We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Homewood Experience - No Problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs North
Ranked #13 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
167 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Standard Homewood Experience - No Problems”
Reviewed May 13, 2008

I'm pretty sensitive to bad mattresses, and my bed was quite comfy at this property. There may be two types of mattresses at this hotel. This is a regular, no surprises, Homewood in a decent location. I still think the ceilings are much too high in the Homewood Suites, but I still stay there.

  • Liked — Good rooms, convenient location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DavidLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    151
    51
    22
    12
See reviews for
205
97
26
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2008

My wife and I were in town visiting a relative at the Air Force Academy when we stayed at the Homewood Suites. The location was excellent. Very central to the academy, restaurants, shopping, and outdoor activities. Now, as I write this review it's been a few months since our stay, but I remember the staff and facility were great. No complaints there. We've stayed at other Homewood Suites and the room was exactly as we expected--clean, cozy, and well maintained. The breakfast buffet was not the best I've had, but certainly acceptable and no less than you'd expect for a hotel in this price range.

What remains crystal clear in my mind however, is the incredibly uncomfortable bed. Wow. This had to be the most uncomfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. I'm very easy going so I made the best of it and I didn't complain since everything else was fine with our stay and we were in good spirits overall. But man, that bed was awful! I woke up sore every morning. A previous reviewer mentioned that you can literally feel the coils digging into your side. That is no exaggeration!

In retrospect, I wish I'd said something to hotel management in hopes that they might address the issue for future guests. Perhaps its an isolated problem with the room we stayed in (sorry, I can't remember the room number), but unless the previous reviewer stayed in the exact same room I did, I doubt it's just one bed.

All in all, I can't knock the hotel too much because we had a nice stay, and the location, service, and condition of the hotel make it worthy of consideration. I would maybe stay there again, but I would definitely ask for extra blankets or padding for the bed if it became a problem. My stay was only 3 nights though, which helped make the situation somewhat tolerable. An extended stay might be ill-advised if comfortable sleep is something that you enjoy.

  • Liked — Location, service, overall condition
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable bed
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iz4600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2007

Homewood Suites in Colorado Springs is a great place to stay. It is well located, good facilities, great breakfast AND dinner included in the price. A good mini-mart on site to by anything you need, spacious rooms, etc. etc. etc.
I always look forward to Homewood suites when I come to CS. And it has never disappointed. I highly recommend it.
My one gripe... why not give free wireless internet in the room, rather than the plug-in option?
With the comfortable sofa and recliner in the room, it's a bummer to have to sit at the table with my laptop plugged in to their network to check emails. I would think wireless would be LESS expensive for the hotel, and would be a great convenience to the guests!

  • Liked — almost everything
  • Disliked — need to plug in for free internet.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RbrtH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2007

Our family stayed here for a week. It's a nice, clean hotel. It's in the Briargate suburb, which is very safe and new. My kids liked having the sitting area to play games and watch TV. The hotel is very well built, and has excellent insulation. I never heard any other guests while in our room, even though they were booked up. They have a hot breakfast. You don't get to choose, the chef cooks eggs and another item daily, and it's served buffet style. I think the Hilton Garden Inn (which is right in front of this hotel) actually offers a much nicer cooked-to-order breakfast. The lobby area is really nice in this hotel, and they have a free business center, which was very convenient. We would stay here again. They have a small outdoor pool, which was clean, and had lots of towels. There was no Jacuzzi.

  • Liked — The clean rooms and location.
  • Disliked — I didn't really care for the taste of the buffet portion of the breakfast.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank backbayusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

Wonderful, clean, quiet, spacious. Had a terrific breakfast --a light dinner also is served that was not bad either. We had booked a room at another "Suite" type of hotel on the South end of town that was right off the 25. It was loud, not just from traffic noise, but thin walls allowed the plumbing, etc to be heard, and the AC was loud. Breakfast was mediocre at best. The Homewood suites is right across from a small mall with eating options such as California Pizza Kitchen, Starbucks and several others. It's a few minutes away from many more restaurants, a Whole Foods, theaters, and another mall. Plus, this property was less expensive than the first one we stayed in! An infinitely better value.

  • Liked — Quiet, location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything...
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cyclingduoRenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2007

We stayed here for 5 nights while we were house hunting in the Northern/Northwestern Colorado Springs area. It is in a superb location, right across from the Shops at Briargate which is a nice upscale outdoor shopping mall with lots of little restaurants. My husband and father actually hung out there one day for about an hour playing lawn chess in the middle of a beautiful courtyard. Homewood Suites is also all of 3 minutes from the gates of the Air Force Academy. It sits up on a little bit of a hill, so we could actually see 3 different firework displays from the parking lot on July 4th.
The hotel itself is very nice. The staff was excellent and very friendly. Nicole and Stephanie stick out the most as being very helpful. The free breakfasts were great. Nothing amazing, it is just buffet and some cereal, but what do you expect for free right? There was never a clean up issue. There were always at least one or two people keeping the food stocked and cleaning up tables. They must have fixed that issue they were having the year before.
They also have a dinner hour reception with drinks and appetizers. We found that on a few nights this was sufficient enough to fill us up and we skipped dinner all together. They also serve beer and wine. Very nice and between breakfast and dinners it definitely saved some $$$.
We never used the pool area, so I can’t speak on that. We did see several families coming from the pool and they all seemed pretty happy.
The rooms are ok. I would describe them as small. However, with what space you do have it was definitely used efficiently. They are all one bedroom suites, but it kind of feels like they took a standard hotel room and put a wall in the middle of it to call it a one bedroom suite. We wanted a suite because we were traveling with our infant son and wanted him to sleep in a different room since he makes lots of little noises in his sleep and that keeps us up often. We actually had to move furniture around to come up with a space barely wide enough to put a little pack-n-play up for him to sleep in. I can’t imagine these rooms to be bigger than 400 sq. ft. That seems large, but when you put in to perspective that these are supposed to be one bedroom suites and contain a bedroom, bathroom, kitchenette, and living room … well your talking about some cramped quarters. This time we left our other two daughters at home to stay with my parents, so I can’t even imagine if we had all 3 of our kids with us – a total nightmare in such a small space. I say this because we travel often with the family and we always staying in one bedroom suites with the girls sleeping on a hideabed in the living room. Generally we stay at a La Quinta or Embassy Suites and their rooms have always been much larger. This is the first time we’ve stayed at a Homewood Suites, so it was a new experience for us. All that being said I wouldn’t necessarily say the rooms were bad, but just a little small. I would keep that in mind when traveling with a family. Homewood Suites is appealing because it has a little kitchenette, but if you can’t fit a family in there to use it then what’s the point? The biggest complaint – the beds. They were like rocks! You might as well be sleeping on the floor. Ten years ago when I was in the service they might not have bothered me so much since I was used to sleeping on 2 inches of foam rubber, but now I expect a mattress when I pay that much money a night for a room and I expect a hotel to not buy the cheapest one on the market where you can literally feel the coils coming through the mattress cover. Sleep is important and can effect your entire day, not just the night, so if you barely get more than a few hours a night due to discomfort for almost a week straight it kind of leaves a lasting impression on you about the hotel in general. The front desk helped as best as they could and provided me and my mother, who was in a room down the hall, extra blankets that we could sleep on top of to ease our discomfort. That did help a little, but in general it would affect our desire to stay here again.
The rooms were always cleaned well. We did however have a bit of an ant problem. There are a lot of ants in Colorado in general, so this didn’t surprise us. We couldn’t figure out where they were coming from, but we started finding them in our laundry because we had some spit up rags in there from our son. Soon one or two ants turn in to one hundred. Like I said, I have no idea where they came from other than the walls. There definitely weren’t any signs of entry through any windows, but they had certainly invaded.
To summarize, the rooms were clean, but small, the meals were free and pretty good, it was in a superb location, but the beds were rock hard. If you need a comfy bed I’d try the Radisson out by the airport, they have the sleep number beds out there and the rooms are also very nice, but no suites.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Beds
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Shell78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
234 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights using our Hilton points. It is excellent and is located acoss the highway from the USAF Academy. We could see the cadets practicing their flying skills from our room as well as Pikes Peak. Across the street is a lifestyle (expensive) shopping center. We passed by the Embassy Suites which is located right on the highway and it looks old whereas this hotel looks new. This web site indicates that this is ranked #1 place to stay in Colorado Springs. I would definitely agree.

  • Liked — New, great location, clean and neat
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
2.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#9 of 105 in Colorado Springs
540 reviews
3.9 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 105 in Colorado Springs
723 reviews
2.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Springs near the Air Force Academy
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Spri...
#2 of 105 in Colorado Springs
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorad...
#18 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,226 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,303 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Colorado Springs
Hyatt Place Colorado Springs
#10 of 105 in Colorado Springs
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs North

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs North
Address: 9130 Explorer Dr, Colorado Springs, CO 80920-5000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#19 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
#24 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs North 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and completely transformed in late 2016, the Homewood Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs-North hotel is rejuvenated and ready to welcome you. Book your stay at this all-suite, extended stay hotel in Colorado Springs and experience world-class service along with upscale accommodations and amenities. Choose a one or two room suite featuring a king or two double beds and a separate living room, along with a fully equipped kitchen. You will enjoy having two flat screen HDTVs, one in the bedroom and one in the living area, plus free Wifi and a full hot breakfast offering a variety of options and served every day. Relax and unwind at the complimentary Evening Social, Monday - Thursday offering small plate items and free beverages, including beer and wine. Keep up with your exercise regimen in our state-of-the-art Fitness Center, enjoy an invigorating swim in the outdoor pool, as well as, access to the Briargate YMCA. This Homewood Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs-North located in the prestigious Briargate area is just steps from the Promenade Shops at Briargate, where you can explore 7 restaurants, and upscale shopping, as well as being minutes from the USAF Academy and across the street from Focus on the Family, makes this the perfect Colorado Springs hotel to book your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Colorado Springs North Hotel Colorado Springs
Homewood Suites Colorado Springs
Hilton Colorado Springs
Homewood Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Hilton
Colorado Springs Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing