We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay at the staybridge” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Ranked #9 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great stay at the staybridge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

I need to travel to Colorado Springs a couple to times a year on business. I have tried several hotels on Commerce Center Drive and this is the nicest yet. This is an extended stay hotel and we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite. A little dated, but the unit had a small, pretty well equipped kitchen, two full bathrooms, big table for work or meals, and a couch and chair in the living room. The beds were very comfortable,with lots of pillows. The hotel is well away from I-25 and is was very quite, overlooking a small stream and a wooded area. Included in the room price was free internet, an evening reception with a meal (mid-week), nice breakfast buffet, and in room coffee and tea. There is an outdoor pool, a bbq, sport court, fitness center, and laundry facilities. Right across the street is Old Chicago, Hooters, Outback, and some other restaurant. Easy on and off the freeway. Front desk was very helpful, with 24 hr. service and even a small snack/toiletries shop. Very well priced for the amenities, we'll stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COgal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    113
    29
    6
    10
See reviews for
195
101
26
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

The hotel was fantastic. The front desk was overly helpful. She went out of her was for everything we asked. The hotel was clean in every place we looked. The view was great and very quiet despite a railroad behind the hotel. In the morning, the breakfast was ready before the advertised time and everything was fresh and the attendant was very friendly. Free Wi-Fi, coffee, great lobby and sitting area, but the location was a bit hard to find as it sits behind the Holiday Inn. Go Bears!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank northboone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

We had a confirmed printed reservation for a handicapped accessible room. When we arrived, the front desk said they didn't have any h/c rooms available and that our reservation didn't indicate we reserved a h/c room. So we were placed in a regular one bedroom suite. The suite was very nice, but my wheelchair bound spouse could not take a shower in an unmodified bathroom after a long hot day on the road. Not very pleasant!

The next day we moved to a h/c room; what a disappointment! This room looked like a herd of cattle had gone through it--upholstery still had indentations from the rear-ends of previous guests, stains on fabric and carpet, microwave awkwardly placed on the too-small kitchen counter, the bathroom had a small wall sink, instead of a nice vanity there was a rickety wire cart with drawers that were hard to open (great for h/c people, right?), the folding closet door had been left off it's track, leaving the wallpaper with ugly gouges (we fixed it ourselves), the trim around the doors and baseboards was black and filthy.

To top it all off, our 2nd or 3rd day the bathroom filled up with cigarette smoke. The new desk clerk didn't know what to do except to loan us a portable heater (in 90 degree weather), but she meant well. There were no other h/c rooms available, so we had to open the windows and lose sleep from breathing smoke.

Additionally, our bed fell off the plastic risers it was on. We informed the GM of all our problems the next morning, and she assured us they would be taken care of. When we got back to the room late that night, our room was in the same state we had left it--cigarette smoke smell, bed collapsed on the floor, dirty towels and trash cans piled up. When we complained, a different, more experienced desk clerk came to our room with fresh towels and the 3 of us worked to take the sheets and pillows off, get the king bed off the floor and back onto the risers and put the sheets and pillows back on. We still had to deal with the smoke. We shoved a wet cloth into the bathroom wall vent which seemed to help.

The laundry area is not conducive to the wheelchair-bound. You have to go through the fitness center to get to it, and a wheelchair cannot get around the fitness equipment. My spouse had to go outside with the laundry and come into the laundry from from the deck. Good thing it wasn't raining.

The wheelchair also did not have room to go around the breakfast buffet; you could only get half way around.

And we got the pleasure of paying hundreds of dollars for all this! They did credit us for one night after we complained and checked out early.

I do believe if we had been able to stay in a regular room and didn't have a wheelchair we could have had a better experience. If we had been smokers, even better.

Pluses about this property--the view of the mountains from the deck was great, the laundry room was free, the breakfast and dinner service was tasty and well executed. The common areas were attractive. The regular suite we stayed in the first night was nicely done. We were impressed by the snacks and water in the room upon arrival. The desk clerks were very nice and tried to help, even if they didn't have the tools or experience to solve our problems.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beach_retirees36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis Missouri
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

Location of this hotel is great. It is within walking distance of a few restaurants. This is not a smoke free hotel, so the floor we stayed on smelled like smoke. We stayed in a two bedroom suite which was very spacious. The tiles in the bathroom were broken and the shower would make a loud whining noise. The A/C did not work that well. The return vents on the A/C could use a good vacuuming. My biggest complaint was the lack of housekeeping on weekends. One had to 'request' light housekeeping for the weekend. Towels were exchanged. Garbage was never taken over the weekend. I expected more housekeeping for the price of the room. The breakfast buffet was adequate and the staff was friendly. The free laundry service was a plus but a dryer did not work. When we told the front desk about the dryer they acted like they did not care. When returning to Colorado Springs, I will look at other suites-type hotels.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJStravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

There are plenty of hotels to choose from but I love to stay here! This is not my first time staying here. My son is currently a cadet at the US Air Force Academy. Last year was his first year, I tried many other hotels, but this one is the one that I will keep coming to. It has great views of the mountains and a great trail behind the hotel, perfect for walking, running or even bike riding (there is a bike store about 1 mile south of the hotel). My family and I always enjoy the breakfast. You don't have to go far for dinner either....great restaurants within walking distance. The staff is courteous and the outdoor pool is so nice during the summer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missladybug2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwood, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

Pleasantly surprised with the Staybridge. Nice one bedroom suite with kitchen. Multiple desks available for setting up the laptop and spreading out. Free Wi-Fi worked fine, though it was a bit week at times. Nice gift bag with all kinds of snacks and a bottle of water upon arrival. Room was clean and quiet. Nice view of the Rockies out the back of the hotel. Breakfast buffet was good and it was even open earlier than advertised which was nice as we had to head off to work before 0630. Free laundry would be great for longer stays. The hotel had a nice basketball court, covered pavilion, and pool out back. It looked like they had BBQs that you could use. They had evening dinner three nights a week. Did not partake, but I checked it out one of the nights as I was waiting to head out for dinner and it looked good. Great way to save a few bucks. Several restaurants within walking distance. Right off of the highway so it was easy to get to anywhere. Garden of the Gods was just a few miles away. My only issue would be the AC, it seemed to be on a timer. I would set the temp and the room would be nice and cool. Then 2 hours later I would wake up and the room was getting warm - I have had this problem at many different hotels.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy_H_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

The staff here is extremely friendly and helpful. However we had to make several requests for things that eventually made me feel like I was being a bother and I felt bad. The first room we were given was right by the elevator and the frequent "banging and whirling" noise from the gear room would not have been tolorable all night. There were also a lot of major stains on the carpets and the rooms are old and outdated in comparison to the new staybridge suites which have a few more nicer conveniences in the rooms. The desk quickly and graciously changed our room to another but even there we were disappointed. The lock on our room door was broken and several times we had to mess with it just to get the door closed. The air conditioner thermostat in our room was not working right and would only cool our room to @ 75 degrees. The countertops were the old style formica-really cheap. Apparently someone had used kitchen countertop as a cutting board and had made a hole and several nasty gouges in the countertop. The furniture was also very worn (in comparison to some of the other Staybridge suites we've stayed in) and had a rip in the upholstery in one of the chairs. When we got up in the morning to take a shower,we did not have any water. Apparently it was a city problem and they eventually got the problem fixed and the water restored but it took a while. I will say however the inside of the hotel itself is pretty typical but you can tell the wear and tear of this hotel when you go to open "stuck" external doors and things like that. Also forgot, the view of Pikes Peak is awesome if you have a room on the west side of the building and this hotel seems to be in a good and fairly quiet area-also easy access to freeway and other eating establishments. Bottom line, if you're just needing a clean place to stay overnight (that doesn't smell like old cigarette smoke), and a friendly staff (which is really nice after you've travelled a long distance and are tired), this is the place for you or your family. If you're looking for detail and to be pampered with all the little extras that just make it nice (for instance, marble countertops throughout, freshscent room smell, etc..) try the Staybridge in Albuquerque if you're going that way. You'll see a huge difference in these two hotels.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roadrunner029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peak Vista Inn...
#6 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
4.8 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Springs near the Air Force Academy
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Spri...
#2 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
1.5 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#18 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs

Property: Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Address: 7130 Commerce Center Dr, Colorado Springs, CO 80919-2634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
#5 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs North is an all-suite hotel designed to let travelers feel more comfortable than ever. Each suite is designed for maximum flexibility and adaptability to meet individual needs. The studio, one-bedroom and two bedroom/two bathroom suites feature fully-equipped kitchens complete with pots, pans and place settings. Separate living and work areas, spacious living area offering comfortable furniture, 32" TV with DirecTV. Work area is well lit with an expansive desk and ergonomically designed seating, available free high speed internet access, two phone lines with a direct dial phone number and personalized voicemail, ample closet space and storage areas, library with computer terminals, complimentary guest laundry and fitness center, outdoor pool, whirlpool and sport court. The hotel offers free Breakfast Buffet and free socials featuring light entrees on Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5:30pm-7:30pm. Located in the Northwestern section of Colorado Springs near the Air Force Academy with numerous dining options within walking distance. The hotel is located near several wonderful attractions and businesses from Garden of the Gods, Air Force Academy Chapel, Royal Gorge, Pikes Peak, Seven Falls, Flying W Ranch, Lockheed Martin, Oracle, Hewlett Packard, Intel, Focus On The Family, Ford Motor Credit, Federal Express, Agilent,USAA, Barclays US, Quantum Corporation and Boeing. The hotel is just minutes from Chapel Hills Mall and downtown Colorado Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Air Force Academy Hotel Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing