We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent Downtown Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Downtown Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Rooms were small, but very nice! All amenities you would need. Restaurant had very reasonably priced and good breakfasts..only meal eaten there. Suggest self parking one block away...very reasonable if in and out once a day..otherwise $18 per night valet, plus tip of course, for each out.. Easy to get anywhere from this location!

Room Tip: Rooms with two doubles much bigger than one king..same price..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,217
    332
    68
    25
    12
See reviews for
421
624
70
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Forked River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for three nights and found the staff to be quite pleasant and helpful. The rooms and sitting areas were very clean. The only room we could get had one king bed in it and very little room for anything else. It was difficult to walk around there was no place to sit. The "desk" was a bar like structure attached to the wall at the foot of the bed. You could not sit there without the chair hitting the bed. The only thing that was spacious was the shower however, the soap and shampoo were in bottles that were mounted so high it made using them difficult. Although they were full, you had to pump quite a bit to get the product out. The sink area had enough room for a bar of soap and your tooth brush, not much else. The coffee area was so small that it could only hold the machine (which did not work properly) and the condiments. Wifi was intermittent. I didn't realize how depressing all this was until we checked out. Never again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bamberite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby P, General Manager at The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
We are so glad you choose The Mining Exchange for your stay. We are a boutique style property so all of our rooms are different from the next. There are several different room types as well. If you did not like the space of the room you were in, don’t let that scare you as there are over 12 different room types and sizes. Thank you for the kind words you said about the staff and I truly hope you stay with us again and let us help you find a room type that is to your liking. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We visited the hotel for a wedding weekend. The common areas and rooms were very clean and the staff members were very attentive to customer needs. This is a very nice hotel. We would recommend it to other travelers. There are many outdoor activities for all ages if time permits!

There is a restaurant attached to the hotel which did not meet the standards of the hotel. It was advertised as "an award winning restaurant." Unfortunately, the food was mediocre and the service was poor (long waits). We would recommend looking at other dining options.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JNB1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
220 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This property was the site of the wedding celebration of my lady's daughter. I really had no involvement in any of the planning so can't speak to that. But I was very pleasantly surprised by the very nice corner room we (the mother of the bride and I) were assigned. The appearance of the hotel was very good in all ways. And, in spite of what had been a poor impression of Wyndham (timeshare properties), this place opened up my eyes to a better thought. I was told the brunch was excellent.

There is valet parking. There is also a parking garage about a block away. Extremely reasonable on weekends.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with windows on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Very nice, nearly new hotel in downtown Colorado Springs. They have kept many of the architectural details of the original building which enhances it's appeal. You can walk to restaurants, wine bars etc. Our room, while small, was very functional and nicely laid out. The bed was comfortable but seemed shorter than normal. I am only 5'4" and my feet were close to the edge of the bed. I would inquire about this if you are tall.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariamalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Not only is the hotel really beautiful but the thing that made our stay perfect was the kindness and attentiveness shown by all the staff at the hotel, who bent over backwards to enhance our stay. I would absolutely stay here again if I were visiting Colorado Springs.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jempaul2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
4.1 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 106 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 909 reviews
10.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Springs
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Spri...
#1 of 106 in Colorado Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 12 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Antlers
The Antlers
#24 of 106 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
7.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#4 of 106 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
7.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn...
#8 of 106 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 8 S. Nevada Ave., Colorado Springs, CO 80903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing