We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sri Lankan food!”
Review of The Curry Leaf Restaurant - CLOSED

The Curry Leaf Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian, Sri Lankan
Restaurant details
La Jolla, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sri Lankan food!”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Tiny place, up front and personal service from the owner/chef, very good food.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank RBruceMagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    5
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The curry chicken and dal lentils are must haves for sure. If it's just two of you just get one order because there is so much food to just one order. Perfect amount for a date night. Also ask for the "bread" that they make. I do not remember what it was called, I just know it made the meal even better. The waiter had a little attitude but he loosed up a little during our meal....kinda. The food was still amazing :)

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Didn't live up to expectations”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We wanted to try several of the deviled dishes, but our server informed us they had no peppers. He had told his boss, but the boss hadn't rectified the situation. How can you not have one of the critical ingredients for half the entrees on your menu?!! So we tried a few of the curries. The chicken curry, their "specialty," was decent. The beef curry was uninspired. The pineapple curry was interesting and the mango curry was quite good. So the food is very uneven and management questionable. Service is efficient and the atmosphere nondescript. They also do not have a liquor license (they supposedly are working on it) so you can't get wine. This may not be an issue if you're there for lunch (we were there for dinner). Don't know that I'm willing to give them another chance.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sri Lankan food in the mountains”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The Curry Leaf beat all expectations when we went with friends, recently this restaurant moved from a small location to a much more central and spacious location, not easy to find if you aren't familiar with the area but worth it. We tried many different menu items and everything was top notch.

Do yourself a favor, make time to enjoy this one. Order the Chicken Curry - house special and worth it. Or even the Deviled Potatoes - superb. For the winner at our table go for the Dahl curry or the very flavorful Eggplant Curry.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anthonycami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and Friendly Staff!”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I went here (the Wahsatch location) with a friend at her recommendation and I was very pleased with the quality of the food. Also, the staff was incredibly friendly and they even knew my friend pretty well - so they brought us out all sorts of stuff to try for free. It was a great time and like I said the cuisine was delicious! I highly recommend it if you'd like to try something new and interesting or if you're just looking for a great place to get some yummy Curry. Be advised their new Tejon St. location will be open 1-23-12.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Curry Leaf Restaurant also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing