We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Littleton
1 review
“Nice enough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were on a tour at The Broadmoor but it was sold out so I booked a night at the Mining Exchange based on reading TripAdvisor reviews. I was on the website to check rates & availability & ended up calling to confirm the rates & the agent asked if I had a Costco card which was a further reduction from the AAA rate for the King Bed room. When we checked in around 7p the manager was at the front desk & upgraded us to a Junior Suite rm 515...I think the only difference is that the room includes a couch by the bed? The room was well appointed w/a large screen TV, a very long business desk & a nice bathroom w/separate soaking tub & enclosed double shower. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room. We had a hard time figuring out how to turn on the bedside lamps & over the framed print. We also struggled w/the thermostat since the room was fairly hot & stuffy when we first entered.
The lobby was comfortable & airy & the bartender at the lobby bar was helpful. We didn't realize that we could have ordered food from the excellent Springs Orleans restaurant next door until after we finishing dining & we might have preferred to do that altho we would have missed their wonderful pianist.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jo Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,330
    377
    74
    26
    13
See reviews for
458
683
76
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Valet: so good-natured and not pushy. So refreshing and welcoming!
People at the door: informative and helpful regarding tourist attractions
Front desk manager: not so nice. Confirmed late check-out with the front desk that morning, but the afternoon shift wasn't informed and was condescending about it. Everyone else was very accommodating and welcoming though.
Room: spacious with detailed finishes (ie. lighting to highlight the one of a kind paintings, trim, his and her showerheads)
View: golden light coming over the mountains. So gorgeous!
TV: NO HBO. They have like every HBO variant EXCEPT normal HBO. Had to watch the season premier of "Girls" in Spanish because they had HBO Latino but not normal HBO. #firstworldproblems But still. How can they have turndown service and not basic HBO.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonitetonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel recently took over the top ranks in the area and for good reason. The historic building houses a small boutique hotel....not too small....with great access to some great bars and restaurants. The price cannot be beat! We actually had reservations at another high end hotel and had to modify our stay and found this gem...added an extra night and still saved more than $200. We stayed four nights total. Upon entry, the valet and bell staff is attentive and courteous paying attention to detail. Valet parking only is available at around $18 per day. You can park on the street after 6pm until 9am Monday through Saturday for free...they told us this...but we opted for valet. The reception desk was fantastic and easy. Greetings were very cordial. There is plenty of lobby seating and a small but well stocked bar in the lobby. I also noticed a conference center just off the entry....so there is room for some corporate meetings or weddings here as well.

Adjacent to the bar and lobby is (from what I hear) is a great restaurant called Spring Orleans. We only had room service for breakfast, but that was really well done and very quick to deliver. We had a suite that had a problem with the front door after night #1 and they immediately sent maintenance up to take a look.....it was determined that the door was going to take time to repair and they immediately moved us to an upgraded junior suite....no problem. The rooms (both) were well appointed with flat panel televisions, great beds, bathrooms and double head showers. Granite counters, desk and lighting. Tasteful artwork is hung throughout the rooms and hallways.......OK, now for the ""gratis" stuff.....each day, you get two free bottles of water in your room.......the business center is walk up and free and the in room internet is free. These things are important to most of us so I give two thumbs up for that. Although this property carries the Wyndham brand, I am told that it is not owned by them, rather locals own it and use Wyndham partnerships for internal systems and other operating needs......

Aldo pet friendly from what I read in the in-room books.....that is very nice as well.

I can't wait to return here.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade....they are very liberal in handing them out. Try the restaurant.....it has grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzo95023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAGLE
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

In Colorado Springs for our sons hockey tournament and a friend recommended the Mining Exchange. Beautifully restored historic building. Pleasing colors and exposed brick in both our rooms.Great lounge, nice crowd. Very quiet, slept well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank MARY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I was lucky enough to be surprised by my husband with a stay at the Mining Exchange for my birthday. The ammenities, rooms, and ambiance went far above and beyond anything I had imagined in downtown Colorado Springs. Everything was very high end and well thought out. Most importantly, the service we received was excellent. We were particularly impressed with John Emerson, who I believe is the Guest Services Manager. John had great knowledge of the hotel and services offered, but also was very well versed in dining and entertainment options available in Colorado Springs. He made our visit to the Mining Exchange feel very special and memorable. We can't wait to stay at this hotel again this summer to experience the patio!

Room Tip: City/Mountain view overlooking the patio was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ixiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I 100% + Recommend The Mining Exchange Hotel for any of your personal or business needs - Be it a romantic nights stay to hosting a your next big event or creating beautiful memories with a wedding reception - this is your place!

I do live in Colorado Springs and I have utilized The Mining Exchange for a black tie holiday event that hosted over 600 people to enjoying a mini "stay-cation" for myself, this is my #1 go to pick.

Recommended for your next stay or local stay-cation:
I have had the privileged of staying at the hotel for my own mini stay-cation and it was extremely delightful in every way! The front desk staff and staff in general are always smiling and very helpful - they truly enjoy working at the hotel and in shows - makes all the difference!
I have stayed in both the Jr. Suite room and the Master Suite. Both rooms were wonderful. Very clean, double shower-heads in their gorgeous stone-finish shower, large windows, LG flat screen TV, and the bed is probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. Another incredible feature is how quiet the rooms are - you cannot hear a thing and can sleep like an angel. Both types of rooms are awesome - the biggest difference between the master and Jr. suite is in the master suite had the bedroom and living room area separated and each room had their own lg flat screen TV - nice for longer stays or if you need more room plus the bathroom is a bit larger. The Jr. Suite did have a couch in the room as well as an extra roller bed.

A Must do During Your Stay:
Be it a vacation or a short in-town stay-cation to just relax and indulge, nothing beats the provided plush robes and slippers to lounge in while enjoying breakfast in-bed room service and a great movie on one of the HBO signature channels with a late check-out (when available) it adds the final touch to that must needed R&R and quiet, alone time with someone special!

I highly recommend it for upscale yet reasonable priced Colorado Springs Lodging in the heart of downtown. A great 'close to home' getaway or if you are here on business, vacation or passing through. High quality accommodations, excellent food - and Springs Orleans for lunch and dinner is divine and offers lots of Gluten Free options, and you will be welcomed by many smiles by the delightful and happy staff. Be sure to take the historic tour of the building too!

Recommended for Hosting your Next Event:
On November 16th 2012, The Mining Exchange hosted my black-tie Charity Event. This was by far one of the best event we have had! The event was held in the Grand Ballroom and over-flow in the lobby area and courtyard. The staff did an incredible job setting up and helping to organize the event, the catering was done by Springs Orleans, adjacent to the hotel and it was simple delicious! April was our direct contact in setting up the Event - she was extremely professional, mindful, easy to work with and paid attention to every detail. Johnny, who manages front of house team was just awesome in every way before, during, and after the event. The staff made it so easy to put this event together and stress-free the night of the event. They accommodated our every need and made the event possible!
Many attendees stayed at the hotel that night and couldn't say more. Perry and his entire staff at the hotel made our annual event one to remember and def set the bar high. Hands Down, I 100% would recommend The Mining Exchange, a Wyndham Grand Hotel for your next event - wedding, charity, party, etc - the location, professional staff, and entire ambiance, great pricing, stress-free, one stop shop for your next event!

All-in-all, from hosting a high class event or being a guest at the hotel, I 100% recommend The Mining Exchange Hotel and their very impressive Hotel Staff!

Room Tip: Recommended for your next stay or local stay-cation: I have had the privileged of staying at the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aidanlryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is quite simply, a great hotel. Everything from the valet, to the reception staff, the quality of the room, the bar and restaurant. All outstanding. The location is perfect for wandering through Colorado Springs (a lovely city even in the cold!). We had only booked for one night, passing through. But found the room's comfort and the staff just great and ended up staying a further night. The rate was great. Nothing here to naggle over!!!

Room Tip: As usual, go high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
4.1 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#18 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#9 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
7.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn...
#6 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
10.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Springs near the Air Force Academy
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Spri...
#1 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 8 S Nevada Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80903-1802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing