We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Quijote's

Quijote's
Ranked #184 of 1,423 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Quijote's is a small, new, quite unpretentious Mexican Restaurant on Union jBlvd. south of Platte in Colorado Springs. EXCELLENT FOOD & SERVICE
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I read a review on Quijote's in the local newspaper; otherwise, I might not have ever ventured in.
We went for the breakfast burritos. I had the 3-meat breakfast burrito for $2.75 and smothered with green chile(delicious) for an extra $1.50. It was a very generous size and served with sour cream, guac, and tomatoes. My husband had the special of the day the steak breakfast burrito smothered and it was excellent too. Besides being yummy-the price can't be beat.
We can't wait to go back and try the rellenos and more!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank broncofanjan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    10
    12
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
312 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Authentic and Killer Good Mexican - in Colorado Springs!”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

One of the dirty little secrets about Colorado is that, despite our close proximity to Mexico and New Mexico, it is really, really hard to find good Mexican food here. That problem is solved thanks to Quijote's - an unprepossessing little hole-in-the-wall spot that just happens to serve up killer good and authentic Mexican food at stupidly low prices. Like Branwyn_3x3 says, it is a funky place with dim lighting, beaten up vinyl booth seats that are dirty enough to stick to your pants, but amazingly authentic food, deliciously prepared, and served up all friendly by the team. Ugly bar but three great Mexican beers on tap. Litmus tests for me on Mexican cuisine include Chile Rellenos and Huevos Rancheros, and Quijote's are world class - the most authentic and delicious rellenos I've ever had in Colorado, and without a doubt the best huevos rancheros (with steak!) that I have ever had, anywhere. Amazing food, but not fine dining, this is a jeans and t-shirts kind of place, which makes the vibe just right for Colorado Springs.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holokauahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“That's 5 stars BUT”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

if you go -- and you REALLY should if you love Mexican food, know that this is hole-in-the-wall type of place. Your pants kind of stick to the old booth seats; the lighting is dim; the smell is a bit funky. BUT the food is awesome! And the service is friendly.

We had the chile rellenos and the huevos rancheros, and both dishes were very authentic. In fact, I'd have to say it was the best relleno I've had in Colorado.

Be aware, though, that they're not fooling around about the sauce. Medium hot REALLY is medium hot; I'm guessing the hot hot would bring proper salsa tears to you eyes.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Branwyn_3x3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, fantastic Sopapillas”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

A friend told us for good, authentic Mexican food, Quijotes was the place. They were right. No frills to the restaurant (which we like), simple menu, and good service. Burritos were very good but the sopapillas were the best we've ever tried (and we've tried many). They bring them out with whip cream drizzled with honey and chocolate syrup. They are to-die-for! Highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh Value”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This spot has fabulously fresh food. Everything from their guac to their churros is way above and beyond what would be expected for this little out-of-the-way place. As for the prices - I haven't seen the burrito price since the 70s!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quijote's also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Quijote's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing