We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother / son trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,392
    396
    80
    28
    14
See reviews for
479
726
77
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel. Rooms are small but tastefully done. The staff makes this hotel. They were very attentive, from the valets to the housekeepers. Made you feel very welcome and appreciated. Close to many resturants, bars, etc. in the downtown area .

Room Tip: If you like a bathtub request when you book. Most rooms have a shower only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holton, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I wanted a nice room downtown so we could walk around. When we checked in they upgraded us to a corner suite. The mattress on our king bed was the finest we have slept on...the bath and room were well appointed. Parking was not a problem (we did not use the valet). We had a great breakfast at their restuarant. It was an 8 hour drive here for us but I cant wait to make the trip again to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We loved it. The high ceilings and the decor made it seem so luxurious. The lobby was large and lovely. The staff was great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

This may be the best U.S. Hotel I have ever stayed in. Rooms are first rate with incredible bathrooms with oversized, two head showers. King beds are also first class. You must use valet for parking your car but the valet team are efficient and friendly. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KCABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

The Wyndham is in the old mining exchange building which has been beautifully repurposed into a hotel. Many of the original safe doors are still there. The rooms have exposed brick walls and large windows and nice sized bathrooms. We had one room that was 2 queens and a king junior suite. Both rooms were spacious and attractive. I particularly liked the bathrooms with large showers and separate w/c. The lighted make up mirror was especially handy since the lighting came from a recessed fixture in the ceiling (not good for applying makeup). The view from one of our rooms was of Pikes Peak and was stunning. Overall, the property was very clean and well kept.

The beds were really comfortable and the linens were above average. There is minimal lighting in the rooms and each could use another lamp, but they were very quiet and we slept well.

The staff was so very friendly and helpful, but they did seem to be short-handed when we were there. We had to wait until almost 4:30 for one room to be available, even though we had been there since 1. Calls to the bell desk and front desk rolled to voice mail more than once during our stay. However, everyone was so nice these would not deter me from going back.

This is a good location and convenient to Colorado College, hiking and Pikes Peak. The area surrounding the hotel is commercial and not very attractive, but you can walk to Tejon St where you will find many places to eat and some shopping. Don't miss the ice cream shop 2 doors down. Seriously, the best ice cream I've ever had.

Room Tip: We had a Jr King suite #324 with views of the mountains. It was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel recently on our family vacation to Colorado. It was awesome. Quiet, clean, very nice , awesome room, great restaurant, great service in hotel and restaurant. Always got anything we requested right away. I will stay here again !

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
0.2 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,293 reviews
4.1 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,102 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
831 reviews
5.6 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 105 in Colorado Springs
762 reviews
7.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#8 of 105 in Colorado Springs
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 8 S Nevada Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80903-1802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing