We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Colorado Springs
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have never been more embarrassed for a hotel chain like this worst hotel i have stayed in guest service was absent and guest importance is at a minimum. you need to retrain all staff even management

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atg4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

687 - 693 of 904 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

Make sure you ask for Mountain View (best few from the center rooms) on Floors 3 or 4! I believe the four or five star ratings are mostly from folks that had rooms with a view of the Colorado mountains which also brought more light into otherwise darker rooms.

Our first night we were in room 106. First off, it smelled terrible. Then our view was the front of the hotel parking lot with people walking right by our window. I wanted to leave our window open for fresh air that night but could not - because on the first floor, not safe. We asked to move, but they were full.

I will say the desk staff were wonderful and very friendly. It is a busy hotel (due to a reasonable price for what you get I believe) and i always saw them helping folks. A shout out to Jenn for her gracious response to our request to move rooms. We approached Jenn the next morning about moving as soon as a "mountain view" room became available. She must hear that a lot - so I thank her. The first floor rooms really have nothing to offer in the way of a view of anything but the parking lot. But all the rooms are a nice size. They all have living areas with a large sofa. The building is older so you get more square footage and they obviously had a re-do in the late 90's? Everything is brown/gold/tan...dark or light and solid as a rock. No cute plastic doors and walls here. Large heavy (close with a bang) hall and bathroom doors painted in a very dark brown. Also, we had no time to watch TV...but there are very nice large 55" (?) TV's in the room. If they'll paint lighter and put in new hall carpeting...it would upgrade again nicely.

They have a decent (simply not large enough for how busy it gets) lobby area and the specialty coffee area is a nice touch. They have a nice size slightly better than just "continental breakfast" - but my husband and I are not fond of Carbohydrate overload. They also have one egg offering every morning - and we had one of those. One morning it was an egg and sausage on muffin, another morning it was an egg w/cheese and a couple spinach leaves with two mushroom pieces on an imitation small croissant (there is nothing like a real, buttery croissant! ). They had waffles. It was descent for a "free" hotel breakfast.

We both enjoyed their coffee. It was the first hotel in a long time where my husband and I are able to thank a hotel for having "good" coffee. It was full-bodied and flavorful to us...not watered down beyond enjoyment. We came prepared to make our own french-press coffee in our room - but instead of taking the time, ran down to the lobby each morning for a good cup of coffee.

At 11 am on the afternoon of day two (we were in town for 5 day conference) Jenn called and offered us room #205. We explained that we had a meeting at 5pm so she really was trying to get us moved before we had to leave the hotel. Room #205 was much better - but I asked if we could hold out for "center" and up another floor or two (the hotel has 4 floors). She was fine with it and at 3:00 pm called us again with Room # 309. We were very happy with that room. It was bright, we could open the window for the morning breeze. It was hot a few days and I warn you, they still have the old air conditioners - big and loud, but it worked just fine and did not bother us. We turned it off at night and the "fan" on the unit was enough for the night.

The room has a kitchenette/sink and baby fridge - a nice touch when you stay so long. We shopped at Whole Foods and stored it. There was no microwave, but they brought us one upon request. They have a decent outdoor pool area. We sat outside one hot afternoon on lounge chairs. They also have a couple tables with umbrellas.

Once we moved rooms - overall a great stay!

Room Tip: For $10 more per night, it is worth it to request "Mountain View" room numbers from # 309...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmchaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We absolutely loveeeeeeeddd this hotel out of all of them during our week vacation.

First off, the location was great. Easy driving access to Garden of the Gods, Cave of the Winds, and Manitou Springs & Incline

Check in was pleasant and they showed me around. They have a 24 hr coffee bar in the lobby with a wide variety of hot/cold food and snacks available. & BEER!!! Breakfast was included and was slightly nicer than your typical continental breakfast as they had some hot food options available

The rooms were great. They are large with a divider that makes it more like a suite. 2 Flat Screen TV's included with extra plug-ins for like Roku boxes or APPLE TV. Beds are really really comfy. Paying extra for the mountain view is worth it. The couch in the living area was very comfy. There was also a wet bar and fridge.

Bathroom was super clean and very nice area to do hair or what not. The pool was also not bad the kids really liked that, workout room was kept up also!!

Overall if you are looking for a nice stay, don't hesitate staying here. So easy to get here and HUGE rooms & superb free breakfast!!.

Room Tip: Watch for the deer back by the pool! :) We seen several of them lurking around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farm_her78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights while visiting Colorado Springs and had a very enjoyable time. The hotel is convienently located right off I-25 and very near the Garden of the Gods park. The hotel is located in the midst of a cluster of restaurants and gas stations off the freeway so the correct driveway was not obviously apparent (better signage needed) but there are plenty of dining options within walking distance. The lobby and breakfast area/lounge are very modern and bright and the staff was extra attentive. The morning breakfast had a wide variety of options including several hot food items which I appreciated though the room is smallish and gets crowded. The breakfast lounge also had a "bar" area serving drinks after hours. The hotel room itself was a nice suite with a work area station and "kitchenette" though there was no microwave, refrigerator only and a large sitting area. The BIG tv was on a swivel between the two parts of the room so you could watch from the sitting area or while in bed. The beds were fine but full size (double queens would have been preferred). Great views from the backside of the hotel of Pike's Peak (avoid rooms facing the freeway as I-25 is very busy and noisy).

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing AWAY from the Freeway (I-25) very noisy and bad view on the front side. The re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJDC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We like staying at Hyatts. They are all the same and no surprises. Clean room with the cozy corner that can accommodate our family of 5 comfortably. Very nice employees and helpful. The breakfast is included and has a big variety and even a couple warm breakfast sandwich choices. Next to the highway but didn't notice any outside noise as we were in the back. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelsOfACountryGir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nice clean hotel with friendly staff. My daughters enjoyed the pool. The rooms were comfortable although I wish they had queen size beds. We also liked the location to all of the activities in the area.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank TeleMiketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hyatt Place is a nice hotel. We live in a rural area so the road noise from the interstate was rather annoying. The room was nice but didn't have a microwave. The breakfast was good each morning. The beds were comfortable and everything was clean. The Black-eyed Pea restrauant was just across the parking lot. We ordered take out since our toddlers don't always do to good in a restrauant. The food was good and reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayburner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
1.5 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 104 in Colorado Springs
803 reviews
3 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,571 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 104 in Colorado Springs
1,152 reviews
2.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#10 of 104 in Colorado Springs
563 reviews
1.3 mi away
Colorado Springs Marriott
Colorado Springs Marriott
#35 of 104 in Colorado Springs
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Colorado Springs

Address: 503 Garden of the Gods Rd, Colorado Springs, CO 80907-3501 (Formerly AmeriSuites Colorado Springs)
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
#14 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
#29 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range: $94 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Colorado Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only four miles from downtown Colorado Springs and just 10 miles from Pikes Peak, the Hyatt Place Colorado Springs/Garden of the Gods hotel is centrally located to popular area attractions including Manitou Springs, Cheyenne Mountain Zoo and the U.S. Olympic Training Center. Additional Colorado Springs attractions include World Arena, Cave of the Winds and five area public golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Colorado Springs Hotel Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Hyatt Place
Hyatt Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing