We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Giraffe Exhibit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheyenne Mountain Zoo

Cheyenne Mountain Zoo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cheyenne Mountain Zoo is America's ONLY mountain zoo. Large alpine habitats are home to over 950 different animals and approximately 180 species. All of your favorites are here - monkeys, hippos, tigers, elephants and bears (oh my!). Hand-feed their large reticulated giraffe herd, and experience animals up-close, like never before.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Central USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Giraffe Exhibit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was our first time visiting this zoo. The zoo is nestled in the mountains and is well designed to give you a close up view of the many animals. Going to the giraffe exhibit is worth the entire entrance fee! You can feed the giraffes and they lick the food right out of your hands. It would be a great place to take the kids! The elephant exhibit was being renovated.

I liked the otter exhibit. The staff at this zoo is very friendly and took the time to visit with us explaining the behaviors of the various animals.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TexasRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,379
    631
    125
    35
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

I think this zoo is incredible. Every year there has been a major improvement for the animals. We are amazed at the progress since our last visit 2 years ago. We are anxiously awaiting the new elephant habitat. Great job!! The staff are friendly and knowledgeable. A special shout out to the gentleman driving the tram last Saturday. He seems to know all there is to know about the entire zoo. We were very impressed. We are going back for the Electric Safari.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Zoo (a Must See!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Fantastic Zoo. The enclosures don't have that "caged" feel (with the exception of the monkey pavilion). If you come here – make sure to have enough money to feed the giraffes with. The zoo is built alongside the mountain – so if you have a hard time walking I’d advise going with someone who can wheel you around (some of the routes are very steep). Also – try and plan visiting each enclosure to time with when the staff ‘interacts’ with the animals. The Grizzly show was a blast.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Unwaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cheyenne Mountain Zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I went back to this zoo back in June 2012. Regular ticket prices are expensive to get in, but I have found that is a trend at zoos now. We had a coupon so we ended up only having to pay for one person which was nice. They give you tokens so once you are in the zoo, you can add your token to whichever animal (habitat) charity you would like. I thought that was a cool idea. The zoo itself was cool. It is built onthe side of a mountain so there was a lot of walking uphill. If you are going in the summer, bring water to drink! For like $2 you get a couple pieces of lettuce to feed to the giraffes. It was worth it to me since I got to pet a giraffe! They had a some animals out with handlers so you can touch them and ask questions (turtles, wallaby). Most of the enclosures are with a glass front so some of the animals are really easy to see. The lioness was right up front putting it's paws on the glass. Like every zoo some animals you have to search to find, which is a good thing since their enclosure is mimicking their habitat. I've been to numerous zoos across the country and this is one near the top of the list.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank 31200000000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This is an Awesome Zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

When we first started coming here ten years ago, this zoo had a 1940s vibe -- small cages, beige tile, sort of sad. But boy have they made huge strides in the last decade. They now have some really great natural enclosures that give the animals a much more normal life and the visitors a much better experience. CMZ has the world's largest captive giraffe herd. You can buy crackers and feed them, which is just an amazing experience. They also have a great mountain section with a moose who lives near a lake and bears with a fish pond to swim in. They have wolves and gorillas and lions and tigers. They have free hopping wallabies in one area and hippos in another. They also have a skyride, which is like a ski lift, but it takes you down too. There's not much to do when you're up at the top, but it gives you a great view of the city on the way down. I wish walking down was an option, it’s pretty up there. Sure, the zoo still has a few of those pokey cages, but they've really made progress. This is a place that’s really worth the admission price. Just a word of warning, this zoo is built on a mountain as the name implies, there’s a lot of up and down walking involved here (although the worst part has an elevator available). Be prepared to get a work out.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Geekamicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheyenne Mountain Zoo also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Cheyenne Mountain Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing