We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms good, other features lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colorado Springs Marriott
Ranked #27 of 105 Hotels in Colorado Springs
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Rooms good, other features lacking”
Reviewed May 26, 2007

This property began as a Marriott, re-flagged over the years,and is now back as a Marriott. For Pikes Peak views, there are many rooms that offer an excellent view.

The owners have put most of the renovation money into the rooms, and they are in very good shape. A stone tile entry leads to a single sink vanity with a stone/marble top. Behind a second door is a tub/shower combo with stone tile surround and the toilet. The separation of areas with a door is nice for two guests in the room. The tub/shower uses the curved shower rod, although it wasn't set out quite as far as it could be. You get perhaps 3-4 inches of extra room instead of the 6 inches you should get.

Water pressure is low and you have to hold the handle down on the toilet to complete a flush.

The bedroom has the new Marriott spec bed and bedding - extremely comfortable. Lots of golds and dark reds in the room. Woods are of a brown cherry type finish. There is a new 27" flat panel LCD, but no HDTV channels - not even the local over the air channels - and only about 30 channels total. Marriott still doesn't get it when it comes to this technology.

High speed internet is $9.95 a day, through Wayport, but separated from the hotel bill so it doesn't appear there. You have to enter a cc number every single day and you get access up until midnight on the current day instead of a 24-hour option. This is clunky and again, Marriott really doesn't get technology well.

The desk has a technology strip that supposedly allows you to connect audio through the TV speakers (yippy skippy) and it has lots of other connections (cat 5, USB) that I really don't know how you would use.

The side chair in my king room is child-size and the armrests are too high for comfortable sitting.

AC is quiet and on a digital thermostat.

Over the weekend I took a AAA rate of $89, but evidently the lowest rates were reserved for the hordes of youth sporting teams that descended on the hotel. They stay awake past midnight. I know because they all stomped by my room during that time and snatched my DND sign from the key slot.

The pool is currently empty of water. It appears that renovations focused on the rooms, while the lobby and elevators still retain a faded 80s look.

As stated by others, there are no adjacent restaurants or shopping. This is a fairly isolated hotel on the north side of town. I-25 construction means that from the north, you can get to the hotel easily. If approaching from the south, good luck - it's a minefield of detours and construction.

If I stay again, it will be on price only - no other compelling reason to choose this property over a Residence Inn or even a Holiday Inn Express.

  • Liked — New rooms and excellent beds
  • Disliked — Low water pressure, clunky HSIA, no control over loud kids in hallways at night
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank DenverBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    221
    97
    46
    28
See reviews for
159
149
24
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2007

I just stayed at the Mariott this past week-end. I didn't see any construction. Appears that the renovation is now complete. The lobby is very nice. Rooms were very classy with new carpet (you can smell that new carpet smell) and nice beds with superb bedding. I thought this was a great hotel. Service was friendly and nice. It's tucked back on a frontage road, and the city has an ordinance that won't let them put up a sign on that frontage road so it is just a tad difficult to find. Also, there are no walkable restaurants so you are left with the hotel food. Cold breakfast buffett ran about $10, which isn't horrible. I liked the hotel-- it was clean, staff was friendly, and they have dedicated computers in the lobby where you can check e-mail and print boarding passes out FOR FREE!

  • Liked — Newly renovated and cheap $75 for the Mariott)
  • Disliked — Expensive restaurant- bagel was $4.50.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MALV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountains, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2007

This hotel transitioned from a Wyndham to a Marriott on January 17, 2007. At that time there was still a lot of construction going on at the facility. The fumes from the new paint, carpeting, and adhesives made me sick. If you're sensitive to that sort of thing, you might want to choose a different hotel. Not all of the hotel was accessible due to the construction (such as the public restrooms near the meeting facilities or the locker rooms near the pool/fitness center). The hot tub wasn't functioning. This hotel's location is a definite drawback, since it's located in a technology center with nothing within walking distance. Also, there is majorly confusing construction at the exit along I-25 which does not look to be completed anytime soon.

On a bright note, the furnishings in the rooms were brand new and modern with flat screen tvs. The beds were, by far, the most comfortable I've ever experienced in a hotel room. Bath & Body Works Aromatherapy toiletries were provided. The fitness center has brand new club quality equipment each with its own small panel tv and headphones.

  • Liked — comfy beds, high quality toiletries
  • Disliked — location, construction
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Barbie_Q_Soss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2006

I stayed here for one night on a Saturday. King room on the 4th floor was $99 booked in advance through the hotel. I had to stay here for a meeting. I would say, if you have a choice, DO NOT STAY HERE. They are currently under renovations and are turning this into a Marriott hotel. There is virtually no lobby because it's all boarded off. Staff were friendly and speedy, but the room left a lot to be desired. The setup was weird because the TV/armoire was next to the bed, not in front of it. So you can't lay in bed and watch TV. They do have internet access in the room, but it's $9.95/day and you can't add it to your room charge... you have to log on to a third party website and give your credit card number. I called down to the front desk to ask for free internet, and they refused. The TV was very old and very small. There was a cockroach in the room, which I had to kill. The comforter had stains on it. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were nice and thick, so that was a pleasant surprise. The bathroom towels were very thin and small.

I'd stay at the Holiday Inn Express about 5-10 minutes away. It's clean and comes with a free breakfast.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug63366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2006

As a Priceline win, I was nervous after reading the reviews. Frankly, for what I paid, this was a good stay. Non-smoking rooms only, clean, nice products in the bathroom, what more can you want for a one night business stay?

The folks at the front desk were very friendly and informed me that the construction in the hotel was almost complete and that this would soon be a Marriott. It will be a standard 3 star when done and I think that's about right. If you win this hotel through Priceline, don't panic. It's fine.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
Thank WestEndDeac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2006

We booked the hotel because of the price and we were on a budget. The hotel is located in the technology district so it's a bit far from any restaurants. There is on-going construction on the freeways surrounding the hotel so getting to and from the hotel is a bit tricky. Being from Houston we're used to freeway construction.

Hotel Staff: Their were all nice. The only negative was when we signed up for the free internet but didn't qualify since we didn't book directly through them. So we never got our free internet. No big deal though. We just took our laptops to Panera Bread.

Hotel Check-In: Check in was easy. We did ask for any upgrades. They guy tried to book us into a suite but there wasn't any available.
It's always good to ask.

Hotel Room: We got a King Size Bed. Initially it was going to be two double beds. But he found a handicap room with a King Size Bed. The room was in decent shape. A bit dated..but livable. I agree with the other guest comment that there were stains on the curtains. But it didn't bother me too much considering we were sleeping on them. The bathrooms were fine. No problems there. Our room didn't smell like smoke. Our rooms were cleaned everyday.

Hotel Pool/Fitness Room: Their Excercise equipment was decent. They have an indoor and outdoor pool which was nice.

Hotel Breakfast: Bit pricey but not too bad. Try it at least once.

You get what you pay for. It wasn't completely horrible. If you're looking for a place that's the 4 Seasons...this isn't the place for you. We didn't spend too much time in the rooms though since there are a lot of outdoor activities in Colorado Springs.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank pinaybabae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2006

This hotel should only be rated 2.5 stars at the most. We booked 2 rooms here for 4 nights. The rooms smelled (even non-smoking), the curtains had some kind of aweful stains all over them, the carpet was filthy, our shower didn't work unless you giggled the handle, the toilet ran all night, and there were food crumbs in the bed when we pulled the covers down to get in. Both rooms were this bad. So when they offered to move us to another room -- that looked pretty much the same, it wasn't worth packing all of our stuff up again. The pool is in need of desperate repairs/updating. The tile is peeling, the caulking is coming out, the pool lights sit ontop of the concrete above the pool with wire running into the pool (not sure how this is safe), and the worst thing -- the pool water smells like a mens locker room. And there were no (clean)towels in the pool area so I had to take my 18 month old son after being in the stinky warm water back through the freezing hotel to our room to get a towel. BOTTOM LINE -- DO NOT STAY HERE. Unless you are looking for a 2.5 star hotel that is being advertised as a 4 star.

  • Liked — The Lobby but it is very deceiving
  • Disliked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay here
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mamey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colorado Springs hotels
9.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs Airport
Radisson Hotel Colorado Springs ...
#6 of 105 in Colorado Springs
927 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,906 reviews
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorado Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Colorad...
#17 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Colorado Springs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Color...
#18 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,177 reviews
0.4 mi away
HYATT house Colorado Springs
HYATT house Colorado Springs
#11 of 105 in Colorado Springs
758 reviews
8.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Colorado Springs South
Fairfield Inn & Suites Colorado ...
#47 of 105 in Colorado Springs
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colorado Springs Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colorado Springs Marriott

Property: Colorado Springs Marriott
Address: 5580 Tech Center Dr, Colorado Springs, CO 80919-2308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Colorado Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Colorado Springs
#22 Family Hotel in Colorado Springs
#23 Business Hotel in Colorado Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colorado Springs Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the picturesque setting of Colorado Springs at the Colorado Springs Marriott. Our beautiful Colorado Springs, Colorado provides great views of Pikes Peak and convenient access to Garden of the Gods and other popular attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colorado Springs Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Springs Marriott Hotel Colorado Springs
Marriott Colorado Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing