We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Lamar
1 review
“Great Find”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were happy to find this great hotel near the medical facilities we were utilizing. The hotel and restaurant were both great, and the personnel were outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,349
    384
    76
    27
    13
See reviews for
463
694
77
410
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
168 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Wonderfully renovated building and rooms, nice beds and showers, but we spent the night in a sauna!!!! We fussed with the thermostat on and off the afternoon and evening, called maintenance at 8:30pm and 2:44am!! Both times we were told it should be better in 30-45 minutes. Never got the temperature below 74. We should have insisted on being moved, but were hopeful they actually fixed the problem and exhausted in the middle of the night. Had to dry my hair this morning and two hairdryers over heated. I gave up and left with half wet hair. Upon check-out, the front desk said they heard of our problem and were sending someone to the room right now. HUH??? Really? Why are you telling me this after I check out?? Also, told they could not give us a credit towards anything but valet, yet we didn't valet! Very,very disappointed in lack of customer service. I have a reservation later this week at another Wyndham and am reconsidering it if this is how they handle maintenance problems. The hotel was not sold out, so that was not an issue.

Room Tip: We had no view, but we weren't expecting one. It seems like the even numbered rooms may have som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thehighprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry S, Owner at The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your time in writing this review. We have taken this review very seriously and are changing the thermostats so the guest has complete control over their brand new hvac system in each room. This will not be a problem in the future and we are so sorry that your experience was less than perfect. We truly appreciate your comments and hope that you will give us another chance in the future. Please contact our GM, Shelby Pywell Yarbrough, and allow us the opportunity to make this up to you. Mrs. Pywell Yarbrough is aware of this and if you ask for her, she will accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach
2 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Could not have been more impressed with the overall cleanliness, friendliness, beauty & value of this hotel. The room are immaculate without being overly sophisticated. The hotel includes the wi-fi in each room at no extra charge compared to other hotels where you end up either paying up to $10 a day for wi-fi i your room or have to go to a "common area." The cleaning staff is thorough & efficient. The doormen & front desk staff are always friendly & attentive. The bar & wait staff were extremely conscientious & friendly. Overall a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The rooms are large, very quiet, and luxurious compared to other hotels of the same caliber. However, the initial check-in process was horrible. We called the hotel to get a two bed-room suite. What we actually received was a room with 2 queen beds plus a separate sitting area in a different room. Additionally, the room we received had a wonderfulview of the alley dumpsters. We had specifically requested a room with a good view, .... the alley dumpster is not what we had in mind.
The problems were eventaully corrected. We can't figure out the front desk staff. They we either unprofessional, unhelpful, and engaging in misleading double talk; or they were extremely helpful and corrected our problems as well as possible. It appears that the staff at this hotel is either highly trained or it is there first day on the job with no prior hotel experience. The housekeeping staff was probably the best we have ever encountered. In many ways, they provided better service than the front desk staff. The housekeeping staff went out of their way to help us find an adequate room, while the untrinaed members of front desk did not seem to know the layout of the rooms or the views in each room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Consuelo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry S, Owner at The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We appreciate your feedback from your recent stay with us. We have researched this and look into all possible avenues to understand where the communication broke down. We are working diligently on making sure communication is perfected and that everyone has the best possible stay. Thank you for the nice things you did say and we hope to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herrin, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Exchange last year while attending a conference about two blocks away.
The beautifully renovated building was built in 1902 by Winfield Scott Stratton to house the Colorado Springs Mining Exchange, truly a bit of living history. The accommodations are exceptional, each room has a lovely view, even if you're facing the city, look up and you see mountains or history. A successful blend of old and new!

Exceptional restaurants and microbreweries are within walking distance but you wouldn't have to leave the hotel for excellent food and adult beverages. The main lobby is opulent yet comfortable. We wouldn't hesitate staying again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celloista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel was a treat from the moment that we walked in the door. The staff is helpful and friendly and the decor is beautiful! The guestrooms are perfect for a couples getaway or a business trip. The bed was ridiculously comfortable! We also went down to the bar while we were waiting for our dinner reservation at Springs Orleans and the bartenders/waitresses were great.... it felt like you were just sitting in someones living room with old friends. Springs Orleans was amazing in itself..... I highly recommend this hotel. I know that we will definately be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Proud282ArmyWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
4.1 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#19 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#9 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
10.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Springs near the Air Force Academy
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Spri...
#2 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 8 S Nevada Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80903-1802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing