We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel, Memorable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel, Memorable Stay”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I recently stayed in 11 hotels over 11 days on a roadtrip with my son through the western US. Out of those 11 hotels, this is the one that I want to bring my wife back to experience. Because the hotel architects worked hard to adapt to the historic building the hotel is in, the hallway layouts are a bit confusing. But the room was fabulous, the lobby was fabulous, and the restaurant (Springs Orleans) was also fabulous. Although they offer valet parking, a tip is to self-park in the parking garage across the street (parking garage is located on the southeast corner of Nevada Ave and Colorado Ave). We were there on the weekend, and the parking cost $1 for overnight. We had dinner at the Springs Orleans restaurant. Wonderful food (the chef is outstanding), and the ambiance is interesting and upbeat. Casual attire is fine. Overall, this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aqualoaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,349
    384
    76
    27
    13
See reviews for
463
694
77
410
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is our second time at the hotel and we loved it the second time as much as we did the first! We came for USAFA graduation and had four addition rooms full of family and friends. The central location of the hotel and the comfortable lobby made a perfect gathering spot in the mornings for our outings and a nightcap in the evenings!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Daphne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Helen, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed at The Mining Exchange for our anniversary vacation. We were in a room on the 5th floor, west side and had a wonderful view of Pike's Peak and the surrounding mountains. They have done a wonderful job preserving the integrity of this historic buidling while at the same time providing all the modern amenities of a classy hotel. We had gorgeous exposed brick in our room (I understand it is in most rooms). The entire staff was very friendly and accomodating. There is an $18/day valet fee but we thought it was worth it rather than having to go the almost two blocks to the pay per hour parking garage otherwise.

Room Tip: 5th floor west side has great mountain views if you don't mind the afternoon sun. That said, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avery L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The junior suite was comfortable, large, and nicely appointed. It's around the corner from Tejon street, the main street with lots of restaurants and some shops. Parking was available at good rates a block south. I liked the place a lot and would gladly stay there again, but what is a critique without some criticisms? 1. You can't open the windows - a pet peeve of mine. 2. The young dude at the curb was overly eager to offer valet parking. I just wanted to unload my own bags and go park the car myself. He insisted that I leave my keys and then he moved my car - for his convenience, not mine. That was actually a bother. 3. The bathroom light above the sink was stylish, but not helpful for getting ready in the morning. That's really nitpicking. The shower was gorgeous. For me, 4 stars is a very good grade. This is a high quality place. Recommended. Oh, and they add some sort of fee to the bill. It's just a few bucks per night, but tell me about the fee when I make the reservation -- another pet peeve of mine. This could have been a 5-star review.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dos_companeros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
4.1 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#19 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#9 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
10.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Springs near the Air Force Academy
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Spri...
#2 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 8 S Nevada Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80903-1802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing