We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Terrific Way to Enjoy a Dinner for a Special Event” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penrose Room

Penrose Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Penrose Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 1,364 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Lake Circle
Description: Elegant ambiance, gracious service, and a creative menu invite guests into Colorado's only Five Star, Five Diamond dining experience at the Penrose Room. Contemporary European cuisine is inspired by the seasons and displays the delectable creations of our executive chef. Hand-crafted dishes are filled with the finest seafood, meats, and local produce. Our expert sommeliers will navigate you through an extensive European wine list to perfectly compliment your dinner. In conclusion to your impeccable meal, a collection of dessert temptations await to delight your palate. Dance the night away to the soothing sounds of our live entertainment in the classic, stylish atmosphere of the Penrose Room. Located at the top of the South Tower overlooking the Resort grounds. Attire: Jackets required for gentlemen, tie optional. Dress suits, dress slacks and evening attire are required. Please no denim, athletic wear, sport wear, pool attire, or gentlemen's hats.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrific Way to Enjoy a Dinner for a Special Event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We were honeymooning and this was our 'dinner of dinner's' with dancing. We arrived early, tasted a wonderful Scotch in the bar (Lagavulin; if you like Scotch, you'll love it), then were seated overlooking the lake and mountains. The service from the staff is incredible. My wife worried we'd run them out of napkins (replaced every time you dance), just another special Broadmoor touch.
The chefs were able to prepare me a meal that was gluten free, which tasted like real food again. They especially created an Escargot just for us without pastry. It was a new taste experience for my wife; she still isn't sure it is great, but she enjoyed it. The wine selections were wonderful, the wine sommelier was a terrific help, and very knowledgeable.
We danced during the pauses between courses and the music was wonderful. The vocalist and band played songs we requested with a smile and 'Of course!'
The table side prepared Caesar Salad was just delicious as was all the food.The specially prepared---with only a days notice---gluten free desert was divine. It took us over three hours, eating slowly and enjoying every bite, broken with dancing and being pampered constantly, to enjoy a meal we will long remember.
We can't wait, for another reasonable excuse, to return to the Penrose Room again. If you go, you will long remember and enjoy the service, the food, and the experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FirstSgtBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    18
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A Magnificent 5 Star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

As a FIVE STAR international resort one must not forget that all the luxurious amenities of the Broadmoor make it a local destination as well. The ambience, service/staff, amentities and quality local food sourcing (where possible) are complimented by the most enjoyable dinner and dance music available.

The unique dinner menu (3, 4 or 7 course) offers something to satisfy the most decerning palette. Each course is prepared to perfection with a presentation befitting the front cover of distinguised culinary magazines. The wine list is superb! Almost forgot the desserts. Few words can describe these eye appealing delights that were a wonderful finish to the evening.

Our waiter, Taylor, and his very talented team made the evening most enjoyable and memorable.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent special evening out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We had an absolutely wonderful evening at the Penrose room. We had the chefs tasting menu with wine pairings. I loved every course. The food was delicious and the wine was perfect. The sommelier was very knowledgeable and explained everything to us. After the food and wine, the dance floor was my favorite. There are not many restaurants that still have live music, a singer and a dance floor that reminds nd of something from a 1950's movie or elegant supper club. We danced to a few songs and we weren't the only ones. It was a great break in between courses. It's a splurge, but worth every penny!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelwithkids14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pure luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I cannot wait to return to the Penrose Room. It is by far one of the most luxurious dining experiences I have ever had. We arrived at the Penrose Room just as they were opening and had a drink in their bar while waiting on our table. The views of the property were stunning and we just took in the experience. We were seated promptly. My fiance and I both opted for the four course meal which was an abundance of food. I chose to get an appetizer, main, cheese course, and dessert, while my fiance chose two appetizers, a main, and dessert. Each course came out impeccably timed with white glove service. The live band while we ate set a special ambiance. It was adorable to watch as couples danced between courses. The table behind us got the seven course tasting menu with wine pairings. It looked like a feast for a king... probably too much for me. Throughout the meal there were little touches that really earned its five diamond status such as a delicious assortment of fresh baked breads/rolls, palate cleansers, chocolate truffles, and even a small specialty marshmellow as a treat to go. I had a wonderful night, and despite the expense, I would gladly return for a special occassion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Anniversary Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Hats off to the staff and chef of the world famous Penrose Room for our romantic anniversary dinner. Everything was perfect and the food delicious. Special recognition to Sadie, Blaine, Phillip and Corey!
Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank TexasFunTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penrose Room also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Penrose Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing