We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service all the way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penrose Room

Penrose Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Penrose Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 1,402 Restaurants in Colorado Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Lake Circle
Description: Elegant ambiance, gracious service, and a creative menu invite guests into Colorado's only Five Star, Five Diamond dining experience at the Penrose Room. Contemporary European cuisine is inspired by the seasons and displays the delectable creations of our executive chef. Hand-crafted dishes are filled with the finest seafood, meats, and local produce. Our expert sommeliers will navigate you through an extensive European wine list to perfectly compliment your dinner. In conclusion to your impeccable meal, a collection of dessert temptations await to delight your palate. Dance the night away to the soothing sounds of our live entertainment in the classic, stylish atmosphere of the Penrose Room. Located at the top of the South Tower overlooking the Resort grounds. Attire: Jackets required for gentlemen, tie optional. Dress suits, dress slacks and evening attire are required. Please no denim, athletic wear, sport wear, pool attire, or gentlemen's hats.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Service all the way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had boasted to all our friends about going to the Penrose room after the Christmas program. We walked in as the bartender was almost all done putting his liquor bottles away. He looked our way, and politely put all the drinks back on the shelf without a huff or a sign of discouragement. We were a large party and others came in after us so it was worth their time, but WOW, not many would respond with such a terrific attitude. Well done!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Icaretwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    20
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A New Years Eve Night Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

A true seven course meal that was spectacular! From the Amuse Bouche, to the Crispy Veal Sweet Bread, then on the very tender Natural Beef Tenderloin Wrapped in Bacon, the entire dinner was truly a joy to the palate. Then they followed this all up with a wonderful trio of desserts - Caramelized Bitter Sweet Chocolate Custard, Frozen Raspberry Bomb, & Milk Chocolate Espresso Mousse. The entire evening we were serenaded by a live band and singer to help us ring in the new year.
If you are looking a great night out for New Years the Penrose Room is truly a location to consider.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“LOVED this! Everything was perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Food was cooked to perfection - service second to none. Beautiful setting and view. My husband and I ordered everything different so we could try mutliple items. Nothing disappointed in any way.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CES2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A disappointment...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I dined here with a group of 6 other people for a friend's birthday. I have to admit that I was disappointed. I was torn about giving this 2 or 3 stars. Certain aspects are above average...the tuxedoed waitstaff, the holiday jazz band playing on stage, the beautiful decor and nice china that you would expect when dining at a 5 star restaurant. However, beyond that it was a bust. The food was poor. The halibut I ordered was overdone, blackened (not as the cooking style but due to being overdone) and very dry. The veggies were soggy and the sauce pretty blah. I also ordered the Maryland Blue Crab Bisque and it came with one quarter sized dollop of crab and the rest was a luke warm and lack luster soup. I did enjoy the quail appetizer. The fact that the meal cost over $100.00 with one drink didn't help things but honestly I would have been happy to pay the price if the food would have been good. I would have frankly been disappointed no matter the cost. My recommendation would be to dine elsewhere and enjoy a drink in the lounge so you can see the beautiful view from the restaurant. I won't dine here again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
89 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Beautiful dining room with band playing while dining on fabulous food! Excellence service! Excellent cosmopolitan, too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penrose Room also viewed

Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Penrose Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing