We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I bring all of my out-of-town guests here”

Starr Kempf's Metal Sculptures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Starr Kempf Sculpture Garden - private property and not a business open to public
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“I bring all of my out-of-town guests here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I ran across this by accident over 25 years ago when I moved to COS. Some of the neighbors complained about the increasing traffic, so they have had to sell/move many of the sculptures in recent years. I don't know his educational background, but the man was a genius with vision and skill. His pieces are so perfectly balanced that the slightest breeze will set them in motion. Absolutely beautiful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    44
    15
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
149 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“This is one of my favorite things in Colorado Springs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I love going by to look at these sculptures. They are so unique. If you are in the area, do drive by, park and take a walk by the property.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank dogsareup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barra del Colorado Wildlife Refuge, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Incredible Artwork”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Amazing sculpture's and an incredible talent!!! They are truly gentle giants. Since they are in a residential neighborhood I always feel slightly invasive driving around there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Fuschia40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unbelievable sculptures by ONE man!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Since his death some years ago, some of his sculptures seem to have been moved off the property. There is one downtown.
But there are still enough to elicit wonder and awe. He built the house too. I am curious who maintains this now that he is gone.

Helpful?
Thank AMHanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful work, beautiful spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We drove by and saw them from the road, trying to not disturb Ms. Kempf who apparently still lives there. What a lovely little neighborhood. The work is in good condition for being displayed outside and the property well kept all things considered. Magical stuff. Worth the drive by.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sassi Italy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starr Kempf's Metal Sculptures also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Starr Kempf's Metal Sculptures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing