We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Warm Welcome Hides Some Of The Cracks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #55 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Warm Welcome Hides Some Of The Cracks”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I chose this hotel for the convenience of being able to walk into the centre of Colorado Springs and without having to pay silly prices for the priviledge by staying at the Hilton in town.

The Clarion is right next door to the Quality Inn and shares some of the property, but overall I preferred the price and facilities of the Clarion, Both are right off the I-25 at W Bijou St and difficult to miss.

The welcome was very warm and I received a nice goodie bag for being a Choice Points member containing candies, popcorn and bottles of water, though I was disappointed with the water. Given the hotel is right at the base of the Rockies with all those gushing mountain springs, it was a shame the bottles contained Nestle purified water.

I arrived just before 6pm which was fortuitous as the hotel serves a "manager's reception" from 4pm-6pm Monday-Thursday, where guests can enjoy two complementary drinks. They have a range of beers, wines or can do a branded spirit with a mixer if you prefer that. There's usually some snack food such as meatballs, mini-sausages, cheese, meats and crackers to accompany the drinks.

All in all, a nice addition, as is the cooked-to-order breakfast. You can choose the type of eggs and the side dishes you want with them, and the order is made and brought to your table. In the meantime you can help yourself to juices, coffee, yoghurt, pastries and cereals.

The cooked food was good quality, although the omelets seemed to be made with a mix rather than fresh eggs, so individual eggs seemed the better choice. The only real downside is having to endure some rabid sports commentators shouting each other down on the TV which seems to be the selection of choice for one particular server. There are free copies of the Wall Street Journal delivered to the rooms and available in the lobby if you need something a little more upscale with your breakfast.

For amenities, there are a couple of PCs in the lobby with a printer if you need them, and there are three washers and three dryers in the guest laundry. Washing costs $2 and drying is $1.50, although you'll probably need $3 worth of drying to get clothes dry. Detergent is available from the front desk for $1 and they can provide quarters too, since there is no change machine.

The room itself was spacious with a separate area for the fridge, microwave and coffee maker, together with a sink and bar seating. The fridge is switched off by default, so remember to turn it on inside if you want to use it.

Furnishings were fine and what was expected for the price and there was good storage space for hanging clothes. Criticisms would be the lack of ventillation in the bathroom which meant any odours in there either lasted for hours or spread to the rest of the room, the quality of some of the power outlets which didn't grip the plug, leaving it to fall out at times, and the poor selection of TV channels. There is a flat screen TV but not much to watch on it.

I'd also say to take care when leaving the room, as some door handles don't return to the closed position on the inside, so you close the door and it looks locked, but you can still open it without a key unless you make sure the inside handle is in the up position. Finally, while there was a little noise from the adjoining room through the party door (not the walls), it sounded like there was an elephant lodging upstairs. Either that, or the floors let through a lot of noise.

The rest of the property is looking somewhat worn and a little frayed around the edges. There are cracked walkways, internal doors which don't lock properly and an odd front door arrangement with two sets of double doors where only the outer doors open automatically. If you're struggling through with suitcases, don't be fooled into thinking the second doors open automatically too or you'll look daft just standing there.

Overall, it was about what I expected. The quality of service and inclusive services counterbalanced the rather frayed property. For the price I think it's a good choice for anyone wanting to be near the centre of Colorado Springs.

Room Tip: Third floor doesn't suffer from noise from the rooms above. Mountain view rooms have the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinball_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    134
    72
    60
    67
See reviews for
148
106
55
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I booked the Clarion based on other reviews, the three star rating and the decieving pictures. First of all the staff was the most complacent and apathetic collection of people I have ever run accross in any business. The construction was just super cheapo and the materiels must have been used when they arrived. We booked 4 nights stay and after one very sleepless night on a miserable plank of a bed resulting in a very stiff back and neck we decided to check out. The General Manager checked us out and didn't even ask why we were leaving early. He stated that we would be credited our balance and we are now in a fight with Clarion, Expedia and Kyak for a refund. Not one of these people will take responsibiity for giving us this bum steer! I wouldn't recommend this place if it were free!! Stay away.

Room Tip: Don't rely on ratings that Expedia puts out. Also, go a grade higher than what makes sense for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
I'm sorry that you were not happy with the beds. We have been in the process of replacing some of our beds with new ones. I'm sorry that you didn't let me know what the issue was, We would have been happy to move you to a different room or possibly replace your bed. Since you paid through Expedia, it's them that billed your credit card not the hotel. we actually bill Expedia. So we are not able to credit your card.
We would love the opportunity to show you that what you experienced is not typical of the hotel. Please give me a call at the hotel so we can book your next stay at our hotel.
Sincerely,
Taves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Colorado Springs hotels

Casper, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I booked the in-room hot tub suite hoping for some nice relaxation after attending classes at University of the Rockies. The location for those classes was excellent. The relaxation - not so much. Conversation in the next room, set up as a connecting room, was clearly heard. The stairs at that end of the hall ended up on a fire escape to get outside, and scraped metal on metal to open and close, heard throughout the night. The hot tub faucet was very slow flowing, taking almost 45 minutes to fill above the jets. By the time the tub was full enough, the water had cooled considerably, and the water was tepid, at best. The room was a little dank smelling, but not from a particular source. The bed was comfortable, with nice bedding. Several light bulbs in the ceiling over the tub were burned out. The shower door would not close properly. The shower head dripped constantly, and loudly, I might add. I didn't partake of the breakfast so I can't speak to that. The room was nicely equipped with a small fridge, and microwave, which was nice for a stay of any length. The hotel is easy to get to off the highway. Will I stay there again in August for more classes? Not too sure at this point in time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We visited the Clarion on a trip to Colorado Springs with a lacrosse team. The service from the front desk was very good. The room had a refrigerator and a microwave as well as a love seat that folded out into a bed. Breakfast was complimenatry and included hot options as well as fruit, hard boiled eggs various toast and pastry options. The hotel is located very close to Colorado College, old town and downtown Colorado Springs. The price was good and the amenities were nice. The pool is good sized and the exercise room is adequate. There is a running trail along the river and it is a mile run to Colorado College if you use the pedestrian overpass. If there was one concern it might be the layout of the hotel's stairways in that they don't all lead conveniently to an exit. We enjoyed the hotel and the hospitality of their staff. I would come back!

Room Tip: The courtyard is nice with tall pine trees. I would stay away from the first floor and they tend to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moved2Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

The Clarion seems to have merged with the Quality Inn next door so that the two have a greater range of services than either separately. The result is a larger than average breakfast area with enough tables, even at busy times (and a cooked breakfast that, again, is better than average). The only downside is that the hotel corridors are long and complicated, and every door leading outside seemed to have four or five steps; an older gentleman I met, who needed a walker, found this slightly inconvenient. The beds were comfortable; the room had a fridge and microwave; the internet worked. The bathroom reflected its age in being fairly small (though not tiny) but here, as throughout the hotel as far as I could see, everything was clean and well kept up. A word on location: the Clarion is right by Interstate 25 but seemed to be well soundproofed, as I was never aware of the traffic. It's five minutes on foot to the commercial centre, which doesn't close down at 6 pm but actually seems alive, with its restaurants and microbrew pubs worth exploring. (There is, though, a Denny's right across from the hotel if that's more convenient.) Colorado College is a brisk but agreeable 20-minute walk from the Clarion. I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank botafogoblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo West, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
473 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I guess for downtown Colorado Springs...the price was okay; however, they neglected to provide the requested (twice) wake-up call, and there was no rubber mat for the shower and it was dangerous. My fiancee had an important Dr's appointment at 8 AM and I am glad I woke up in time without the wake-up call, or it would have been a disaster. I intended to report this to the front desk...however, staff was on telephone and we needed to leave. Decor is rather dated. Highlight of the visit was a hot breakfast included with the room.

Room Tip: 1st floor room had a sliding door to a Gazebo area..okay if you are a smoker, but you might want a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2012

My boyfriend and I needed a place to stay for a night in Colorado Springs, and we made the right choice with the Clarion Hotel. From the manager's reception to walking downtown for dinner to the jacuzzi, we were impressed by the friendliness and depth of the service and facilities. The price was exactly what we were looking for as well.

Would definitely stay here again next time we're in Colorado Springs!

Thank you!

Alli and Dave

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
0.0 mi away
Quality Suites Downtown
Quality Suites Downtown
#54 of 105 in Colorado Springs
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Colorado Springs Dwtn Area
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#35 of 105 in Colorado Springs
162 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of the Gods
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of ...
#46 of 105 in Colorado Springs
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
The Antlers A Wyndham Hotel
#20 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,256 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn & Suites
Best Western Executive Inn & Sui...
#13 of 105 in Colorado Springs
602 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn South
Quality Inn South
#42 of 105 in Colorado Springs
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 314 W Bijou St, Colorado Springs, CO 80905-1307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel® & Conference Center is a 100 percentnon-smoking full-service hotel located just nine miles fromthe Colorado Springs Airport. With convenient access toInterstate 25, this Colorado Springs, CO hotel is close tomany local points of interest, including Colorado College,the United States Air Force Academy, United StatesOlympic Training Center, Pikes Peak "America's Mountain"and Garden of the Gods public park.The business traveler will welcome the convenience of thebusiness center, complete with fax and copy service.As one of Colorado Springs' only full-service, mid-size,downtown hotels, the Clarion Hotel & Conference Centeroffers 10,000 square feet of functional meeting spaceand a full range of catering services. Whether planning ameeting for 14, a reunion for 50 or a reception for 200, wecan accommodate events in a setting that is both unique andrelaxing. Our experienced and professional convention andcatering staff can make any event a success with our "Be OurBest" service.Guests of this Colorado Springs, CO hotel will enjoy a varietyof deluxe amenities, such as:• Free hot American breakfast with scrambled eggs,sausage, hashbrowns and more• Manager's reception Monday through Thursdayproviding two free cocktails and hors d'oeuvres for eachguest• Free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms• Free local calls• Free newspaperBe sure to enjoy our state of the art indoor saltwater pooland hot tub or relax in the beautiful courtyard garden.A grab-and-go food and beverage counter in the lobby isavailable 24 hours, offering sandwiches, soups, salads, beer,wine and cocktails. In addition, guests are invited to takeadvantage of the downtown YMCA facilities; contact the frontdesk for free passes.All of our guest rooms feature such standard amenitiesas hair dryers, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards,refrigerators and microwaves.For added convenience, an ATM is on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Colorado Springs
Clarion Colorado Springs
Colorado Springs Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing