We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Value - Broadmor area...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Colorado Springs South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Colorado Springs South
Ranked #26 of 107 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Value - Broadmor area...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here this past weekend to attend a wedding being held at the Broadmor. If your travel requires you to be part of an event at the Broadmor like our's, it is ideally located less than 2 miles down the street. While it does not compare to grandeur and ambiance of the Broadmor, it was an excellent choice because when we were wait listed at the Broadmor and potentially left without a place to stay, we found this location.

The property appears to be recently remodeled in both the common areas and in the rooms. The new centralized area and cutting edge concepts of limited meal service/drinks and grab & go food are a nice touch and offered at reasonable rates. The restaurant in the parking lot - Flat Irons is excellent and offers a nice place for lunch/dinner/drinks. Ironically, it was the location for all of the non Broadmor social activities for the wedding attendees because of its accessibility and lack of stuffiness.

The rooms and bathroom were outfitted with modern decor and the beds appeared to be foam core and quite comfortable. The rooms were remarkably quiet and the overall experience was a pleasant surprise.

If I would offer any critical comments, there was not a blanket on the bed and at night the room got quite cold and the pillows were flat - both minor in the overall experience.

I did not have much interaction with the staff, but we did not need to as alot of what was offered was intuitive.

Great property overall, and for a trip where we were not in the room for too long because of planned activities, it was an excellent value against the 3x greater price than I would have paid at the Broadmor!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfoster1268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    65
    29
    2
    0
See reviews for
50
35
11
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I've stayed in Courtyard's before. I know for the most part these hotels have more of a business clientele... but when your in Co Springs right next to the mountains I would expect that they experience the tourist family like we were. This hotel has a great location to get most anywhere in the area quickly. Room was decent enough - large and accommodated. As with other Courtyards... the food selection is limited at the hotel (business folk are out and about... so they don't keep a kitchen open all day and what they have is limited to Marriott planned offerings - just like every other Courtyard you'll stay at). The issue we had was w/ the cleaning crew. Our room was not picked up on consecutive days. The first day - after leaving at 8 that morning - we arrived back at roughly 4:30 that afternoon to a room that was not yet cleaned. The family was tired... so we had to ask for new towels and coffee. On the second day - we left at a similar time and returned at around 7 in the evening to a still not cleaned room. To our surprise - *a* do not disturb sign was on our door. My wife and I both checked the morning before we left to make sure there was nothing on the door - and there was not. Once inside the room - *our* do not disturb sign was still hanging on the inside handle. So... I had *two* do not disturb signs and a dirty room. Front desk was not helpful... no apology. Nothing. This Courtyard needs to understand that they do have tourists coming in and better accommodate their needs and schedules.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitescATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene A, General Manager at Courtyard Colorado Springs South, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear whitescATX,

Thank you for completing a review on our property. While experiences such as yours are exceedingly rare, they are equally important for us to hear about. First and foremost, please accept my apology for the inconvenience you experienced. While we do have many guests that are business travelers, we are very much a leisure hotel in the Summer. When we have a full house, our suite attendants are at times servicing guestrooms until 5pm. They are typically completed in order (if available) or if there is a request for early service. As for the do not disturb sign, there are numerous plausible possibilities for that, but it would be speculation. In any event, our staff will typically not enter a room or knock on a door with a do not disturb sign, unless there is an emergency. Once again, we are sorry for the less than stellar experience and thank you for the feedback. I will share it with our staff during our daily meeting to ensure that these concerns are addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here several nights with the family. Admittedly we don't normally stay at Courtyards so may have a different expectation (prefer HGI but couldn't get a room). We reserved a king bed with a sofa bed for the four of us and the family was disappointed the minute they saw the room. I've never seen a smaller room in this category outside of Tokyo. No way they should book this as a four person room. Housekeeping was really inconsistent. For example even though we were obviously using the sofa bed they took the sheets and didn't replace them. Oddly there was no trash can anywhere near the bathroom which was quite awkward. The sofa was one of those curved back types we did not find comfortable. Was ok for the kids though. Compared to HGI the breakfast choices were quite limited and not well cooked. The Starbucks coffee was good. We tried to get drinks one evening and that was really slow. They only had one person to cover both the front desk and the Bistro the whole time we were there. One woman waited 20 minutes for her food order. So the lobby wasn't a happy place the one evening we used it.

The remodel does look modern but if this is typical of a new Courtyard we will avoid them for family travel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Road_Fun_Fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene A, General Manager at Courtyard Colorado Springs South, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Road Fun Fam,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor and Yelp. I am so sorry that you did not have a great experience and I will bring your concerns to our staff to ensure that these issues are not repeated. As you can see from our strong record of reviews, this is by no means typical of an experience at our property. It is nonetheless a serious concern for me. We work hard to provide an excellent experience to all of our guests and I am truly sorry that you did not catch us at our best. As for the room size, I agree that it is not the ideal room type for a family of 4 and we don't market it as such. We have a number of other room types that are larger and more conducive to sleeping 4 comfortably. However, for the business traveler, this is always our most popular room. Once again please accept our sincere apology for not meeting your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is a nice Courtyard hotel. We just had one night so it worked fine for us for the most part. I was disappointed that there was no hot tub. I don't think I have ever stayed at a Marriott that didn't have one and I've stayed at many Courtyards and Fairfields. It is a basic hotel for sleeping needs, nothing fancy at all. I am giving this four stars only because the service was excellent. When we called for extra towels in the evening, they were brought up immediately. The breakfast was delicious and the service at the restaurant far exceeded my expectations of a Courtyard. Front desk staff was super kind and helpful too!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gelika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene A, General Manager at Courtyard Colorado Springs South, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Gelika,

Thank you so much for the kind review of our property. I am so glad that you had a nice experience and impression of our property and staff. Feedback like yours really helps validate the hard work that our staff does in maintaining the property and providing memorable guest experiences. Sorry about the hot tub. I will pass on your kind words to our staff and hope you will come and see us again when your travels bring you back to Colorado Springs. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The rooms appear to have been recently renovated and were nicer then most..Courtyards. We had a king room with a small sofa. The front desk staff was friendly and courteous ion check in and out. The maid staff never serviced our room. We left o the room about 10 am and when we came back late in the evening it hadn't been cleaned. The first morning we were there we were woken by loudly Spanish speaking maids. The location was good a few minutes from the highway and least then ten to zoo.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jyssica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene A, General Manager at Courtyard Colorado Springs South, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Jyssica S.,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. As you mentioned we recently completed a major rooms renovation and are very pleased with the results. I am truly sorry that you had a cleaning and noise issue that detracted from your enjoyment of the property. This is a very unusual occurrence and I will follow-up with our staff to detrmine what could have happened and to ensure that it does not occur in the future. I hope that you will give us another chance to gain your trust on your next visit to Colorado Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here for an overnight stop while exploring the wonderful state of Colorado. The hotel was very easily accessible from the highway and had a couple restaurants within walking distance. They only had a small Bistro in house with a very limited menu. They did have Starbucks coffee available and the chai tea latte was great. We were in a newly remodeled room on the ground floor. It had sliding glass doors that opened up to a very nice patio area looking out on the courtyard area. The beds were very comfortable and the hotel was very clean. The young lady checking us in was very professional but needed to be a little more friendly. Smile!! Check-in and Check-out were quick and painless. Free wi-fi and parking!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tsbritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene A, General Manager at Courtyard Colorado Springs South, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Tsbritt,

Thank you the nice review of our property. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us...and the Starbucks Chai Tea:) It is nice to hear all of your positive impressions, but equally as important to hear constructive feedback to help us grow. We will keep working on the smiles :) Please come back and see us the next time you are in "the Springs" Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel is newly renovated and SUPER CLEAN! Superb management and friendly service make it an exceptional place to stay. We were there for over a week and couldn't have asked for a better stay. It was wonderful!!! :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daughter111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene A, General Manager at Courtyard Colorado Springs South, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Daughter111,

Thank you so much for the great review. It will be fun sharing this with our staff. I am so happy that you had such a memorable stay and that everyone treated you well. We take pride in providing this type of experience and it's great to hear that we were successful. PLease come see us again when your travels bring you to Springs. Thanks again for taking the time to complete a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Colorado Springs/I-25 South
Hampton Inn & Suites Colorado Sp...
#9 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Colorado Springs South
Fairfield Inn & Suites Colorado ...
#32 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Colorado Springs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Color...
#15 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn & Sui...
#21 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Colorado Springs South
Residence Inn Colorado Springs S...
#40 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn South
Quality Inn South
#35 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Colorado Springs South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Colorado Springs South

Property: Courtyard Colorado Springs South
Address: 2570 Tenderfoot Hill St, Colorado Springs, CO 80906-3998
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
#27 Romantic Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Colorado Springs South 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Colorado Springs South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Colorado Springs South Hotel Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Marriott
Colorado Springs Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing