We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The noisest, dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Colorado Springs
Ranked #23 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Weston, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The noisest, dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed in”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I have been a Hilton Honors member for many years and have stayed in more then 50 hotels across the country. By far this particular hotel is the worst hotel I have stayed in. Earlier reviewers must be deaf because this place was the loudest hotel of our trip. You can hear people's conversations through the walls and they weren't even yelling. People walking down the hallway sounded like a herd of elephants, along with slamming of doors, closets, and blaring televisions. Now to the messy part. Check-in for this hotel was 4:00 pm. We arrived at 4:30 and after going up the 1 and only elevator we walked past multiple glasses, mugs and plates just sitting outside doors. After leaving for dinner at 7pm, not 1 thing was picked up and we took the stairs because the elevator was on the other side of the hotel. In the stairway we saw a little boy's pair of underwear and a shoe. We arrived back at 9 and finally the hallway was cleaned but a roll away mattress was still in the hallway. The next morning we woke and went to breakfast at 9am and the mattress was still in the hallway and so were the underwear and shoes. Even though we had a Non-smoking room walking down the hallway was just gross. We were 10 rooms from the closest Smoking room and it smelled like we were right next to them. Overall we were there for 2 nights and didn't get any sleep, the roll away mattress was there for 2 nights and a pair of underwear and a shoe was there for 2 days. The ONLY positive was that this hotel was it's location, within 15 miles of the major attractions.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildhog1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    172
    85
    28
    21
See reviews for
155
133
39
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Commerce, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

While in the Colorado Springs and Denver area, my husband and I were in our truck pulling a 50 foot long car hauler so we had to stay in a hotel that could accomodate our parking needs. The hotels in the area are expensive even for hotel chains that usually are considered budget friendly. We actually booked this hotel cheaper than the area Microtel. We stayed here for two restful nights. Both nights we were there, we opted for the breakfast plan that was only $10 extra for the both of us. Breakfast each morning was spectacular! At breakfast, they have a chef who cooks eggs or omlets any way you want. Also included, is bacon, sausage, and then the ordinary continental breakfast items, such as bagels, cereal, etc. I was happy to see that they actually had fresh strawberries and several other types of fruit, instead of canned fruit, which is what hotels usually have at breakfast. One morning we sat outside in the cool early morning and enjoyed our breakfast at the patio dining area. The rooms were extremely spacious and clean, the staff were very helpful, and I hope to return for another stay there soon. Note the picture accompanying this review to see the view that we had from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugheschristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Attractive common areas, large rooms, comfortable bed. I paid $104 for a same day reservation on hotels.com. There were some minor issues with my room that caused me to rate it slightly lower than I would have for better attention to detail. There was a very dirty & gross air duct right at eye level in the bathroom (I have seen this same comment on other reviews). I also noticed black mildew & missing caulk around the tub. The AC fan was so loud that it woke me during the night when it switched on.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICTStephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

This hotel is a solid choice for business or vacation travelers. All of the basics are covered -- friendly staff, clean, quiet, good-size rooms, adequate free wireless Internet, decent pool and hot tub, etc. Nice extras include the very good, all-you-can eat, made-to-order breakfast (free with the B&B package or a reasonable $10 without), well-appointed lobby area with free coffee 24/7, convenient location across from an upscale shopping area with good restaurants and close (but not too close) to I-25, and wonderful views from upper floor rooms that face the mountains and Air Force Academy to the west. Our only complaint was that our room had two full size rather than queen size beds, which were a bit cramped for a family of four. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a west-facing room on the third floor for view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cygnusden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This is your average chain hotel. Clean. Decent bed.

Plus:
1) Comfy King-size bed with good soft sheets.
2) Nice flat-screen but remote did not work. Duh, Hilton on that!
3) Mini-bar with microwave, fridge, coffee maker. Convenient for longer stay.
4) Great shower head with good water pressure.
5) Great hot breakfast (ours was included in our rate, otherwise is $10) with made to order omelettes and eggs.
6) Directly across the street from Briargate shopping/dining. You can park and walk across the street. PF Changs, California Pizza Kitchen, Biaggi's (Italian), Panera all across the street along with decent shopping like Ann Taylor Loft, Talbots, Eddie Bauer, Sephora.
7) Convenient to freeway (to Denver) into and out of COS. Near Air Force Academy.

Minuses:
1) Paper thin walls. Could hear noise from around us, out in halls and above us.
2) Decent bed, but strange squishy pillows and the pillows were tiny and did not even go on a King-size bed. Odd.
3) HORRIBLE loud AC unit. This thing cut off and on continuously. Really loud. Loud enough to keep you awake. Finally put it on "fan" so it would just run without shutting off.
4) Small bathroom, but adequate.

Room Tip: Ask to be AWAY from the pool and spa area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lulu_Pow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPRINGS_HGI_GM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Colorado Springs, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thank you for the feedback on your stay! All of the information provided are items I will be happy to look in to, especially why the AC unit was so loud when it kicked on and off.

We certainly hope we will have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

This was a great hotel to stay in. We were only a 5-10 minute drive from everything and just a little over an hour to drive up to Denver. The hotel itself is clean and welcoming. The rooms are beautiful, spacious and comfortable. If you want a view of Pike's Peak and not the back parking lot, ask for an odd numbered room on the third floor. It is SPECTACULAR! There is a pantry where you can buy sundries and snacks. There's even frozen food to heat up in the microwave. There is not a continental breakfast. You either have to purchase a room package that includes it or pay 9.95 per adult for it. We didn't try it but it's a made to order restaurant and I'm sure worth the money. If you don't want to pay that kind of cash for breakfast, there's a Starbucks right across the street. Great stay, worth the price...definately the place i'd stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for room w/ Pike's Peak view. 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahAllDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPRINGS_HGI_GM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Colorado Springs, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thank you for writing a review of the hotel! You are correct about the breakfast... the Bed and Breakfast package is a wonderful way to go for cost effective travel. Don't forget though, even without a package... the $9.95 full cooked to order breakfast includes all beverages and is all you can eat. I recommend the breakfast burrito! Come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Srinagar, India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Very neat and clean place and good place to stay if traveling with family. It's far from the Airport so if you are there for a short stay I would recommend staying closer to the Airport. The Hotel is very clean and quiet but there is no Restaurant in the Hotel though there are several just across the street. Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingjkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs North
Homewood Suites by Hilton Colora...
#13 of 105 in Colorado Springs
541 reviews
2.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Colorado Springs
Staybridge Suites Colorado Sprin...
#9 of 105 in Colorado Springs
540 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Colorado Springs
Hyatt Place Colorado Springs
#10 of 105 in Colorado Springs
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 105 in Colorado Springs
724 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force Academy
Hampton Inn & Suites Air Force A...
#6 of 105 in Colorado Springs
696 reviews
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorad...
#18 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Colorado Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Colorado Springs

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Colorado Springs
Address: 1810 Briargate Pkwy, Colorado Springs, CO 80920-7625
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#17 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
#20 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Colorado Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated and transformed, end of 2016. The Hilton Garden Inn Colorado Springs hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Colorado's major attractions, just off I-25. With Pikes Peak as its backdrop this hotel in Colorado Springs features convenience and easy access to five military bases, Pikes Peak and major businesses in the area. Experience some of Colorado's premier cycling, hiking, white water rafting, skiing, fishing and horseback riding nearby. Upscale amenities, world-class service, along with the breathtaking scenery and views of the Rocky Mountains, make the Hilton Garden Inn the perfect choice for the business traveler, as well as the family on vacation. Check out the packages on our Special Offers page and Book Direct to get the guaranteed best rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Colorado Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Colorado Springs Hotel Colorado Springs
Hilton Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing