We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding/USAFA visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,330
    377
    74
    26
    13
See reviews for
458
683
76
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

They have done a nice job restoring the building. It was very clean and comfortable. The rooms are a little smallish but have everything you need. Parking is tricky in the area but staff was very helpful in making suggestions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanainDenver W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We got a great deal on one of the Executive rooms at this historic hotel and I absolutely loved it. The lobby and bar are warm and inviting and staff was friendly and helpful. The room itself was compact, but very comfortable and cozy. The highlight for us was the dual head shower! Set the romantic mood and felt great. Parking is a bit expensive at $18 a day with valet, but maybe thats the norm downtown. Another really cool feature of the hotel is the practical use of some of the old mining exchange vaults. On the fourth floor, the housekeeping closet door is an actual vault door. If you take the stairs, you can see even more.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AZVagabonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Chic, artsy, perfectly clean! Our room was fabulous with an incredible spa bathroom, ceiling fan, and comfortable bed. Wine service in the bar was slow and poorly-trained, but friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Had a great weekend in my hometown. This hotel is beautiful, but they do need better. They seemed to have an excuse everytime something went wrong such as not being ready for our check in until 5pm or not cleaning the rooms, or giving us a wrong room. Quote from Bonnie at the front desk "hmmm well we've never had this many problems with any other parties that we've had with yours" as if its our fault.... NEED NEW STAFF!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc R, Manager at The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
I found out about this incident before I read this accurate review about the staffing problem you experienced. My sincere apology as the owner. I have already made significant changes as a result of your experience. The property was designed and built as a 5 star property and we expect perfect or near perfect service. Once again, thank you for your input and I am very sorry that the experience was not a fabulous one in every respect, including proper staff attention. I will gladly make this up to you if you return to our lovely city and hotel.

Sincerely

Perry Sanders (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colorado Springs
4.1 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#18 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#9 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
7.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn...
#6 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
10.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Springs near the Air Force Academy
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Spri...
#1 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 8 S Nevada Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80903-1802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing