We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun for all ages!”

Cheyenne Mountain Zoo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cheyenne Mountain Zoo is America's ONLY mountain zoo. Large alpine habitats are home to over 950 different animals and approximately 180 species. All of your favorites are here - monkeys, hippos, tigers, elephants and bears (oh my!). Hand-feed their large reticulated giraffe herd, and experience animals up-close, like never before.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun for all ages!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have been to the Cheyenne Mountain Zoo many times. It's always a great experience. Love feeding the giraffes, watching the otters, seeing all the wonderfully cared for animals. Also love the grounds and xeriscaping. Our granddaughter loves to go when she visits from Ohio.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,446
    640
    129
    35
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An unexpected treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We didn't expect to find such a terrific zoo in Colorado Springs! Our granddaughter loves to visit, and her parents bought a season pass and take her weekly. The animal enclosures -- particularly for the large animals -- are spacious and very well maintained. I'd like the hippos to have more room to swim, but that's just me. If you have kids and want to treat them to a fine zoo experience, Cheyenne Mountain Zoo is the place to go. If you're a flatlander, make use of the shuttle bus. It will help you get up the hill without altitude issues.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank NWILgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This zoo was surprisingly nice - it is in a rocky, natural setting on the side of the mountain. They have a ton (probably more like tons) of giraffes that you can feed and pet. You can get close to most of the animals - grizzly bear, mountain lions, chimps.
A really nice day!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank mary lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean and well kept”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is one of the most well kept zoos I've been to visit. It's on the side of Cheyenne Mtn which gives way to some amazing views while walking around. The animals also seemed to enjoy there enclosures because they were all very active. You will also get access to the Will Rodgers shrine, which sits higher on the mtn, with the price of admission. The shrine has some awesome views of Col Springs.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JDMoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This is worth it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Nice zoo and they're always improving it. Take the tram to the top and walk down. Trust me, you're at 7,000 feet,. This is no place for older people to try to prove themselves by walking up this steep hill side.

Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheyenne Mountain Zoo also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Cheyenne Mountain Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing