We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Both The Good And Bad.....Maybe Some Ugly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #20 of 103 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel has some real pros going for it, but there are a few cons to go along as well.

Pros:

The location is terrific! You're in a great area downtown. There are plenty of cafes, restaurants and bars to choose from (Taste of Jerusalem is very good). We came for the Pikes Peak Hillclimb and it was the ideal location when traveling to and from. Not far from interstate access. There are quite a few activities within walking distance. There's plenty of shopping centers within a short drive. Most of the ones we hit were south of the hotel. And Garden of the Gods is less than 10 minutes away.

The hotel is very palatial and clean. When you enter, you sense the oppulence, with an almost 'royal' feeling. Everything appears clean, tidy and welcoming and I don't remember seeing any areas of the hotel looking dirty (including the rooms). Most important are the beds, and these did not disappoint. I slept well every night of our stay! There were a wide variety of pillows to choose from too.

The pool is indoor, looking out towards Cheyanne Mountain and Pikes Peak. Couldn't ask for a better view. There is also a hot tub and an outdoor patio to enjoy. They have a nice exercise room as well, and my wife felt right at home. Overall it was quiet but my buddy stayed on a higher floor and he had some noisy neighbors. That's a crap shoot wherever you go.

Cons:

Parking has got to be #1 here. There is self parking and valet, but you're paying either way. The self park garage was $17/day I believe but we never used it. There is quite a bit of street parking around the hotel but they're metered. Hours of operation are 9-6 Monday thru Friday. There are Saturday hours as well, though I don't recall what they were. Max time out front is 3 hours, and you're supposed to get 20 min for a quarter but it only gave us 15. A good tip that almost nobody knows about are the meters in back of the hotel. Check an 'L' shaped street called Antlers Place. The meters are 4 hour max. We were gone throughout the day and by the time we returned, we only had to feed the meter an hour or two, so it didn't make sense to park in the garage. If you don't leave the hotel, the garage may be a better option. On Antlers, the garage entrance is there and you can walk through to the hotel elevator. Just unload out front and pull behind after. In case you read another review mentioning free parking on Sahwatch St, don't bother. I checked. Same meters there. That street has a lot of break ins during the night so save yourself the headache.

Regarding the staff, they are obviously trained to sell you on the parking deck. Beyond that, they were fine.

This building is old, so expect some rough spots. Our air conditioner in the room was to adequately sized and it simply did not get cool. It remained a comfortable 75 degrees but it wouldn't get any cooler, despite the thermostat going to 60.

The elevator. Silly, I know. But I must've taken 4 rides on these things thought our stay. Entering at the lobby, I pressed 'down' to go to the garage and, instead, went to the very top floor where nobody was waiting. I hit another 5 floors before again returning to the lobby. A minor inconvenience at the most but it makes you wonder if some bored attendant is sitting in a room somewhere, playing some demented game. My wife thought I was nuts, but it just kept happening.

Overall, I would stay here again. We enjoyed our time and you're going to spend money wherever you go on vacation.

Finally, consider this your reward for reading the whole review. Go on Hotwire to reserve your hotel. I know it's a bit of a risk, but if you take a little time examining the "Location" and "Amenities" tabs on Hotwire, you can narrow it down. Plus, there are very few hotels in this area. We paid $54/night while others paid upwards of $160. This hotel has a LOT of rooms, so chances are pretty good you'll land it.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Food4Yoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntlersHilton, General Manager at The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for providing us such detailed feedback on your stay! We’re pleased to hear that our convenient location and breathtaking views of the mountains made your trip exceptional. Our housekeeping staff works hard to keep the Antlers Hilton Colorado Springs pristine and it’s great to know you found our hotel to be this way. We will look into the issues you addressed with the air conditioning and elevator. It would be lovely to have your family as guests again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,128 - 1,134 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

Antlers Hilton is located close to restaurants, which makes it very convenient for grabbing a bite to eat after a long day. It is an older hotel and the rooms are good sized. There is a large workout room and a swimming pool, but it was too crowded for my taste (it was a busy week). The front desk was pleasant upon check-in and check-out.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntlersHilton, General Manager at The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

One of our goals at the Antlers Hilton Colorado Springs is to provide guests with everything they need. We’re glad that you found our location and amenities convenient and wish you could have really taken advantage of them all! Hopefully you’ll be able to return at a time that will better allow you to do so. It would be our pleasure to serve you as a guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

It was our 38th wedding anniversary and my husband wanted to surprise me by having his secretary book the same room we stayed in 38 years ago.

She booked it through Expedia but was prompted to call the hotel directly to request the particular floor and room type. After speaking to the hotel, she was told we'd have the 13th floor but the room wouldn't be the same. That was understood and we were fine with that. In fact, the secretary received confirmation in writing but it didn't seem to matter when read.

When we arrived, we were kindly greeted and given keys to the "2nd" floor and not the 13th. She said there wasn't "anything" else available and that rooms/floors couldn't be guaranteed. She explained away everything promised! After listening, sadly we decided to except. When we got to the room the entrance smelled like urine. We opened the door to a dark corner room which didn't fit the Hilton standard we were accustomed to.

We went back to the front desk to address our current complaints, with the male associate ( I believe he was the supervisor). The original complaint issues at check in were also re-stated. (My husband had also arranged and paid for a bottle of wine to be waiting in the room and that didn't happen either. Excuses were made about that also).

After somewhat intense emotions, on both sides, the associate changed our room to the "7th" floor and said the wine would be delivered within 1/2 hour. By this time, we were both so upset that our nostalgic plans were ruined. This was a nightmare from Hell.

While in the 7th floor room, we tried to check the difference in rate, had it been booked through the hotel, but the internet wouldn't work, even after all information entered was excepted.
We were so upset we couldn't even stay the night, so we departed the hotel and came home. We paid over $200.00 plus 18.00 for overnight parking to stay in our "own bed" at home that night.

I will never go back to the Antler's Hilton in Colorado Springs. They could have rectified this situation in the beginning but chose not to, for whatever reason. Such a shame!!

What they didn't know is that I am a travel specialist and book travel for a living. I will never book another person or group at this hotel again if this isn't rectified properly!
Note: If you want anything specific with your booking, please take a moment and record names/times and have everything confirmed through the hotel and re-confirmed again before arriving.
This didn't have to end this way.

Room Tip: Anything you need make sure you confirm and re-confirm before arriving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank njp12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntlersHilton, General Manager at The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Once again, we offer our deepest apologies for the experience you had. Our goal is to provide our guests the highest level of service, and what happened this day was definitely out of character for us. We thank you for giving us the opportunity to make things right and we look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future. It is our hope and mission to ensure that our hotel still has the same magic it had for you 38 years ago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is classy high-rise older hotel with a beautiful woodwork and marble in the public areas and restaurants. It is comfortable and well maintained. Cost is comparable and competitive with other fine hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntlersHilton, General Manager at The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

We really appreciate your compliments on some of the design features in our hotel. One of our missions is to provide a setting for guests that’s luxurious, comfortable, and influenced by all the beautiful and natural scenery Colorado Springs has to provide. Your comments definitely confirm that we’ve accomplished that mission and we hope that you’ll visit the Antlers Hilton Colorado Springs again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Jill, Jenna and Laura were so helpful at the front desk. Every employee, without exception, wished us a good day; from front desk to house keeping to a maintenance man we met in an elevator.
Every aspect exceeded out expectations.
A wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FartherIsBetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntlersHilton, General Manager at The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for sharing such a wonderful experience at the Hilton Antlers Colorado Springs Hotel with us! It’s always great to hear from our guests that the high-level of customer service we aim to provide is definitely being provided. We’re thrilled that we exceeded your expectations and we’ll be sure to share your kind words with our staff. We would love for you to return to our hotel again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Spent one night there for a wedding and it was great. We were able to check in at 1:00, were upgraded to a mountain view corner room, given complimentary breakfast vouchers--all due to being in the Hilton Honors program. This is a beautiful building with great restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank 648allanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntlersHilton, General Manager at The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

It is wonderful that you were able to enjoy an early check in as well as the views from your accommodations. Your loyalty to the Hilton Brand is appreciated and we hope you have the chance to visit the Antlers Hilton Colorado Springs again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Antlers Hilton in Colorado Springs and it was by far one of the best experiences I've had. I spend a lot of time traveling, both for business and leisure, with stays including 4 and 5 diamond properties coast to coast. This is the first time I've wanted to write a review! At Antlers I felt like I was being welcomed home after a long journey. Had I been able to stay longer, I definitely would have. I stayed in one of the hotel's Mountain View rooms with breathtaking views of Pike's Peak. I also spent a good chunk of time during my stay at Judge Baldwin's, the hotel's restaurant and bar. I highly recommend their delicious pizzas and any of their mouth-watering appetizers! Cannot say enough good things about the hotel and its staff! Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: Rooms on both sides of the hotel offer great views; either of Colorado Springs Downtown or Pike'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntlersHilton, General Manager at The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

It is truly a pleasure to read comments like yours. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to the Antlers Hilton Colorado Springs and thank you for sharing your experiences. I am happy you were able to enjoy so much while here and thank you for your feedback regarding your dining experience in Judge Baldwin's. We hope you have the chance to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 103 in Colorado Springs
1,977 reviews
3.9 mi away
Garden of the Gods Collection
Garden of the Gods Collection
#3 of 103 in Colorado Springs
1,157 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 103 in Colorado Springs
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorad...
#18 of 103 in Colorado Springs
209 reviews
5.6 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 103 in Colorado Springs
808 reviews
5.5 mi away
Colorado Springs Marriott
Colorado Springs Marriott
#37 of 103 in Colorado Springs
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel

Address: 4 S Cascade Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80903-1653 (Formerly Antlers Hilton Colorado Springs)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#29 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range: $114 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Antlers, A Wyndham Hotel of Colorado Springs is located in the middle of trendy downtown Colorado Springs. The property features 245 guest rooms and 24 suites, all beautifully decorated and offering elegant touches and thoughtful amenities. Enjoy a real Colorado Springs dining experience with two on-site restaurants and bar lead by our award-winning executive chef. Room service is always ready and waiting any time you want to stay in and dine in private. The indoor heated pool feature panoramic views of the Rocky Mountains. You'll love working out in our fully equipped fitness center including a squat rack and state of the art equipment. Start planning your trip or special event today at the Antlers, A Wyndham Hotel. The 27,500 square feet of flexible meeting space make it the perfect Colorado Springs hotel to host your next event. No matter what the service the Antlers, A Wyndham Hotel strives to go above and beyond to ensure your stay or event is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antlers Hilton Colorado Springs Hotel Colorado Springs
Hilton Hotel Colorado Springs
Hilton Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing