular view over the city. Unless you just want to go up a little higher, I wouldn't spend the extra money on the sky ride though. There wasn't much up there and you couldn't access the rest of the zoo from there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChickenWhisperer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“beeeeeuteeful”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is such a beautiful zoo and it is laid out very nicely and things are spread out. It's alot of walking but the grounds are worth it. LOVE the giraffs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheyenne Mountain Zoo also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Cheyenne Mountain Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing